Register or Sign In to remove these ads

humanbackstop19

Members
  • Content count

    21
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

5 Neutral

About humanbackstop19

  • Birthday 07/24/1982

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male
  • Location
    Decorah, IA

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
    NCAA D III, NCAA, IHSAA, CBUA
  • Occupation
    Teacher
  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    HS, NCAA, NJCAA
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Referred a member
  1. UmpAttire.com has a limited selection. The base pants are proving hard to come by. I'm searching for 38's, but found 36's on Lester Upstate Sports' web site. It'll be a tough fit to start til I knock off some lbs., but most worth it for these pants. Back to the drawing board. Lester's is out of the mid-range sizes.........
  2. UmpAttire.com has a limited selection. The base pants are proving hard to come by. I'm searching for 38's, but found 36's on Lester Upstate Sports' web site. It'll be a tough fit to start til I knock off some lbs., but most worth it for these pants.
  3. Just to touch on the dead ball appeal on this play at first in FED. If time is called after the BR misses first base, before his first touching of it, and the defense verbally appeals it, the BR still has the right to correct his error in missing the bag, correct? Just want to make sure I rule on this correctly. It is amazing how many BR's actually miss the bag assuming they are/will be out on the play.
  4. Legal. NCAA 9-1-b: The set position shall be indicated when the pitcher stands with his chest generally facing the respective foul lines........ Criteria met when he took the sign in a legal position.
  5. After doing my homework, I concede the proper mechanic to be calling "Time!",ruling the runner safe at the plate, and citing the OBS (cause you know the HC on the wrong end is coming out). This would be regardless of the type of OBS we're dealing with. But, after reading the situation again I see the play was never being made on R1 at 3rd. So, I agree with you ALStripes17 on further citing the type 2 OBS. I need to slow down on these things, ha.
  6. Only after video review could you claim OBS per the new NCAA guidelines. The catcher blocked the plate on the initial release of the RF's throw, not waiting for the last 60 feet However, If I was there working the plate, I'm going to the, "In my judgement" justification for the call (If that's what I called).
  7. The ideology I'm using in calling an out at the plate is that the play continues as is with OBS being a delayed dead ball. Then, after the tag, the ball becomes dead and bases would be awarded. In this case the runner scores. The OBS and the award supercedes the out at the plate.
  8. As explained, R1 is obstructed as he is rounding 3rd base. Assuming R1 touched 3rd before the OBS., the PU should be able to see the violation, point it out, and verbalize it as he follows the overthrow. The ball would remain live, R1 would be called out on the tag at the plate , then ruled safe and scored because of the OBS. This is Type 1 OBS which carries an award of one base beyond his last legally touched base before the OBS occurred.
  9. OK, so let me know if my thoughts on this are accurate. If the SP is listed at pos. 1/DH and is replaced as the pitcher, the new pitcher (coming from the bench) would be added as pos. 1 in the same spot in the batting order. At that point, it reverts back to regular FED DH rules. But, if the SP is replaced by another player in the lineup, and the SP takes a position in the field, the DH role is terminated and the lineups would be played straight up. Does this make any sense, or am I way off? I live in NE Iowa 15 miles from the MN border, so I will be working there this spring for some HS games. Only makes sense since As far as the rule, it is still being listed as an experimental rule, despite being written 2 years ago. Just want to make sure I have a grasp in it.
  10. Yes, the behavior did stop. I think both teams got the point I was not going to tolerate any further actions, or any retaliation from the other team. As far as warning sides, both sides were pushing the limit of bush-league bench jockeying. Unfortunately, I am not fluent in Spanish, which is the language much of the taunting was being spoken. That is speculation, but I believe a pretty good guess a lot of it was pushing the line.
  11. Had a 9-inning JUCO game yesterday. Defensive team and pitchers had been working inside part of the plate all day with catcher set up normally on the corner, consequently hitting a few batters in the process. Nothing seemed intentional. However, in the 7th inning, out of nowhere, with nobody on base, and no outs, the catcher sets up WAY inside to a left-handed batter. Fastball comes in and brushes the batter back, HARD at the midsection. I immediately kill the ball, step out in front of the plate and warn both the pitcher and catcher. At that point the HC begins chirping from the dugout asking, "What? We can't set up on the inside of the plate?" I kept my cool and explained his catcher was WAY off the plate, almost behind the batter, and was not set up properly inside the catcher's box with both feet inside at the time of delivery, by rule, making it illegal. After a few more ignorant remarks by the HC I gave him his official warning as well as issuing a bench warning to the rest of their team. At the time, I was 90% sure it was intentional. In hearsay, I'm now 100% sure. I'm looking for thoughts if I handled this situation correctly or input how others might work it.
  12. As a former college coach, I can only comment that the play was executed wrong (the ball should be bunted up the first base line to get PU's sight-line and immediate attention away from 3B), and is run much more than we catch on. I was taught this play when I played in college 16 years ago and have taught and run it as a high school coach. The play happens so fast, that if the pitcher is working out of the wind-up, R2 can conceivably be past 3B in the baseline to third before we can see any touch, even if we do everything correctly. This does indeed make it a huge hole in the 2-man system. Coaches scout the umpires on bunt plays like this and if both in a 2-man follow the ball on the bunt and throw to 1B, it can be run all day long without being caught. So, this is surely a situation that should be pregamed, especially in high school ball where squeeze plays come out of nowhere. Take this thread as a notice. Do NOT get caught with your pants down in this play. It's a very fast pace play that we need to focus on.
  13. Got my plate pants in the poly spandex. Love the texture and feel. I have identical colored golf pants that I might sneak into the high school season on the bases when things get busy. I'm a 38 in almost all my pants. Without the expander waist they were true to size, though I might bump up to a 40 if the base pants run snug as posted in this thread.
  14. OK, so let me know if my thoughts on this are accurate. If the SP is listed at pos. 1/DH and is replaced as the pitcher, the new pitcher (coming from the bench) would be added as pos. 1 in the same spot in the batting order. At that point, it reverts back to regular FED DH rules. But, if the SP is replaced by another player in the lineup, and the SP takes a position in the field, the DH role is terminated and the lineups would be played straight up. Does this make any sense, or am I way off?
  15. Know the field you're working on. If it's a short porch down the right field line (<310'), drop back into first base line extended. But, if it's a poke down the line, 320' or more, get out there a bit. I do like when U2 can drop back behind the SS position in this case and take the tag up of R3 if you call out, "I'm on the line." Then, you can cut the angle to 3B line extended and adjust for the play from there.