Register or Sign In to remove these ads

humanbackstop19

Members
  • Content count

    40
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

16 Neutral

About humanbackstop19

  • Birthday 07/24/1982

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male
  • Location
    Decorah, IA

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
    NCAA D III, NCAA, IHSAA, CBUA
  • Occupation
    Teacher
  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    HS, NCAA, NJCAA
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Referred a member

Recent Profile Visitors

221 profile views
  1. Good call. I pooched that one. Lucky it didn't cost them any runs in what was a good ballgame.
  2. Is there any rule set which specifically covers or restricts a defensive player from throwing over any dead ball territory?
  3. FED game last night in which in 6th inning, R1, R2; pitcher goes to mouth after a pitch and receiving ball from catcher. Without ever wiping off his fingers he went to the mouth with, he wipes only the baseball on his pant leg. I was 100% that he was weeping only the ball and not his fingers. I balked this as soon as he came set for the next pitch. Was this the right call and was the timing of the balk call correct?
  4. Since this time, he has improved slightly. Now, he looks straight over the top and wears the balloon, LOL. And, unfortunately, yes, he still gets postseason assignments. This particular individual also works the bases entirely in the "B" when in the middle, regardless of situation. I share my frustrations @Panther32 that in Iowa, unless we're within 30 miles of Des Moines, we don't get any type of formal evaluation, for better or worse. It's the good 'ol boy system at its best when it comes to postseason around these parts.
  5. We both umpire high school in the same area and the same levels of competition. However, there is no local association. It sucks, but attempts to put one together have failed. Having been around this umpire before, I knew that approach would not end well. I thought about bringing it up as I handed him some ice after taking a shot to the forearm on a foul ball, but history of watching this guy work many games told me better. He also works HS softball, and probably did mix up the rules, or he just tried getting one past me. Either way, he was there for a paycheck, not for love of the game or making sure the kids get a fair game. Experienced coaches can easily tell when that's the case. I agree, most good umpires would be receptive to a gentle approach and question, then go do their homework. The BEST umpires will admit when they're wrong............on the next date they see the coach.
  6. I was coaching a JV game last night on opening night in Iowa. While on offense, our BR with nobody on base strikes out on a curve ball. The pitch hits the catcher in the chest protector and bounces 35 feet up the first base line. The BR turns and take probably 5 steps towards the dugout. As catcher is giving chase, I yell at my BR to RUN, RUN, RUN! PU snaps back, "He's out!" The catcher was still chasing the ball. I responded with, "No, he's not. He has until he enters the dugout area," (referring to that situation since it was only the first out) which the BR was still 25 feet from. PU rips his mask off, takes a couple steps towards me and yells, "No he doesn't, that's a SOFTBALL rule!" I could do nothing more than shake my head. Rule citation: FED 8-4-1 (i), and this situation is explained in more detail in this year's case book.
  7. This was a HS district playoff game in Iowa a few years back. Talk about distant slot positioning, lol!
  8. I went on Ebay and found a cheaper pair of the Nike Dri-Fit golf pants. The color is a lighter shade of charcoal (matches up pretty well with an older pair of charcoal Honigs combo pants I have). Another plus is they come with the length/inseam already tailored and included in the price. The fit, comfort, stretch, and air flow in them are as good as it comes when it comes to wearing in heated conditions. My 1.75" belt does actually fit into the loops of my pants, so I maintain the professional look. I'll use these as backups to the Smitty poly spandex base pants, and who knows, maybe more.
  9. Under Armour is taking over all MLB uniforms beginning in 2020 I believe. I may be a year off. Anyhow, UA will most certainly be putting their mark on umpire apparel within the next few years. Personally, I'm excited about that!
  10. I'm familiar with this bat. It's the Easton Mako Torque. It was a selling bust. But the application and idea was brilliant to keep hitters from rolling over. Anyways, totally legal bat unaltered, but no natural rattle to it. If it rattled, get it out of play. Nice work.
  11. The ball was never dead. The BR doubled to RCF. Why would that kill the ball?
  12. NFHS 2014 Case Book - 6.2.4 Situation I: With R1 on third base, F1 starts his pitching motion and B2 requests "Time", but the umpire does not grant it. B2 steps out fo the batter's box with both feet and (a) delivers a pitch. (Skipping to the ruling) Ruling (a) The umpire shall call two strikes on B2, one on the pitch and one for B2 stepping out of the box. Seems pretty well edited here.
  13. Had the hidden ball trick ran to almost perfection last night in a high school game in MN. BR doubles to RCF and second baseman held onto ball in his glove. I was moving over into 'C", and seeing it coming, checked the pitcher and he was on top of the tabletop portion of the mound without the ball. Sure enough, runner begins taking a lead and second baseman charges over to make the tag in time. I ruled the ball dead, called the balk, and gave runner third. DC came out and argued his pitcher was not on the rubber and he saw the play ran on a clip in a minor league game. I said, "Yup, I saw that one too. Problem is that's OBR, we're playing FED rules." I further explained in FED the pitcher can't be in the vicinity of the rubber (within 5 feet I believe) on the dirt portion of the mound. He took it pretty well, ha.
  14. I know in NCAA the ball remains live and we are to signal for the pitcher not to pitch, but award them the strike penalty. But, it seems pretty cut and dry it is fair game for the pitcher to deliver if both feet are out of the box in FED. Why would I NOT apply a rule as written instead of the way some want it edited?
  15. Thanks for the citation Tborze. Good work. Rule 6-2-4 d.1 states, "if the pitcher legally delivers the ball, it shall be called a strike and the ball remains live. Thus, 2 strikes are called on the batter in sit. (b)." Sit. (b) refers to the batter stepping out with both feet. Why it has to be both feet and not just the one is fuzzy to me. But hey, we're learning and now I know.