Jump to content

Register or Sign In to remove these ads

isired

Members
  • Content count

    49
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

2 Neutral
  1. Wind-up Pick off

    Yes, agreed, someone noted that above as well. I think one umpires "direct" may differ from another's, so again I think that the poster who stated you run the risk of getting balked anyway is correct.
  2. Wind-up Pick off

    Sorry I didn't mean to imply that he had to, I was just trying to paint the picture. I think the discussion over semantics in this thread alone leads me to believe that the poster above who mentioned that it could get called a balk anyway is 100% correct in advising his players of that.
  3. Pitcher to catcher

    I agree with you re: fatigue, and I think that if the rule were to really reflect what is going on, the number of throws by the catcher should change with age as well. A 9 year old catcher is likely to use a lot more effort to get the ball back the pitcher than a 12 year old catcher. As far as the innings limit, that's my point - it's odd, right? A catcher could catch 90+ pitches in those 3 innings. That's like the pitching rules from when I was a kid, we were limited to 6 innings a week. I was not a very good pitcher, I'm sure there were weeks that I threw close to 200 pitches in my 6 innings. I mean, you can agree or disagree as to whether the catchers should be limited, but if you're limiting it, it should be tied to a number of throws, not innings, right? Even if it's twice that of a pitcher?
  4. Wind-up Pick off

    Got it. I knew there was a reason he couldn't do that.
  5. Wind-up Pick off

    Here's a Q - if a RHP starts his wind up by stepping back and towards first with his left foot, can he then rotate his torso, point his toe to first and throw to first?
  6. Wind-up Pick off

    So it seems that it's a completely valid move in all but Fed then, huh? I think Fed gets this one right. So many of the more arbitrary balk rules are in place to stop the pitcher from intentionally deceiving the runner, which would clearly be the case here. But shame on the runner, I guess - plenty of time to take second if he starts the windup.
  7. Wind-up Pick off

    He still has to move his left foot back or completely/perfectly side-step - if he makes what would be the natural motion to throw directly, I would think his left foot (RHP) might move forward, even slightly, before moving towards first.
  8. Pitcher to catcher

    I've seen confusion on this with the pitching max/days rest rules, where a pitcher can cross a threshold during a batter, break the threshold finishing the batter, yet still be considered under the threshold. It doesn't work that way with catchers - 40 is a hard cap. At 41 he can not catch. Presumably this is because 'days rest to pitch again' regards throwing on a different day, whereas the catcher rule regards the same day, possibly minutes later. What I've always found odd is that the reverse isn't true - a catcher has no limit to the number of pitches he can catch, he can still pitch later that same day. I guess his arm isn't considered fatigued from catching, and the concern is that a pitcher's fatigued arm is at risk when catching?
  9. I think the OP is saying it was not immediately after she tagged the base. Should be an out I would think. I would also guess that the umpire might tell you that in his judgement it wasn't a step after...
  10. Does the run score?

    Yeah it all depends if the catcher caught the ball and made the throw or if he tried to make a tag first, and how quickly that happened. But if we're talking about 11-12s on 60 ft bases, not good for BR...
  11. Odd Call

    As a result of the discussion, I think the proper thing for R1 to have done is to track F4 as he's approaching the ball, and shift his course slightly towards CF. Would cost him maybe a step or two, but if F4 bobbles it, he would likely still be safe. And in any event, we would have had 1 out and R1 instead of 2 out with no baserunners.
  12. Balk from wind up ?

    1 is clearly a start- stop. For #2, assuming his left (front) foot is not touching the rubber, any lifting of that foot that doesn't result in a pitch or pick off to 1B (depending on what direction he moves that foot) would be a balk. Edit: got distracted and forgot that in scenario 2 he never came set. Thus I think you have a balk, but not withvthe same explanation. If the pitcher is engaged and, for example, taking signs, he still has to disengage with his pivot foot, stepping back off the rubber.
  13. Odd Call

    Yes - and admittedly not something we've coached a whole lot - many kids at this level just have that awareness, but certainly not all. It will be discussed next time we're together. Thanks all, couldn't have hoped to gain more than that!
  14. Odd Call

    You're right, my bad.
  15. Odd Call

    You're right there - as they were moving towards the ball and the base, he said he didn't realize they were going to meet at that point - but he could have had better awareness of the possibility, and of the fact that he in all likelihood should have been tagged out and should have been trying to avoid that (we did tell him that). The play was in front of him, after all.
×