Register or Sign In to remove these ads

Radie 88

Members
  • Content count

    77
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

18 Neutral

About Radie 88

  • Birthday 04/13/1981

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male
  • Location
    Queens, NY

More information about you

  • Occupation
    Kids Fitness Instructor
  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    Little League Baseball - Girls Softball
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Other (explain below)

Recent Profile Visitors

484 profile views
  1. This one happened a few weeks ago and it didn't make any difference in a blowout game, but I still find myself thinking about it... So I'll ask... First the bare bones... No runners, 2 out. Routine grounder to F6. The throw to F3 comes in at knee level... He extendes the glove, it goes into the webbing with enough force to snap his wrist downward... He INSTANTLY flips the ball back up into the air and grabs it with his bare hands. The BR hits the bag as the ball is in the air between the glove and bare hand. I come up with a big Safe call and announce that it was a bobble. Everyone saw it and there wasn't a sound from anyone except the F3. He was adamant that he did that flashy move on purpose. Here's the part that sticks with me: I'm almost 100% certain that he was right... Someone in here once posted a comment that mentioned watching the F3 warm up the rest of the infielders and using that as practice for reading throws as a BU... So that's what I had been doing... I watched this F3 make like 50 "plays" that afternoon and he made that fancy snap-catch almost everytime the ball was at his knees. Problem was that I was likely the only other person on the field that noticed... Everyone else (including the kids down HC) thought it was a bobble. I'm worried that I called what appeared to happen to please the "sight test" as opposed to calling what I truly interpreted to have happened. In case I'm not clear, I'm pretty certain he did it intentionally. Thoughts?
  2. Let's try to remember that this section is specifically for non umpires to come and ask questions. By definition, we shouldn't expect a full comprehension of the rules.
  3. Randomly came across this... At exactly 1:49 the clip begins with the ball already about to hit off the wall/fielder in RF... Then a missle of a throw nails a runner at 3B... But the curious thing is that it's the PU rotating around 3B making the call... Why?
  4. Yes. I figured this as a possibility too... Especially when the PU points into the dugout. For this to happen though, we are assuming all umpires missed the no-touch at 1B? Which again, is entirely reasonable... In fact , in the moments before the camera picks up the BR in foul territory, the 1U most likely thinks the BR is heading to the 1B coach to hand him equipment so he can take his spot on 1B. That first shot we have of the BR is likely the first spot the 1U realizes something is amiss.
  5. Great find indeed... Helpful tip for those on iPhones: After the page loads, tap on it anywhere and an "Open in iBook" option should appear in the top right.. Tapping this will save it to iBook for offline viewing.
  6. So to be clear... The BR did run down to 1B but just didn't touch, which is why we see him returning from there in one of the shots? Which umpire made this last out call? 1U seems to shake his head "no" initially to the out at 1B, I'm guessing because because he can see (but we can't... yet) that the BR has passed the base and must have touched it.. entirely reasonable. One of the other umpires had to have noticed the BR didn't touch and came in with info to get the call right... Im just curious which guy has the hero (besides 2U who was all over it from the jump).
  7. I swear on both of my kids lives that I searched for this before posting... Feel free to lock this down and I'll jump on that discussion... Sincerest apologies.
  8. Had a minor disagreement with an fellow brother on a FB group about this play... No worries.. I'm sure the same way I don't understand how he doesn't see what I see, he can't understand why I don't see what he is. It was kept respectful and we both tried to be informative... This is how we learn. Unfortunately we agreed to disagree but I don't feel like I have an answer to my question so I was hoping to get more eyes on it.. Here we have a pretty odd Triple Play from a few nights ago.. The original post on FB was about it being an Infield Fly or not, but please ignore all of that, they covered that pretty good in that discussion... I want to know about that last out and the BR. Note: There is a lot of incorrect commentating here. It's a crazy play unfolding quickly, so no blame to them... I'm sure they sorted it out just fine.. They just don't seem to do so before the video cuts.... I'd recommend watching on mute, at least your first view anyway. https://mobile.twitter.com/MLBNetwork/status/859583512965517315?ref_src=twsrc^tfw&ref_url=http%3A%2F%2Fnesn.com%2F2017%2F05%2Forioles-turn-unconventional-triple-play-in-eighth-inning-vs-red-sox%2F2%2F I don't want to muddy the waters with what I think I see and assume happened just yet... I want to know what you guys see and give me your best answer the following questions... - Who makes the last out call? - Why is the BR out? - Bonus: When is the BR out? (this might change depending on the answer to the previous question) These aren't meant as a hypothetical "who has the call?" question... I'm looking for actual answers to this specific play... If you happened to have been watching this game, that'd be a huge help. Thanks in advance.
  9. Talking about a situation where the DT forgets how many outs there are and complete a double play with 2 outs already... I (think I) know that you should not make the call after out #3, but I can see a situation where the fielder at 2B misses the bag ("what about the neighborhood rule, blue?") but is given the out call... Then is changed to safe either by appeal or by conference with a partner... This obviously makes out #4 at 1B really out #3... And thus, quite important. Does this warrant at least a silent signal? I feel like I'm definitely tracking it (chest is a magnet to ball)... But part of me feels like ignoring it completely isnt right.
  10. Exactly what is the DT doing here? Thats presumably the F6 playing WAY in..
  11. Didn't she just win in her return?
  12. Alright... Pretty simple idea right here... Tell us all what you believe is your best and your worst qualities as an umpire.
  13. Someone get this man a drink.
  14. I'm guessing... You?
  15. It's going to depend on each field. The umpires should be especially clear on that for any fields without clearly delineated markings or fences.