Register or Sign In to remove these ads

jms1425

Members
  • Content count

    61
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    1

jms1425 last won the day on November 28 2016

jms1425 had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

25 Neutral

About jms1425

Profile Information

  • Gender
  • Location
    Cleveland, OH

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
    CBUA (college), Suburban Umpires Association (HS)
  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    college, high school
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)
  1. No way. NO WAY this is true...... Please tell me you're messing with us......
  2. Umpteen coaches, in various wordings: "Nobody's called that all year!" Me: "I'm sorry to hear that, Coach, but we're gonna get it right today."
  3. I think all I want to know is how you know that this is the "way they want it called."
  4. In none of the rules you quoted does it say the pitcher must clear the rubber. The closest is 9-1-b-3), that *IF* his foot breaks the plane of the back edge, then he MUST throw or feint to 2nd (or pitch to home plate), but that is not the issue here. And as Rich said, in all three pics I posted, the non-pivot foot steps in the direction of 2nd base. Only in the first pic does it "clear the rubber". I don't remember the video test question, but that would be the kind of applicable evidence I was hoping for. Naturally, we can't see the old tests, though, so I can't refer to that. Not to mention others have said "legal in all three", so there still doesn't seem to be a definitive answer. So what is the starting point for that determination? In all three pics, the non-pivot foot finishes closer to 2nd base than it began. So, if the non-pivot foot's starting point is the line of demarcation, then all 3 moves are legal. If the line of demarcation is the closest point from the pitcher to 2nd base (say, his pivot foot's rear edge), then the first two moves would be legal, but the 3rd would not. This is the essence of the question.
  5. @MidAmUmp - Can you give a citation (rulebook, supplement, etc) for support? I haven't found anything anywhere that says anything about clearing the rubber. Plus, the 2nd pic would not be "borderline" if indeed he has to clear the rubber - unless "clearing" it amounts to getting "some portion of your foot past the back edge." Is THAT the interpretation? BTW - this came up in a D3 game this year. I'm in C, the pitcher made what I believe was a move that looks like the 2nd picture, and the coach started yelling that he has to clear the rubber. I remember hearing that, too, but given my angle, the shadows that were at work, etc. I could not tell if he cleared it or not, so I did nothing (i.e., no balk). Afterward, I dug into the rule book and could only find the issue of "gaining ground." Hence my question here.....
  6. With a runner on 2nd... When a pitcher makes the inside move for a pickoff attempt, what constitutes "gaining ground" toward 2nd? Assume the pitcher is using the set position, so the non-pivot foot is in front of the pivot foot. Where must the non-pivot foot land in order for him to "gain ground"? 1) Does it have to "clear the rubber"? 2) Can it land partially on the rubber, as long as the non-pivot foot is then completely behind the pivot foot (which is in contact with, and parallel to, the rubber)? 3) Does just some of the non-pivot foot landing behind the pivot foot suffice? That is, the non-pivot foot is now closer to 2nd base than it was to start. Maybe these pics will better illustrate. Which of these is/are legal moves?
  7. Yup. NCAA 1.3.A: Batters' boxes, catcher's box, coaches' boxes, next batter's box and the 3-foot first base restraining line shall be laid out in accordance with the diagram. All lines must be marked with chalk or nonburning white material and must be 2 to 3 inches in width. The line is inside the diamond proper at first and third base. The outside edge of the line should correspond with the outside edge of the base. Art. a. Before a contest, it is mandatory to line all four sides of the 4 feet by 6 feet batter's box as shown in the diagram above and on page 15. At the time of the pitch, the batter shall have both feet inside the batter's box. There's also this: Rule 3.6 Art j. Players and coaches are prohibited from deliberately erasing the batter’s box or other lines. Umpires must stop the individual from erasing the lines. A.R.—The umpire has authority to require the batter to stand in a proper batting position. He may require the grounds crew to reline the box. After a warning, individuals who repeatedly commit this infraction may be ejected.
  8. @ElkOil gives good advice. Take one step back (away from F1) to widen your view slightly. Also, relax your eyes. Rather than "focus" on anything, just watch the pitcher. Just look at him. I keep my eyes directed near his midsection, but in a relaxed sort of way, which allows me to see everything from his shoulders to his knees, including the movement and stoppage of his hands when he comes set. Part of it is mental - just relax and observe the action, rather than using a "I'm-focused-on-this-body-part-and-intently-analyzing-his-movement" sort of way. Just my 2 cents.
  9. Do you guys think when an announcer does this (i.r., clearly misrepresents the rule in his on-air comments) that anyone with the network/team/whatever (other than one of us who might see him in a restaurant) ever goes to him and sets him straight? I would think somebody would tell him, "Ya know, your comments were totally wrong and here's what the rule REALLY is...." I don't know... Just wondering if that ever happens. Lord knows it needs to......
  10. With GD's Memorial Day 15% off, I'm thinking about buying some of their polywools. I have their charcoal plate pants, and their combos for wearing on the bases. Honestly, I love these pants. I tried the base pants, but they didn't fit me well because I'm pretty big through the rear and thighs, so I went to the combos. Slimmer below the knee, but roomy through the seat, they fit and feel great. Here's the issue - there is no "combo" in the polywools (probably for obvious reasons.) I'm wondering if the base PW pants are cut like the "regular" ("poly") base pants, and if so, would a better route for me be to buy an extra pair of plate pants and have the lower legs taken in. Thoughts?
  11. And now you have a fifth thing to postgame with him about..... lol ugh
  12. I'd say that's a given on ANY video. LOL Unless Vin Scully is calling the action.
  13. The DBT angle comes in because of the new rule that if a player simply steps into DBT (for example, over a line marking DBT near a tarp, batting turtle, etc.), the ball is dead, as @ALStripes17 alluded to. Before, he had to "fall into DBT" or something to that effect for the ball to go dead. But I agree - I don't think his foot getting under the bottom of the fence and getting caught is equivalent to stepping out of bounds. So it would be a throw OOP by an outfielder, which means 2 bases from the time of the throw. Did the "throw" occur when his foot went under the fence, or when he raised his hands? It's relevant, because as the story was relayed to me, the BR was a step or so before 2nd base as the fielder went to plant his foot, but a step or so beyond 2nd base when he raised his hands. That's the difference between placing him at 3rd or scoring him.
  14. NCAA rules. This was not my game, but heard the story, so I hope I am representing it all correctly. R1 R2, no outs. Deep drive to center field, over CF head. Ball is bounding on the ground, CF catches up to it at the warning track, gloves it, takes another step or so in stopping his momentum, goes to plant his foot to make a throw back to the cutoff man when his foot slides just under the edge of the centerfield fence and gets caught under the fencing. CF tries for a moment to pull his foot free but can't, then raises his hands over his head (with the ball still in his glove). At the time he raises his hands, the BR had touched and was a step or so past 2nd base, R1 had touched and passed 3rd, and R2 had touched the plate. Waddayagot?
  15. "...if he drops the ball due to his lack of body control or control of the ball, it is not a tag. A voluntary and intentional release is substantive proof of complete control." If you think this is a voluntary and intentional release, then you have a tag and an out. I don't see this is a voluntary and intentional release. One problem in this example is that, despite using what 99% of the time would be good timing in making his call, the fielder dropped the ball after the umpire has signaled an out. We all hate the "Out! No, wait - SAFE!" thing, but I don't think the umpire has any choice in this one.