Register or Sign In to remove these ads

kylehutson

Premium Members
  • Content count

    612
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    6

kylehutson last won the day on February 9

kylehutson had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

267 Good

About kylehutson

  • Birthday 07/04/1971

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male
  • Location
    Westmoreland KS

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
    Northeast Kansas Officials Association (NEKOA)
  • Occupation
    Supercomputer system administrator
  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    Rec coach-pitch through HS varsity
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)

Recent Profile Visitors

2,319 profile views
  1. Just to make sure I understand... I'm saying they put the bat out front like they're going to bunt while the pitcher is in his windup. Then just before he throws, the batter pulls the bat back and then gives it a full swing. Right? I see that fairly frequently. It seems to be a tactic not to entice the fielders in, but to disconcert the pitcher (though the former could certainly happen, too).
  2. I do quite a bit of USSSA. I see the "fake bunt" quite frequently. So, no it's not illegal. Your individual tournament may have their own rules, though.
  3. There's the reason why - they do have an authorized Douglas dealer in the state, ergo they have to pay sales tax there.
  4. Not true. To make up an example, I'm in Kansas, and let's say I do some work for you in Washington. I'm not authorized to collect Washington sales tax, nor should I be, since I don't have a business presence in Washington. What is *probably* true (I know it is here), is that you are *supposed* to file for a "use tax" when you file your income taxes, which is for this very purpose - so the state gets it's sales tax money. But that puts the onus on you to claim it, rather than me for providing it.
  5. If you're going to go that far, why not go all-out?
  6. I think that's the first time I've heard the phrase "hail flurries". Welcome aboard!
  7. No need to cut the laces, Just lace them like this.
  8. And an illegal pitch with a runner on base is a ...? (Hint: Rule 2-18-1)
  9. I've seen it and told coaches what I saw, not the pitcher. I figure it's a coach's job to tell him to change.
  10. Discussed here: http://umpire-empire.com/index.php?/topic/67361-suicide-squeeze-scores-two/
  11. Dang. Seniors here will have graduated the previous weekend.
  12. I don't like that, simply because "down" sounds too much like "out" if you're not paying close attention.
  13. Thus the reason I posted it.
  14. I'm not seeing that from these cases. 8-4-2 Sit C: (a) B1 reaches first base safely but thinks he is out and abandons his effort to return to first base and heads for the team bench, or (b) R1, running to third base, thinks he is out because of a possible force play at third base and leaves the field for the team bench when the coach tells him to return. RULING: The umpire will rule an out in both (a) and (b), because in each play the runner abandoned his effort to reach the entitled base. Upon reaching base a runner abandons his effort when he leaves the baseline. (8-4-2p) 8-4-2 Sit V: With the bases loaded, B4 hits a ball that is trapped by F8. R2 at second thinks the ball is caught and begins to return to second base. R3 attempts to advance to second. F8’s throw reaches F4 at second before R2 and R3 arrive at the base. The umpire signals an out. However, both runners think they are out and begin leaving the field. RULING: R3 is out because of being forced. However, once the force was removed, R2 would have to be tagged out if he left the base. When R2 began leaving the field, he should be considered as having abandoned his effort to return or advance, and shall be declared out. (8-4-2j) However, 8-4-2 says: Any runner is out when he: [...] p. after at least touching first base, leaves the baseline, obviously abandoning his effort to touch the next base; or (emphasis mine) In my original post, he hadn't touched first base.
  15. This didn't happen to me, but to an umpire friend of mine, and I thought it worth discussion. The field this is being played on has the dugout openings about 100' from home plate (just beyond 1st and 3rd base). The particular instance here was high school JV, but I'm interested in knowing rulings from other rulesets, too. R2 only, no outs. Third strike is dropped, and R2 bolts for 3rd. BR doesn't realize it was dropped and starts going to his dugout on the 3B side. Catcher overthrows 3B and sends the ball to LF. BR is almost to the dugout when he realizes his whole team and coach are telling him to run to 1st. He takes off right across the field, going right next to the pitcher's mound to get to 1st. R2 scores and ball doesn't get to infield until BR gets to 1st. My thinking without consulting any rulebooks yet (a.k.a., the part you tell me that I'm wrong ): 1) He hasn't yet entered the dugout, so he's not out there. I seem to remember in OBR, that he's out when he leaves the dirt circle, though. 2) He doesn't need to run from the area of the plate and running across the diamond is OK in this case.