Register or Sign In to remove these ads


  • Content count

  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

6 Neutral


More information about you

  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)

Recent Profile Visitors

983 profile views
  1. Cause your looking in a mirror
  2. I don't see the problem with starting in the set in OBR - the rule reads that he "may elect" to use "the stretch" - the pitcher in the OP simply did not elect to do so - he is set immediately- if he is at a couple stop and doesn't do anything illegal then I have no problem.
  3. Thanks, I called the balk to send in the winning run in a 0-0 game and I was kinda second guessing myself the next day - thanks for the help
  4. is it a balk when the pitcher hesitates before coming set? Hands at side, pitcher starts to come set, hands almost touch then resets to start again. Looks very weird, a hesitation always looks odd but is that a balk? He never came set, he discontinued the movement before
  5. OBR 6.02c - within the 18 ft circle if pitcher goes to mouth without wiping It off it is a warning first then a ball. Not a balk, just add a ball if it happens again after the warning
  6. No because the way it reads is that all other runner advance because of the walk - so you would have to note at the time of the balk that the situation was ball 3 and the runners are are in forcible position. So if it wa just R3, he would get home and the pitch wouldn't count (unless the pitch was a ball and got past the catcher and R3 advanced home, then the batter would be awarded the base on balls) But again - never considered this until lat night.
  7. Doing some reading tonight and I came across something I've never considered, awarding a base on balls instead of enforcing a balk. OBR 6.02a (copied directly) PENALTY: The ball is dead, and each runner shall advance one base without liability to be put out, unless the batter reaches first on a hit, an error, a base on balls, a hit batter, or otherwise, and all other runners advance at least one base, in which case the play proceeds without reference to the balk. I'm usually not concerned with the location of the pitch after a balk is called but I guess I should be if there are 3 balls on the batter. Have you you ever done that?, seen that?
  8. So I was flipping through the channels on a rainy night and there was the original Bad News Bears. So when the coach came out and slapped his kid, that was his second visit so shouldn't he have had to remove the pitcher?
  9. The pitch hit the batter - send the runner back to third unless he was forced home by the award of first for the batter.
  10. Even if he acknowledged the signs it's not a balk. Illegal, but not a balk.
  11. When I'm doing a game with one warning before calling the balk I understand that it's about the pitcher learning but why penalize the offence? I let the hit stand or let the kid who stole a base stay there and then call time, go talk to the pitcher, tell him what he did wrong, signal to his coach what the infraction was and that he just used his warning. Then play on calling the balk the next time. You can usually find the warning even before a play if you look for it. I don't like to make a big deal about, I walk out, quietly discuss while going through the motions (no stop, shoulder turn, whatever) the coach gets that I'm explaining what was wrong and as I head back I make eye contact with the coach and signal one, that's the warning , play ball.
  12. So where does BR end up? You would think 2B but what if without the obstruction R2 scores easily and the throw would go to 2B? Could you judge in that case that the outfielder would have thrown to 2B and the BR would have chosen to stay at 1B so keep him there? Just judgement, or am I missing the award of second for the B/R?
  13. My answer key said that those 2 pitching questions were discarded as well as the one discussed above that begins "With no outs, R1 from third base is attempting to steal home. B2's swing contacts...."
  14. Yep, I answered false and missed it. 10-2-3m reads that the UIC can correct an error "before the umpires leave the field" - guess I was confused by the plural umpires there and the singular in the question.
  15. Shoot - got that one right - the one I missed was: With his partner having left the field at the end of the game, the umpire-in-chief may correct a scorekeeping error when one team correctly informs him of the mistake