Register or Sign In to remove these ads

FleasOf1000Camels

Members
  • Content count

    535
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    7

FleasOf1000Camels last won the day on July 14 2016

FleasOf1000Camels had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

255 Good

About FleasOf1000Camels

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Not Telling

More information about you

  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?

Recent Profile Visitors

2,797 profile views
  1. The key to me is where was F3's foot BEFORE the off-line throw forced him to move the rest of his body in to the runner's path. If he was blocking the bag from the start, then I've got OBS...if he only blocked the path in reaction to the bad throw, I've got nothing.
  2. I work lots of tournaments that use a 1:45 no-new-inning limit on 7 inning games. Think about it, anything less that 15 minutes per average inning will get you thru 6 and start the 7th. Even a poorly played game ought to average well under 15 per inning. The problem I see with some crews is that they allow...even encourage lolly-gagging and various time-wasting for the first 5 innings...and then somehow expect the pace of the game to speed up as the clock winds down. Be consistent, and keep the game moving from the start: No huddles while going out for defense. No walking on/off the field. If catcher ended inning on base or at bat, there better be someone from the bench ready to warm up the pitcher, or he's not getting warm ups. Batter, keep one foot in the box when taking signals...no nature hikes or Nomars.
  3. Strange play, what do you think? OBR, 1 out, R2. Batter singles to RC. R2 trying to score, takes a VERY wide turn past 3rd, slips on wet grass and slides straight through the dugout gate. F2, now with ball in hand, follows R2 in to the dugout and tags him while he's trying to get up from the tangled pile of bats and helmets. Everybody, including me, is having a good laugh at the whole situation. I don't believe I actually made an OUT call or signal. Now I see the batter/runner standing on 2nd and call TIME. I see nobody is hurt, and am thinking the play is all done. But wait, OC approaches and asks "since the catcher carried the ball in to DBT, how many bases does my runner get?" For what it's worth, I can't honestly say where BR was when F2 (and the ball) left the field...but my instinct says he had not yet reached 2nd. Talked it over with partner, and we sent BR to 3rd. Nobody had any complaints about it. Just wondering what some of you guys think.
  4. OK, guys. I made a typo on the OP...runners were on 1st and 2nd...that's why I was in C. NOW, can we get off the topic of positioning and back to the intended question? I could add that the batter was a chubby kid, and I can certainly understand how my partner could have been blocked out. There was absolutely NO question that he offered at the pitch. The ONLY question MIGHT be was his offer an attempt to put the ball in play, or just to defend himself...and I don't believe that makes any difference...he offered at the pitch. If partner had asked, I would most certainly have said YES HE DID. FED gives the PU right to NOT ask for help, OBR requires PU to get help if asked (8.02c). When partner told DC it was NOT appealable, that's when I considered involving myself...and that's the question being asked.
  5. 12u under OBR. I am in 'C' with runners at 1st and 2nd. Batter squares to bunt, pitch is WAY inside, pitch hits batter in the stomach. Partner calls TIME and tells batter to take first. All sounds fine, EXCEPT the batter CLEARLY offered at the pitch. DC politely approached plate and conversation goes like this: DC: Sir, didn't he offer at the pitch? PU: Coach, the batter was hit by the pitch. DC: Yes, I know that, but didn't he offer at the pitch? PU: No. DC: Can you check with your partner? PU: No, that's not an appealable call. I know the initial call is his, and I'm only to get involved if HE asks for help...but when he is mistaken on a point of rule (as opposed to judgment) should I have done anything? I had been trying throughout the entire time to quietly get his attention, to let him know I had info he ought to know. The coach walked back to the dugout scratching his head.
  6. Actually, an infielder CAN balk. F1 disengaged, but straddling the rubber (now technically an infielder) makes motions associated to his pitching motion, or takes that position astride the rubber without the ball. FED 6-2-5 or OBR 6.02a
  7. Talk to the coach. My usual routine with kids this age is something like this: "Skip, this kid's pushing the limit with his arguments/comments/attitude. Why don't you put him on the bench for a couple innings (and let him know why) so I don't have to eject him." Sometimes coaches will comply, others won't. Those who don't get this next statement "Skip, you're the adult in the room. I consider you responsible for the behavior of your players and coaches. If I have any further problem with him, I'm going to have a problem with you as well."
  8. Strange play yesterday, been wondering if we followed proper procedure. This was just my 2nd USSSA event, and I'm not up to speed on their book. R1, No outs, everyone expecting bunt. Batter swings away, hits short foul pop fly near 1st base dugout. F3 makes nice running catch then hits fence. I'm on the plate, and have moved over to get good look at the catch. R1 (who had returned from her lead) takes off for 2nd, catching everyone by surprise. By the time F3 realizes runner is going, it's too late to throw to 2nd. As R1 approaches 2nd, she sees that 3rd is not covered, so she keeps going and makes 3rd without a play. F1 now has the ball in the circle, and coaches are all shouting to her "she left early"..."go tag first" As soon as F1 takes a step toward 1st, R1 breaks for home. F1 spins and throws home, throw is high and runner slides under, clearly safe. A couple seconds pass, and I'm now dusting off the plate. I honestly don't recall if I actually announced TIME, likely I didn't as there were no runners and no batter in the box. Now I hear my partner shout "SHE'S OUT" and there's a roar from the crowd. I turn around and see F3 with the ball, jumping off first base in celebration. Obviously, they had appealed the original tag-up, and my partner ruled that she left early. After some grumbling, the play stood as called, and did not impact the outcome of the game, but several questions came to mind on the drive home: 1. If I didn't actually declare TIME, is TIME assumed when I turned my back to the field to dust the plate? 2. Does USSSA allow appeals with dead ball (as in FED) or must they be live (as in OBR)? 3. Does USSSA require an actual tag of the base to consider an appeal (as in OBR), or should it have been considered by simple request (as in FED)? 4. If FED rules apply in #3, should we have considered the appeal when we heard coach say "she left early"...even if this remark was not directed at us, and was instead directed at F1? 5. Did defense lose their right to appeal the initial tag-up once the play was made at the plate? PS: I have no idea if she left early or not, as I was locked in on the catch and F3's contact with the fence.
  9. I train and supervise the high school kids my small town uses to umpire house ball for kids up to age 11. This play happened during a game I was watching 2-3 weeks ago, and I only got involved because the umpires disagreed with each other, and this particular coach announced that he was playing the remainder of the game under protest. Our local rules say all protests will de decided on the field by a league officer, so I stepped in and ruled. Here's the play: Batter swings WAY late, and hits ball straight down. Ball lands just behind plate, the dribbles forward across the plate, coming to rest in the extreme upper-left corner of the left-hander's batters box. Batter-runner is VERY slow in getting out of the box, catcher picks up the ball and throws to first for an easy out. Let's be perfectly clear: the ball was most certainly in fair territory when it came to rest and was first touched, and NOBODY thinks the batted ball hit the batter. There were no questions regarding obstruction or interference. The plate umpire properly pointed the ball fair, and the base umpire did nothing, other than signal out once the throw was completed. OC then goes to plate ump and tells him that the ball was foul since it was in the batter's box. Plate ump (who is in his first year) goes to confer with his partner (who has a couple years experience). Base guy (not the sharpest tool in the shed) says he 'thinks' coach is right...batter's box is foul ground. Plate kid still thinks his original call is correct, but now he's doubting himself, and the coaches are shouting at each other across the field. That's when I got involved. After listening to both umpire's description and getting the coaches to calm down, my ruling was pretty simple. Fair ball. Batter out at first. Play ball. Try and act like civilized human beings. OC corners me after the game. Wants me to cite the rule that says that part of the batter's box is fair ground. I tell him I doubt if any such cite exists, because it would be redundant...the rule says anything on or inside the foul line is fair, and part of the box is inside the foul lines. Told him it would be like finding a ground rule at Progressive Field that says a fly ball hit into the trees beyond RC field is a home run...any ball that goes into those trees had to go over the wall first, and was already a home run. He just doesn't get it, keeps getting confused because a batted ball that hits the batter inside the box is foul...my response apples are not oranges. Also confused because on a properly lined field (as ours were) there is no foul line drawn through the box. Now every time I see this guy, he gives me crap about "have you found that rule cite yet?" I've searched, and searched...just as I suspected can't find any cite or decision that covers this. Can anybody out there find something so I can shut this butthead up?
  10. My guy did something similar. I'm on the dish, he's in A, deep fly ball to LF corner, so I'm locked on ball. I'm about 5 steps up 3rd base line as ball hits half way up the wall, 6-7 feet fair. I'm emphatically pointing to fair ground, then take a look at runner, he's cruising in to 2nd as throw is headed toward 3rd. I hear 3rd base coach shouting 'its all in front of you, take a turn and watch the throw." Where's dipstick partner?...STANDING with hands on hips, about halfway between A and F4's normal position. As ball gets back to infield, F3 is shouting "he missed first base". F2 turns to me and says "can we appeal that he missed 1st base?" (This one always makes me sad...most of these kids are used to FED rules, and don't understand how to make a live-ball appeal...I quietly said to F2 "I can't help you son, I was watching the ball." F2 then shouts to dipstick "Sir, he missed 1st base." DC is shouting to F1, "throw it to 1st, and Johnny you step on the bag". As F1 throws to F3, dipstick shouts "TIME", then signals SAFE. The crowd, especially those on the 1st base side, are howling "How can you call that?...You were not even watching." I have no idea if he touched or not, but based on what I'd seen of this idiot over the past few games, I'm quite certain that he never saw the touch or no-touch. After the game I told him "if you're going to be a spectator, you ought to buy a f***ing ticket."
  11. 9 14u games last weekend with a veteran umpire who needed to retire 20 years ago. The only shirt he brought on Saturday was a strange neon-blue golf shirt with an IZOD logo...none of the 16 shirts I had could come close to matching. He claimed it was the "new MLB powder":...bullcrap, I found it last night on Kohl's website on sale for $14.99. Slacks were wrinkled, filthy and fly wouldn't close. Holes in his shoes and an old faded beanie cap with the logo of some obscure minor league. Worked the plate mostly behind an old-school pillow...sometimes standing, but usually from a knee...NO slot, directly behind catcher. Zone was strikingly different when he was standing vs when on a knee. Players, coaches, fans all grumbling about zone all weekend, of course he never heard it, because he doesn't wear his hearing aid on the field. Never moved more than a step from home plate, even in obvious rotation situations. Never, even once did he point or announce a ball back in play after dead-ball. He misapplied an obstruction award, gave team a run they didn't deserve. After game he admitted that his award was wrong, but he wanted to get that team an extra run to get closer to mercy rule. He was actually proud of himself for this..."that's good game management" he said. Kept referring to FED rules, despite pre-game and regular reminders that we were playing under OBR. Verbally announced FAIR balls, called balls FOUL before they were touched or past base (only got burned on this once). Regularly made calls that were not his...I'm in C, shallow liner to F8 who makes a nice, fully extended diving play...I'm waiting to be sure he's held it, then I hear from the plate "that's a nice catch, batter's OUT". When on the bases, he walks from position to position, even while play is ongoing...walks, huh, shuffles is more like it. Reminds me of the old man Tim Conway used to play on the skits with Carol Burnette. Never looked at 1st as batter-runner passed, walking behind batter runner going 1st to 2nd. Looked like a spectator watching fly balls to LF and CF from A position...and several times got burned with these balls were not caught. Once, the only base runner was trapped in a sloppy pickle between 3rd and home, I'm running back and forth in the gear, while he's standing over in B with his arms folded. Once I looked at him between pitches (he was in A, kind of)...he was 20 feet in the outfield grass, and a good 12-15 feet in foul ground...I'm thinking wtf is he doing way over there...then I get it...at that point in the day, there was a shadow there from the light standards. After final game, I'm sitting at the tournament directors table, out of uniform, chatting with his wife, while TD is out on another field presenting trophies. A couple from the team that just lost our championship game is ripping on TD's wife about how horrible "that one ump was"..."lazy, inconsistent zone, embarrassment, etc". Then a fan from the winning team came over, and told her that he was in "total agreement with everything the other couple was saying". He said "the other umpire (me) must have wished he could go hide under a rock." He then recognized me, and said "you certainly must have felt ashamed to be on the same field with that clown." My response "No comment."
  12. 2nd base is NOT a safe haven for a player that failed to tag up at 1st base.
  13. If Tim He-who-shall-not-be-named thinks that was a bad call, I'm certain it must have been the correct call.
  14. On a side note...remember that if the tossed glove does NOT make contact with the ball there is no infraction.
  15. Add this wrinkle: What if the pitcher had deflected that ball before it hit the runner?