Register or Sign In to remove these ads

Cav

Members
  • Content count

    374
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

132 Neutral

About Cav

  • Birthday 03/18/1949

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male
  • Location
    NW Ohio USA

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
    5thDOA
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Officiating.com

Recent Profile Visitors

2,725 profile views
  1. “When you're winning the argument, shut up.”[1] [1] Ed Zackery, Laws of Umpiring, Number 15.
  2. If a chicken coop had four doors, would you call it a chicken sedan? Oops, sorry. I thought we were back in the locker room.
  3. Well, don't just sit there: Ask Dan the Man to enlighten us Ohioans. I would do it myself but the court order specifically prohibits me communicating with him, most OHSAA office personnel and a good majority living and working in the Greater Columbus area.
  4. Me: "That's for me to know and for you to find out." 2015 NFHS Interps SITUATION 20: The batter hits the ball to the shortstop who bobbles the ball and throws late to first base. The batter-runner beats the throw but does not touch first base. RULING: The runner beats the ball on the play and is considered to be safe. The defense must appeal the missed base or tag the batter-runner before he returns to first in order to have the out declared for the missed base. (8-2-1 Penalty)
  5. The 2017 NFHS Interp uses case play 8.2.5E as a reference. That reference is shaded indicating that it is new or revised. I visualize the 2016 NFHS Interp situation as F2 obstructed R1 attempting to score and it was that obstruction that caused him to miss the plate. Just to be clear: Will R1 be subject to appeal in 2017? I don't recall any announcement of the change/modification.
  6. Walk me through the different outcomes in these two NFHS Interpretations: the former from 2017; the latter, 2016. Both runners missed a base to which they were advancing due to being obstructed. Neither return to re-touch the missed base. The former is not out on appeal, but the latter is. 2017 INTERP SITUATION 16: With a runner on first base, the batter hits a single down the right-field foul line. As the runner from first base nears second base, he is obstructed by the shortstop, which causes him to not touch second base. The runner continues to advance and arrives safely at third base. The defense calls “time,” and then appeals the runner missing second base. RULING: The runner is not out on appeal. If, in the umpire’s judgment, the obstruction caused the runner to miss second base, the appeal is denied and the runner’s advance is legal. (CB 8.2.5E) 2016 INTERP SITUATION 19: R1 is attempting to score from third base and is obstructed by the catcher who tags him on the play. After the play is over, the home plate umpire declares “Time” and awards the runner home. R1 does not touch home plate. The next batter enters the batter’s box and the plate umpire announces “Play.” The pitcher next requests “Time” and appeals the runner not touching home plate. RULING: This is a legal appeal. The runner will be declared out and the run will no longer count. All bases must be touched, even on an award. A dead-ball appeal may be made before the next legal or illegal pitch. (8-2-1, 8-2-5 Penalty)
  7. From the 2017 NFHS case book: 8.3.2 SITUATION K: F6 fields a ground ball and throws to F3 in attempt to retire B1 at first. The ball is thrown wide. As F3 lunges towards the ball, F3 collides with B1, knocking him to the ground prior to possessing the ball (a) while the runner is short of first base or (b) after the runner has contacted first base. RULING: (a) Obstruction; (b) legal.
  8. Answer 1a. Rob and Kent can only be in the 4-spot if they want to legally play. 1b. You cannot accept a lineup change wherein Kent enters for anyone other than the last name of the player in the 4-spot. Answer 2. Rob and Kent can only be in the 4-spot if they want to legally play. You cannot accept a lineup change wherein Rob or Kent are simultaneously on offense or defense. Answer 3. Rob and Kent can only be in the 4-spot if they want to legally play. Kent, being a starter, can re-enter, but only for the last name of the player in the 4-spot.
  9. Full disclosure: I'm not a health professional, but I can pretend to be on the Internet. My only qualification is that I've experienced a couple decades of season openers. So, take the following with your BS Alarm's volume turned way down. Starting a new season, lower neck pain may be your body telling you that it is doing something that it has not done in a while. And, that the pain manifested itself more so on the left shoulder side than the right, may indicate your head is poorly aligned to the left more often than to the right (RH hitters appear more frequently than LH in most amateur games). Some things to consider in no order: (1) A knowledge bump with a search on the Internet to trusted sites, such as: http://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/neck-pain/basics/definition/CON-20028772 (2) You may be holding that suspended 12+lb. noggin of yours out too far. In other words, you may be leaning into the slot too far. Try to "sit back on the edge of the chair" when you lock in your stance which may adjust the vertical alignment of your head, neck and back. (3) Your body is adapting to your mask's weight too quickly. During warm-up stretches (and always stretch before and after your game/s), do your neck rolls with your mask on (4) On RH hitters, move your right foot forward a tad so your head doesn't turn to the left so much. (5) Touch base with your provider's nurse. Say I sent you.
  10. Sounds like a quote from the TV show Friends when Rachel yells at Ross, "Hey, just so you know, it's not that common, it doesn't happen to every guy, and it is a big deal!" Regrettably, the remedy can neither fix what has already happened in a past game of importance nor, while remaining in editorial conflict within the rulebook, assure to all that it won't happen again.
  11. Then are we to conclude that any contact between the plate umpire and F2 (while in possession of the ball and, in the umpire's judgment, in the act of making a throw) is to ruled UI if an unforced runner advances following a pitch? Still trying to work it out in this head of mine...
  12. I raised this issue recently at: I am not convinced, as is more often the case of late, the full rules committee was onboard with this change of verbiage to achieve some desired result. Otherwise it does not reflect well on NFHS' editorial staff.
  13. Did R1 run more than three feet either side of a direct line between his position and the base to which he was attempting to reach when he was trying to avoid a tag?
  14. The criteria for umpire interference has been the umpire doing something (an act), as in rule 2-21-2. That criteria is missing from the rule at 8-3-6. 2017 NFHS Interpretation 11 now warrants a call even when if the umpire does nothing. The rulebook protects the offense from causing interference more so than they do the plate umpire when the defense is attempting a play. A batter can remain in place and not be judged to have interfered during similar plays.
  15. I don't think the adjective "inadvertent"* reflects negatively on the umpire. But, I do think that the plate umpire and not the catcher must do something to cause the interference. In the past, the umpire had to move to cause the interference. Now there is an interpretation wherein the catcher's movement can draw a call. *Definition: not resulting from or achieved through deliberate planning.