Register or Sign In to remove these ads

Cav

Members
  • Content count

    415
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    1

Cav last won the day on January 31 2016

Cav had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

142 Neutral

About Cav

  • Birthday 03/18/1949

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male
  • Location
    NW Ohio USA

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
    5thDOA
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Officiating.com

Recent Profile Visitors

2,864 profile views
  1. HTBT. 1. I would need to know if R2 ran "into the shortstop" before or after U5; and, 2. If before, I would need more info, particularly about R2's path to 3B in order to "...run into the shortstop who was moving over to back up the play..." What did you have? I offer you this case play wherein R2 was DOA with or without the obstruction: NFHS 8.3.2 SITUATION D: With one out, R1 on second and R2 on first, B4 hits ground ball directly to F1 who throws to F5 for force on R1 at third. F5 then throws to F3 in time to put out B4. F6 holds R1, preventing him from advancing to third. RULING: The umpire will call obstruction when it occurs, and then call time after runners have advanced as far as possible, which in this situation would probably be second for R2. R1 will then be awarded third. Because of the obstruction of F6, the out at first stands. B4’s out stands. B4 was not affected by the obstruction. B5 will come to bat with two outs and R1 is on third and R2 is on second base.
  2. The term "fan" has many meanings. As it is used to describe those "outside the fence" at sporting events, the English language has derived the term from the word "fanatic," itself a socio-psychotic, medical malady that is non-treatable without ardent site administrators and perhaps even armed guards. As officials, we must let it go and allow Nature to take its course. The dugouts, on the other hand, are well within our "sphere of influence."
  3. Yep, he's treated the same as any reliever once per inning. Ouch! 2012 NFHS interps SITUATION #14: How many pitches and with how much time do pitchers have to complete their warm-up throws? RULING: The starting pitcher and any relief pitcher may warm up by using not more than eight throws completed in one minute timed from the first throw. A pitcher who, was the pitcher in the prior inning, may warm up by using not more than five throws completed in one minute timed from the third out of the previous half-inning. (6-2-2c exception) 2014 NFHS Interps SITUATION 14: In the fifth inning, the starting pitcher is removed for the first time in the game and goes to the bench. In the seventh inning, the original starting pitcher is re-entered to face the last batter. The opposing coach argues that the player cannot return to pitch, saying “once removed, he cannot come back to pitch.” RULING: If a starting pitcher was removed to the bench, he may return to pitch in a game provided a) he has re-entry eligibility; b) he faced the first batter of the game, or faced the first batter as a relief pitcher until that batter was on base or out or the third out of the inning occurred; c) his departure was not due to a violation of the defensive charged conference rule (fourth defensive conference in a seven-inning game); and d) his relief did not take more than eight warm-up throws. If those conditions are met, a pitcher may return to the mound. If a pitcher is removed and goes to another defensive position, he may be removed and return to pitch once an inning, provided the above requirements are met. (3-1-2, 3; 3-4-1 Penalty)
  4. A common occurrence I've often observed in my partners over the years. I put out that NFHS case play to remind all that spit can and usually does happen. The "weak interference" reference was my J/R background from the early 90s leaking out.
  5. I'm treating it just like what we used to call "weak interference" on the return toss. No one was trying to advance and no one was trying to make outs. So, shut it down, have the bat picked up, the ball exchanged, R2 stays on 2B and the BR complete his awarded BB. Stupid lefty!
  6. NFHS 7.3.5 SITUATION I: With a runner on third base and one out, B3 receives ball four for a base on balls. B3 takes several steps toward first base and then realizes he is still holding onto the bat. With his dugout on the third base side, he stops and tosses the bat in front of home plate towards his bench. As he tosses the bat, F2 throws the ball to third in an attempt to put out R1. The ball contacts the bat in mid-air and is deflected into dead-ball territory. RULING: The ball is dead. Interference is declared on the batter. If R1 had been attempting to steal home, R1 would be declared out and B3 awarded first base on the base on balls. If R1 was attempting to return to third base on the play, B3 is declared out for the interference. (7-3-5)
  7. "If you don't think too good, don't think too much." ~Ted Williams Words to think about. Ha!
  8. Oh, I'm quite certain that if it were Bret, then he would have attributed it to Rich. Now, stop. I have an important pre-game nap coming up.
  9. Oh, that's rich.
  10. Within each of the big three codes, someone smarter than me could probably find 12 or more contradictions and/or proscriptions without penalty.
  11. Player EJ protocol is set by the state. Check with them. Here in Ohio, there are specific steps that must be followed. Sending an EJ'd player away from the bench is specifically prohibited. An EJ'd player must remain on the bench under the supervision of the coach.
  12. Semantics aside, the batter steps on the plate when "bunting" is nothing until he actually makes contact with the ball and his bat while his foot is on the plate. Now that is a violation. The mechanic I use is to emphatically point to the infraction and announce, "Time! He's out! He's out of the box!" Repeat as necessary. 7-3-2 . . . Hit the ball while either foot or knee is touching the ground completely outside the lines of the batter’s box or touching home plate. PENALTY: For infraction of Articles 2 and 3, the ball becomes dead immediately and the batter is out. 7.3.2 SITUATION D: B1 hits (a) a fair ball, (b) a foul ball, (c) a foul tip while either foot or knee is touching the ground completely outside the lines of the batter’s box or touches home plate. RULING: Illegal in (a), (b) and (c). The batter is out for making contact with the pitched ball while being out of the batter’s box or touching home plate.
  13. Decades ago, I read an article (Referee Magazine?) about the annual net loss of officials for certain sports. I recall that the three sports that suffered the trend the worse back then were, in order: 1. Soccer - our population/culture didn't then have a base for the sport's rapid domestic expansion; 2. Wrestling - the sport's technicalities being what they are; and, 3. Baseball. I also recall the article predicted the eventual demise of baseball officiating availability based on: 1. Expanding game schedules - a regular high school schedule when I played in the '60s was 12 games; now it's 27; 2. Start-up expenses - memberships, uniforms, equipment, distance, time; and, 3. Revenues - academic baseball is a non-revenue producing sport in Ohio and its officials are paid accordingly. Regarding the latter two: I see my 13 y/o grandson (great ball player, if I do say so myself, and I do) bike on over to the local, youth ballpark, don some park gear (always accepting donations, by the by) over his everyday attire (what was he thinking?) and call ball for a few youth teams. He gets $25 per game. The kid can walk away with $50 - $100 on a summer Saturday and have nothing invested other than his time. (And, it's Calvinball, where the 25 Myths of Baseball are learned and become legendary!) On the other hand, I'm on the backside of this nearly 30-year avocation of mine. I am considered an independent contractor dealing with mandatory memberships, mandatory uniforms, mandatory training and mandatory mechanics for fees that haven't kept up with inflation. My grandson suggests I go to work for him! He has little desire to umpire at my level or higher. He's mentally healthy for his age, so he wants to play or coach. And, since he knows how to umpire and he knows all the rules, he says he will make a great coach if he fails to get drafted as a player. Ugh!
  14. Allow me to add: NFHS 8.4.2 COMMENT: The umpire has authority to declare two runners out when a runner or retired runner illegally interferes and prevents a double play. In such circumstances, the runner who interferes is out and the other runner involved is also out. Also, when the batter-runner interferes, the umpire may declare two outs. The batter-runner is declared out and so is the runner who has advanced the nearest to home plate.
  15. If the runners are over- or under-thinking the situation and are vulnerable to appeal for failing to retouch, then a double play "is in progress." The batted ball was declared an IFF, so it had to be catchable with ordinary effort regardless if eventually falling fair or foul. If fair, BR is out on the IFF. If foul, BR is out on interference with the fielder's attempt to field a catchable fly ball. One way or another, one out. As I take in all that is going on around the bases with my supernatural powers bestowed upon me and if I discover another runner or two in jeopardy of being doubled up on a live- ball appeal for over- or under-thinking the situation had the ball been caught, then I pop one of them, too. If more than one and if I'm not sure on whom the D would appeal their opponent's stupidity, then I'll go get the one closest to home. Two out. Getting outs is right up there with calling strikes when it comes to complying with the wishes of the front office for us umpires to move the games along.