Jump to content

Register or Sign In to remove these ads

lawump

Members
  • Content count

    628
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    34

Everything posted by lawump

  1. Force play vs winning run

    No run may score on a play in which the third out is recorded and that third out is (a) a force out or (b) against the batter runner before he reaches first base. In your play, was R2 (the runner on second) forced to advance to third base? The answer, of course, is yes. The out against R2 at third base is a force out. No run may score on a play in which the third out is recorded and that third out is a force out. "Does the run score?" Answer: No. "What should be the call?" Answer: The base umpire should say, "he's out". The teams then move on to the 10th inning still tied. This is a Merkle's Boner play. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Merkle's_Boner
  2. Agreed. Just because I am of the opinion that I don't think it was intentional doesn't mean that I don't think they are still RATS.
  3. If you watch the game (which I can do as I pay for the MLB.tv extra-inning package), you can see (and hear) F2, when he returns to the plate area after having walked out to the mound, ask Wolcott, "are you okay?" Wolcott gives a nod of the head and says, "yes" (or something similarly affirmative), and then reaches out with his right hand and gives F2 a pat on the back. Wolcott's non-verbal communication (the pat on the back) was clearly Wolcott telling F2 that "we're good" and that there were no issues between them. This is the only logical conclusion after watching Wolcott and the F2 interact with one another after this incident, but before the next pitch was thrown. It is clear that Wolcott did not feel that this was intentional. The communication between them (both verbal and non-verbal) when F2 returned to the plate area convinces me, beyond a reasonable doubt, that Wolcott did not consider this to be intentional. If Wolcott did not consider this to be intentional, then that is good enough for me. (And I initially believed this was intentional.) (For what its worth, Wolcott did not get hit immediately after having ejected the starting F2 and manager. Rather, after those ejections, F1 faced another batter...a batter whom he proceeded to walk on four non-controversial pitches that were wild and all over the place. Only after walking that batter did Wolcott then get hit. The pitch that hit Wolcott was F1's fifth consecutive pitch that was no where near the strike zone. So, is it believable that a struggling F1 could add to his struggles by getting signals/signs crossed up with an F2 who just entered the game minutes before? I think the easy answer is: Yes.)
  4. ALWS

    Photos of me working the plate in the semi-final game of the 2017 American Legion World Series on ESPN U http://www.onlinepictureproof.com/vrstudio/albums/game_fourteen__nc_vs_ne/567353/guest/emoq19b5f6b8ck1 http://www.onlinepictureproof.com/vrstudio/albums/game_fourteen__nc_vs_ne/567353/guest/avn9o4v9hl768n4 http://www.onlinepictureproof.com/vrstudio/albums/game_fourteen__nc_vs_ne/567353/guest/tfpo1hwnye82v1i http://www.onlinepictureproof.com/vrstudio/albums/game_fourteen__nc_vs_ne/567353/guest/4368qd2gsymqac1 http://www.onlinepictureproof.com/vrstudio/albums/game_fourteen__nc_vs_ne/567353/guest/wvowlvwva9vnsyc http://www.onlinepictureproof.com/vrstudio/albums/game_fourteen__nc_vs_ne/567353/guest/9c112lcz38763sj http://www.onlinepictureproof.com/vrstudio/albums/game_fourteen__nc_vs_ne/567353/guest/h1hqn4rfkim5mm0 http://www.onlinepictureproof.com/vrstudio/albums/game_fourteen__nc_vs_ne/567353/guest/w12h4n536vll4cs http://www.onlinepictureproof.com/vrstudio/albums/game_fourteen__nc_vs_ne/567353/guest/mt83o6flja67s0m http://www.onlinepictureproof.com/vrstudio/albums/game_fourteen__nc_vs_ne/567353/guest/v2sgizd058o7cke http://www.onlinepictureproof.com/vrstudio/albums/game_fourteen__nc_vs_ne/567353/guest/40b3ijt10wnfv9o http://www.onlinepictureproof.com/vrstudio/albums/game_fourteen__nc_vs_ne/567353/guest/a77kjjqooy89ovz http://www.onlinepictureproof.com/vrstudio/albums/game_fourteen__nc_vs_ne/567353/guest/ilt5mh2treagmh1
  5. ALWS

    That's it! I'm going out and buying "just for men" tonight!
  6. CP under plate coat

    Nope! Any chance I get to show of my obnoxious gold "W"...I take it!
  7. ALWS

    Yes. And it will not change.
  8. ALWS

    "I saw lightning! I saw lightning!" "Go ask the tournament director if it is close enough that we should stop the game." (He had a lightning detector). A few minutes later: http://www.onlinepictureproof.com/vrstudio/albums/game_fourteen__nc_vs_ne/567353/guest/0d7qd88tb8le5sr
  9. ALWS

    This was my second. The experience is amazing. You get a gift basket (shirts, mementos, etc.) when you check in to the hotel, and it just gets better from there. We have a big locker room. A local high school umpire is hired by the organizing committee to be our "clubbie". We have a full spread of food, snacks, gum, drinks, etc. every day. We have an HD TV in the lockerroom to watch the game that is being played so we don't have to sit in the sun before our next game. The baseball is high quality (we have some freshman Div. 1 players, and a lot of high school seniors who are going Div. 1 or are pro prospects). The arguing (by coaches/players) is almost non-existent due to the fact that if you get ejected you are suspended for the rest of the tournament. In other words, it's real good baseball, with almost no arguments, in front of large crowds, on national television, with lots of "free stuff". Other than the possibility of screwing up on national TV and having someone start a "discussion/thread" on this website, what's not to like? LOL
  10. Missed the play

    As the base umpire, that is your call. In a two-umpire crew, on a rundown between second and third, if the plate umpire can get to the third base cutout he make take any plays (i.e. tag attempts) that occur around third-base. (Pro schools say the plate umpire would have anything within 10-feet of third base and the base umpire would "have the other 80 feet".) However, the plate umpire only has plays at third base when (1) he has actually gotten to third base (by the book, this means he is in the middle of the third base cutout); and, (2) he has informed you that he "has this end". Until he informs you that he "has this end," all plays that occur in the rundown are your (the base umpire) call. Since, in your post you stated that PU was "still at home", the play you posted is your call. Obviously, I did not see you officiate this play so I cannot provide any constructive criticism based on direct evidence. I can only attempt some feeble deductive reasoning in an attempt to flush out what may have happened. First, I can state that even the best umpires sometime get "straight-lined" and do not get a good look at a tag attempt. When this occurs, you really have to use good timing and make your call slowly. That is, take a second or two to read other clues that may help you make the correct call...before you actually signal and vocalize your call. I am going to guess, based on your description of the play, that a tag was not, in fact, made and that you got this call wrong. I base this on the fact that after this "tag attempt", not only did the runner continue to run, but the fielders continued to try to make a play against the runner. I believe, if you had taken a second or two to read the players' actions immediately after this tag attempt, you likely would have observed that all players (offense and defense) continued to play...at which point you would have obtained additional information to help you make the correct call, and at which time you should have given the safe mechanic while yelling "no tag! no tag!" Finally, as an aside, if the players are not hearing your calls, this likely means that you need to significantly increase your vocal volume.
  11. ALWS

    If you have the "watch ESPN" app, you can watch the ALWS on "replay"...except for game 14 (the game from which the photos above come from). For some reason, Game 14 was the only game that was not archived. If you want to see me on the plate, I was also on the plate for Game 6.
  12. Full brawl NYY vrs Detroit Tigers

    And in true RAT fashion, Girardi has blamed this all on the umpires. Because grown athletes acting like pre-schoolers bear no responsibility for their actions.
  13. Between Innings

    Last week, I had the quickest game in American Legion World Series history (1,115 games over 91 years) according to the official historian (they actually did some significant research.). It was 1:27 for seven innings. You can watch it on ESPN3 or the "Watch ESPN" app for the next week or so. It is labeled on those sites as "Game 6" of the ALWS.
  14. Darrin Sealey Resigns

    I don't know Darrin, so I can't comment on him or his issue specifically. Does it surprise me that something like this happened? Hell No. It happens all the time. For instance, it is estimated that for every 30 guys who claim to be an ex-SEAL, only one actually is. (And, in fact, you usually have to pester the "one" to death to get him to admit it.) https://videos.extremesealexperience.com/channel_Phony-Navy-Seal-Of-The-Week It is really not hard; speaking the truth, that is. For instance, I have been to many, many American Legion tournaments. At each one I am asked repeatedly by Legionnaire after Legionnaire, "did you serve?" My answer each time is, "no sir, but I'm proud as hell to be here to honor you and your fellow veterans for what you have done for all of us!" God Bless all of our veterans!
  15. I'm surprised by how many umpires (a/k/a posters) in this thread have thrown Davis under the bus on this one. NONE of us have any idea what the context is in this situation. To ASSUME that a 30-year MLB veteran, who has worked more MLB playoff games than any umpire in history and does not have a reputation as a "red ass" or "hot head", is suddenly going to become a "smitty" and enforce some obscure rule/policy without something else going on is a pretty poor assumption on these posters' part. There are a lot of reasons that could have caused Mr. Davis to interject himself into this situation. I'll suggest a few: (1) it was a blowout. Professional ballplayers tend to get ornery during a blowout. A lot of brawls and "non-routine" situations happen during a blowout. (i.e. see last night's Kansas City game.) Maybe, just maybe, the other team was complaining to the point that Gerry felt he needed to address it to head of a non-routine situation. (2) Maybe some type of memo from New York (MLB/umpire operations) was sent telling either him or maybe all umpires that this was becoming a "safety" issue and that it needed to be addressed should it occur. Those are just two possibilities. There are more (see @maven's post.) All of these are pure speculation on my part. But, my point is that I think it is highly unfair that we (fellow umpires) immediately come to the conclusion (and post our conclusion on-line) that Davis was in the wrong without knowing anything about this situation beyond what was broadcast. Is it possible that Davis suddenly and temporarily devolved into a Smitty or an OOO? Sure, anything is possible. But, to paraphrase from Sherlock Holmes, I wouldd have to eliminate every other possibility before I would conclude that Davis turned into a temporary Smitty and/or OOO...as that is so improbable and unlikely. I certainly, as an umpire, would not post on a thread that Davis acted ridiculously or was wrong until I had, in fact, eliminated every other explanation.
  16. DH/Substitution/Re Entry

    This casebook play should appear in the 2018 casebook since this exact situation resulted in three different states calling Indianapolis for an interpretation in 2017. Also, note that if S1 is NOT replaced by the re-entering F2, then the team cannot use a CR.
  17. U3 in 3 man...

    You MUST think about your responsibilities before the ball is hit. If you try to stop and think about where you have to go (or what your responsibilities are) after the ball is hit...then you are screwed. So, EACH AND EVERY time a new batter gets in the box OR the location of the runner(s) change (i.e. on a steal, pass ball, wild pitch, balk, etc.) you must...before the ball is pitched...mentally review in your head what your responsibilities are should the ball be put in play. If you try to review your responsibilities once the ball is put in play, you will have no chance. By way of example, if the game begins with a 4-pitch walk...before the first pitch the second batter is delivered, I am mentally telling myself, "I have any fly ball that takes F8 toward LF all the way to F7. I have any fly ball to RCF or RF that U1 doesn't go out on. I'm rotating on a clean base hit to the outfield. Revert to two man if U1 goes out." Furthermore, as I am reviewing this in my head, I am going to signal to my partners (by pointing to first base) that we are rotating on a clean base hit to the OF where no umpires goes out. If you do this every time, your odds of having an "oh, sh!t, where do I go," moment significantly decreases.
  18. Do you let these go?

    In response to both scenarios in the OP:
  19. Screw the part about the umps wearing shirts advertising the local bar, I want to know how a PCL umpire gets fined for letting an "extra and unqualified" umpire work a AAA game??? I had to read it twice; the story just casually mentions it. I mean, was a PCL crew chief drunk one day when he turned to his two crew mates and said, "you know what would be funny as f^*k? Let's go to the local little league and get Smitty and see if he can make it through tonight's game without causing a sh!thouse!" I mean, someone has to do some research on this! I have never come across this story. It is probably hilarious as hell.
  20. Non-Ejections: 2 Examples

    I have been thinking about your post. I think it hints at an even bigger issue. Too many of us umpires feel the need to "talk" during an argument...to the point where we start arguing/discussing/talking before the coach even opens his mouth. That is, we don't wait to hear what the coach has to say before we feel compelled to open our mouths and start talking. Hell, some of us start talking/yelling while the coach is still walking/jogging toward us. We don't even wait for him to arrive at our location. Those of us that do this (and I used to be one of them) really need to stop doing this. We need to hear what the coach says/argues before we even open our mouth. When we feel the need to be the first one to start talking/yelling we are doing so only after having made an assumption that we know what the coach is going to say...and we all know what happens when we ass-u-me. On more than one occasion I have been on the field when a head coach came out to "argue" (either with me or a partner) and the first words out of his mouth were, "I know you got the call right, we're just playing like crap so I'm out here to show my team that I'm fighting for them," (or something similar) (I'm not making that up...this has happened multiple times in my career). If my partner or I had started yelling/talking to/at the coach before listening to the coach, we wouldn't have had the chance to realize that the coach wasn't even coming out to argue! Additionally, there have been other times when I was 100% sure I knew why the coach was coming out to argue...only to find out that I was wrong. For instance, I once had the Vanderbilt head coach come out and I was sure he was going to argue that the second baseman had come off the bag too quickly in turning a 6-4-3 double-play. I wasn't feeling great about my call. However, lo and behold, his argument was that the batted ball had hit R2...which I knew was not even a remote possibility. If I had opened my mouth first instead of waiting to hear what he had to say...I would have just given the head coach another thing to argue! Anyways (now that I'm off my soap box), if the coach comes out to a standard safe/out play at first base, I'll listen to them. I'll tell them, "I had the ball just beating the runner," or "the runner just beat the throw." I'll let them reply and then I'll say "We'll have to agree to disagree. Now, we need to get the game going." They'll usually give a parting shot (coaches love to have the last word.) Then we go on. I have never had this happen, but if a coach told me, "Well, we saw it differently," then I would probably reply with, "Okay, then we'll have to agree to disagree. Now, Its time to get the game going."
  21. Between inning positioning

    Never seen this. It does, however, beat the "my partner goes and sits in a chair off the field between innings" thread that has been going continuing on Facebook this week.
  22. Caught Foul... Pit?

    Sweet!
  23. Matt Holliday 11th inning today

    MLB's decision, I am sure, will read, in its entirety: "Protest Denied." They do not need to explain anything. Since the Yankees did not score that inning, the umpire's ruling...if it were, in fact, incorrect (which it is not)...did not materially affect the outcome of the game. Historically speaking, when the protesting team goes on to lose the game, but the play that is being protested clearly did not materially affect the outcome of the game, MLB usually just states that the protest is denied without further explanation.
×