Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

ricka56

Established Member
  • Content count

    2,843
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    34

Everything posted by ricka56

  1. ricka56

    Is the game over?

    This Ask the Umpire question would make sense with the following corrections: Runners on the corners with 1 out. Batter hits a fly ball to right, which is caught. Runner at 3rd tags up legally and scores. However, the batter runner on first never re-touches first base. He just walks into the dugout. Is the game really over at this point? Doesn't the batter runner on first have to complete the play and re-touch first base? And the answer would be, yes, the game is over even if the defense appealed the runner on first's failure to retouch 1B after the run scored. That out would not be not a force play, it is an appeal ... a "time play". If that out happened before the run scored, then the run would not count. If that out happened after the run scored, then the run would count...game over.
  2. As described, no. This is probably just an E8. But one would have to be there to really judge. In other words, I may see and describe the same play where interference would be the correct call. Often people come on here and describe a situation in a manner that elicits an interpretation that they desire.
  3. ricka56

    Is the play dead?

    Depends on what the league is about. Its a rec-league. No one should get their panties in a twist over an incorrect call...crack open another beer and have fun. Umpires are needed to keep players from cheating in games that matter. If the outcome of the game (and plays) doesn't matter, why incur the expense.
  4. ricka56

    Pitcher Covering Home on Wild Pitch

    I'll take your word that the pitcher set up 1-2 seconds before that ball arrived. But that isn't the significant time frame that we need to know about. Before the runner gets in the vicinity of HP, the pitcher can be anywhere he wants. The time at which the runner had to choose his final path to HP, is the pertinent moment used to judge obstruction. If the runner had to altered his path because of the pitcher without the ball, then obstruction is the call. If the runner had to altered his path because of the pitcher with the ball, then there is no obstruction. This is always a tough call for an umpire to make. The offense and the defense will almost always see it oppositely. If there is obstruction, that benefit of doubt about the attempt to avoid contact may go to the runner. No obstruction, that benefit of the doubt most likely goes to the fielder. Even when the umpire understands how to properly officiate such a play, this is often a call that could go either way. A pure judgement call. And many umpire err on the side of caution and rule interference on the runner, in part to nip in the bud any thought of retaliation by the defense. Not that that's the right thing to do, but sometimes that's in the back of an umpire's head.
  5. ricka56

    Pitcher Covering Home on Wild Pitch

    Judging intent is not easy. All you usually only get are subtle pieces of evidence happening instantaneously, one way and the other. The umpire has to judge whether there was sufficient evidence that the runner attempted to avoid the contact to absolve him of the penalty. 99% hazardous and 1% attempt to avoid is too low an effort for me to even notice, let alone absolve a runner. And I've had the fielder 99% hazardous, where I ruled in the runner's favor. And you ignored the key phrase in the point that I was making. If there is a doubt about whether the runner complied with the slide/attempt to avoid rule, and the runner choose not to slide (when sliding would have had eliminated the need for judgement), then the runner is most likely not getting the benefit of that doubt.
  6. ricka56

    Pitcher Covering Home on Wild Pitch

    Still, the collision was entirely avoidable if he slid. When a runner slides, he has done the most he can do to avoid contact. If he chooses not to slide, then the runner does not get the benefit of the doubt as to whether his attempt to avoid contact was sufficient (even if he is the smaller of the two colliding).
  7. ricka56

    Third out

    Contrary to popular belief, the runner getting doubled off at 2B is not a force play. Force plays can only occur when a batter/runner forces runners to move up (refer to force play definition). Once the batter is out, no force play can occur. As stated above, your play was a time play. The runner from 3B scored before the runner from 2B was out, so the run counts.
  8. ricka56

    'REAL' job

    Chief branding manager for Dick's Sporting.
  9. ricka56

    interference/obstruction/play on???

    And rule interference ? That could be supported by the rules maybe, but only the delight DHC would buy that judgement call.
  10. ricka56

    3 feet, continuing to advance,

    Glad to see this clarification put into the rules/interp. Before that, umpires had a catch-22. If a runner stayed more than 3 feet away from the ball carrier (more than an arm's length away), then a tag attempt couldn't be made. If no tag attempt, then the rule didn't apply. And if the runner was within 3 feet (less than arm's reach), a tag could be made and you didn't need the rule. That made no sense. Runners getting themselves in a rundown are 99% out if the fielders don't screw it up. And you have to be Houdini to be in the other 1%.
  11. ricka56

    Fulmer calls out PU

    Am I the only one who's noticed that this exchange rate has inverted, rendering this expression obsolete... ... and betting donuts to dollars just doesn't have the same ring to it. Levity is the only contribution I can make to this thread.
  12. ricka56

    Horrible news - @grayhawk

    I just read this thread about Steve's accident. Horrible news. Thought and prayers to Grayhawk, one of the best contributors to this site, and judging by my convos with him, a fine man. Speedy recovery, bruda.
  13. ricka56

    Double Set - Balk

    Pick one...be an umpire...make the call or no call. Have your explanation ready before asked. Understand that those there will probably second-guess you, no matter your choice...goes with the territory.
  14. ricka56

    Mound Visits

    My understand is the same as yours...true.
  15. ricka56

    NFHS changes 2019

    Normally I wouldn't go for help on a call to a partner who wasn't properly attired. But I'd make an exception for you.
  16. ricka56

    Appeal calls

    There are two kinds of appeals in baseball. 1. Appeal plays, such as missed base, missed retouch, batting out of order. Usually no umpire conference occurs. 2. Appeal of an umpire decision. A coach may make an appeal to the umpire making the call to get help on the play, but it is solely up to the calling umpire whether to grant this appeal to get help. Any decision can theoretically be appeal requested (blue, can I ask you to get help on that strike call...ha).
  17. ricka56

    Simulating Delivery & Disengagement

    How does F1 disengage from the rubber if he doesn't bend his "back" knee ?
  18. ricka56

    Balk or no Balk - Team Dempster or Team Reynolds

    Its half disengage, half jab step (another imaginary 45 degree line ... ha). I think the half jab step trumps the half disengage (balk), but pick one and sell what you've got if you have to. Sometimes, you just have to umpire.
  19. ricka56

    NFHS changes 2019

    That "inconspicuous" tab on your chest will soon turn into a signal to a coach that you think your partner kicked a call. I don't plan to use this and I hope none of my partners do either. We, as a chapter, are pretty good about going to our partner when appropriate. No "secret" signal required.
  20. ricka56

    Leaving base early

    It's Umpire 101 knowledge. The people who came down on the no run score side, are not as experienced as you think.
  21. ricka56

    Is this a balk or not? (Video)

    This ^^^^ It is technically a balk, but it is the least "deceptive" balk move F1 can do. At lower levels (the only place you see this stuff), daddy coaches don't know that this is a balk and don't notice that you don't notice (outwardly).
  22. ricka56

    Enforcing the coaches box rule

    OBR 5.03c is the rule that you're looking for. Base coaches must remain within the coach’s box consistent with this Rule, except that a coach who has a play at his base may leave the coach’s box to signal the player to slide, advance or return to a base if the coach does not interfere with the play in any manner. Other than exchanging equipment, all base coaches shall refrain from physically touching base runners, especially when signs are being given. PENALTY: If a coach has positioned himself closer to home plate than the coach’s box or closer to fair territory than the coach’s box before a batted ball passes the coach, the umpire shall, upon complaint by the opposing manager, strictly enforce the rule. The umpire shall warn the coach and instruct him to return to the box. If the coach does not return to the box he shall be removed from the game.
  23. ricka56

    Balk? Fake to third, fake to first...

    With that explanation, one's rule application can't be questioned, only their virtual eye sight.
  24. ricka56

    Sticky situation

    HS F2 obstruction. I will give PU the benefit of the doubt that he thought that F2 was the aggressor and needed to be "moved" away, but I don't think the man-handling would fly in a HS game (dunno if that's acceptable at the NCAA level). I liked that the coaches got in there to separate players (instead of insight them). I have something little here (no ejections), but a stern warning to coaches to keep a lid on this..."lets not turn something little into something big".
  25. ricka56

    Balk? Fake to third, fake to first...

    Legal: RHP F1 steps with left foot towards 3B, fakes a throw to 3B, then pivots on his left foot (right foot swings towards 3B) and throws to 1B. Illegal: RHP F1 steps with left foot towards 3B, fakes a throw to 3B, then pivots on his right foot (still engaged with the rubber) and throws to 1B. Balk
×