Jump to content

Register or Sign In to remove these ads

maven

Members
  • Content count

    6,594
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    198

maven last won the day on September 13

maven had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

3,880 Excellent

3 Followers

About maven

  • Rank
    Rules Interpreter

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Not Telling
  • Location
    Neck o' the Woods, OH

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
    SUA

Recent Profile Visitors

8,474 profile views
  1. Out or lodged ball?

    The rule book does not interpret itself, especially when borderline cases arise. If a fielder can immediately retrieve a ball just inside his jersey, then it is not lodged. It remains live; when he holds it securely in hand or glove it's a catch. That play happened so fast, the umpires might not have seen the ball go into the jersey. If they thought he trapped it, then held it in his hand, they'd also rule it a catch.
  2. Qualifications

    For college ball around here: There's a lot, D1-3, within about 150 miles. Midweek availability and willingness to drive are essential (and, for some conferences, sufficient). To advance, you need to go to clinics to improve and be noticed by assigners. Specific assigners will have additional criteria, some they will tell anyone who asks, some you have to grok from their staff (if, say, they have a BMI limit). Higher levels can be and are pickier. I'm curious: why do you want to work college? In my area, good HS baseball is MUCH better than most D2-3 ball, in addition to being closer. I'll trade $75 or so (the difference in game fees) for a 3–4 hour round trip to work a crappy 9 inning game ANY day (and, in fact, do so every season).
  3. When is it time to hang it up?

    If you're asking when it is time to stop officiating a particular sport, no one answer will apply to each official's situation. Sometimes health, age, fitness, interest, or other priorities make stopping the right option.
  4. 20

    *22
  5. 20

    I see what you did there. You're on the list, Murray.
  6. 20

  7. Does the run count

    Both parts of your statement are true: it is a live ball appeal, and it is a time play. But the "therefore" connecting them is incorrect: a live ball appeal can be a force out, as it often is for a missed base appeal. So the fact that this is a live ball appeal does not entail that it will be a time play. The fact that it is a retouch appeal DOES entail that it is a time play.
  8. The PBUC guidance seems not exhaust the logical space, but addresses only some cases. In particular, it addresses the "deflection" of a ball not in flight—where the original force of the ball takes it out of play, via contact with a fielder—and clear cases of throwing or kicking in the ordinary senses of those words. It does not seem to address the case where a batted ball is "redirected" by contact with a fielder causes the ball to gain a new force that sends it out of play, which is another kind of deflection. It is possible that PBUC means to do away with the old distinction between a "mere" deflection and a "redirection" by the fielder, which used to be the basis in these plays between a TOP and TOT award (respectively). But I don't know that what you've quoted expresses that intention, and I guess I'd need to have it spelled out more explicitly to me. Maybe a recent grad knows?
  9. Right: it has to be treated as a "thrown" ball because it would not have gone into the stands without the fielder contacting it (it was bouncing off the wall back into the field of play). MLB treats TOT awards VERY conservatively (which explains why the BR was returned to 3B), but I think there's some evidence that HP would be the correct award here. A comment on Gil's site thought that Gorman overruled the PU on the award, but the award is not PU's call. I think PU just assumed this would be 2 bases TOP when the ball went out of play. I'm sure he thought that he was communicating Gorman's call to the runner, not announcing his own, independent call.
  10. PU told him to pick up the helmet and/or KTSO. Then he threw the guard. EJ is pretty automatic there. I don't know whether these count as Abe thoughts, but he's in the proper position, head still. He just missed an extremely tight call. Remember that the human eye can distinguish events only to about .04 seconds, and I'd bet that the gap between touch and tag was right around there. It looks easy or obvious only in super slo mo, where .04 seconds gets stretched to a few seconds. Even Mets fans can get it right at that point.
  11. Hit or Fielders Choice?

    Not an umpiring question. Try scorekeeper-empire.com.
  12. It was a HR when it hit the yellow in flight (the first time). The ball was dead at that point. http://mlb.mlb.com/mlb/official_info/umpires/ground_rules.jsp
  13. catch/lodged ball?

    I didn't see that the ball was stuck until it became dead. Play on. The lodged ball rule is intended to address the situation where the defense can't play on a runner because the ball is inaccessible. We need to work within that concept. That's not what we have in your play, so we're not going to trouble trouble. Had R1 noticed that F3 couldn't retrieve the ball and tried to advance (before I granted time), then the ruling might be different.
  14. catch/lodged ball?

    I'm not qualified to rule on the latter.
  15. Good guess. Yes, the BR is out on the catch, which does not count as the "first play by an infielder."
×