Register or Sign In to remove these ads


  • Content count

  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

19 Neutral

About sthomas13100

Profile Information

  • Gender
  • Location

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    High School, Youth
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)

Recent Profile Visitors

2,233 profile views
  1. Rich, watch the video, Brian C posted it. I just pulled out a clip to show that Holiday knew the play. His eyes are on the ball.
  2. Ball in Moreland's hand, in the act of throwing to second base. Where are the eyes of Holiday? Don't fall for it, Holiday knows the situation and his trying to bust up a double play. And, as an Oklahoma State grad, I like Holiday and respect his Dad. No bias, just a player trying to gain an advantage. Intent isn't required for interference, but if you judge this is normal base-running, then his intent does matter. He knows Moreland is off the base and is turning a 3-6-3 double play.
  3. If this is a correct call (which I don't), then get ready for this to show up at every level of play. Penalize the guilty party, period!
  4. Went and looked at Robb Nen video, that is the exact motion.
  5. Doing a summer league game last night and had a pitcher doing something I've never seen. I asked the pitcher were he came up with the idea, he said its something Clayton Kershaw does. Well, I tried this morning and watched several Kershaw videos and did not see exactly the same thing, so I'm going to describe it. From the stretch with runners on base, lifts his non-pivot foot up and comes back down and does a toe tap on the ground, then extends out as he is delivering the pitch. Kershaw does come back down, but stays 1-2" above the ground (I think this is called a power "L"). The kid did not technically stop his motion with the toe tap, but it just didn't look right. He was not a good pitcher and only pitched a couple of innings and walked half the batters. 2 question; have you seen this delivery before, and would you balk it?
  6. Jimurray, thanks for setting me straight. Makes sense.
  7. One question, since the BR was out at first, how can there be interference. Totally agree that the slide was illegal. No problem with penalizing the offense. But, similar to batter/umpire interference, if the catcher records the out, we ignore the interference.
  8. Ok, I'm just going to say it. Count is 1-2 with two outs. That is a uncaught third strike, but how can you tell from the mechanic. My call time? He thought the game was over? Then Ron Washington talks him into a foul ball. But by his mechanic he thought the catcher caught it (I guess), so many things went wrong here. We all miss things. But these mechanics would put me back onto the JV field. Am I wrong?
  9. As stated above, force play at first. Run does not count. More importantly, why is a runner stealing home with a batter swinging?
  10. RLI

    I went home and read 8-4-1g; "RUNNER IS OUT........he runs outside the three-foot running lane(last half of the distance from home plate to first base), while the ball is being fielded or thrown to first base;" Reading this made me think that the act of running outside the running lane itself is in fact interference. So I starting second guessing myself after I got home last night. Fed does not require a quality throw, but it does require a throw. So Maven, just to restate, we are looking for hindrance in order to get RLI interference. Correct? Thanks for the help.
  11. RLI

    Need clarification; R1 and 0 outs, BR bunts 5-6 feet in front of home plate. Catcher comes out, fields the ball and gets the out at first base. However, the runner was clearly running out of the runners lane (in fair territory). FED Rules Should I call the interference immediately or wait for the outcome of the throw/play? I am asking because R1 tried to go 1st to 3rd and was also thrown out at third. Thanks in advance!
  12. I've looked from both angles and have the slow motion perspective on this play. The catcher gave a path to the plate and the runner did not take it. The angle from 3rd base dugout shows the plate completely inside and the catcher pulling his right foot back to give the open path to home plate. In FED, maybe obstruction, all other play stands, OUT.
  13. Grayhawk, I was watching this game from the stands. I still have a son playing in HS, but never do his games. But if this ever happens to me, I wanted to be prepared. I like your verbiage. Still using your old shin guards by the way, made a slight modification to them. The hard plastic now sit closer to the top of my plate shoes.
  14. Eastern part of Oklahoma. Based out of Tulsa. They can DH for any player in our area.
  15. NFHS Rules; DH in 7 hole for catcher, pitcher in 9 hole. 6th inning, coach enters the DH into the game to pitch. So, I'm thinking the catcher is scratched and as a starter he has re-entry privileges. However, the catcher remains on defense and the (former) pitcher goes to the dugout. Since the catcher and (former DH/new pitcher) are both batting in the 7th hole, I don't think this is a proper substitution. I was there watching and no one said a word that I could hear. The DH (new pitcher) continued batting in the 7th hole and the catcher never came up to bat, the old pitcher continued in the 9th spot. Now, the 9 hole did strike out, so maybe this is why no one ever said anything, but I still think this was handled wrong. I think the catcher should have gone to the bench and would not be available until the new pitcher was replaced. A sub could be made for the old pitcher and became the catcher, batting in the 9th spot. The way I understand the HS DH rule, 2 players doing 1/2 of the duty as a player. Once one does the other, then that player is now in the batting order, solo. Re-entry rule applies to both, but must re-enter in the same batting order. So finally my question, should the umpire not allowed the catcher to remain on the field? Or is this something the opposing team must protest?