Jump to content

Register or Sign In to remove these ads

VolUmp

Members
  • Content count

    1,011
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    7

Everything posted by VolUmp

  1. Batter's Box

    PROTECTIVE GEAR. And the catcher stood closer to 25 feet back. Caught every pitch on “first bound..”
  2. Batter's Box

    BPA 12u Tournament OBR with a few safety mods. had a coach that was livid tonight who insisted that the part of the foul line that cuts through the batter's box is not "Fair Territory." Here is my question ... so please don't think I'm asking a question to insult anyone: in 2017, on a bunt play, there is no point along the foul line from the back corner of the plate to the Home Run Wall where a bunted or batted ball touched fair by a player or stopped right on the foul line is not fair and live. I was asked how long that's been the case. (Instead of answering "always," I said "for about 160 years.") Has anyone who is a historian with OBR known of a time that this was not the case? I'm not talking about a bunt that touches the batter in the fair portion of the box. I believe that has always been considered a foul ball by tradition and/or interpretation. So,. has there been a stretch of time that if a bunt landed in the fair portion of the batter's box (or on the foul line) that is was considered foul?
  3. How in the world can you change that call?

    OK ... all points taken. What I learned from this is ... those sources "quoting" Wolf who had not spoken to him directly cannot be trusted. Those who accurately (on a recording) quoted him as saying he talked himself into changing the call were accurate. That brings me back to what I thought happened from the very beginning in real time, which is very disappointing. 1) Grandy argued for something that he knew didn't happen. 2) Wolf had his confidence shaken and "appeased" Grandy and Roberts. 3) Winters allowed the poor procedure to continue. I absolutely don't believe U3 or U1 "saw" a tip that didn't happen. 4) Forget my assertion that they should be fined. It just plain sucks. 5) I believe in the adage, "Tell it all, Tell it now, Tell it yourself," which is what Wolf did right after the game. Kudos for Wolf.
  4. Batter's Box

    Now that's very interesting, Rich ... so ... just like today, when a batted ball touches 1st, 2nd or 3rd base, which makes the ball automatically fair (even if it bounces out of play), home plate used to be the treated the same way. I can see how that makes sense. I wonder what changed that rule? Perhaps too many times a batted ball hit the plate, spun backwards,. and played "pinball" among the batter, catcher, and PU?
  5. Fair portion of Batter's Box

    I had a coach that was livid tonight who insisted that the part of the foul line that cuts through the batter's box is not "Fair Territory." Here is my question ... so please don't think I'm asking a question to insult anyone: in 2017, on a bunt play, there is no point along the foul line from the back corner of the plate to the Home Run Wall where a bunted or batted ball touched fair by a player or stopped right on the foul line is not fair and live. I was asked how long that's been the case. (Instead of answering "always," I said "for about 160 years." Has anyone who is a historian with OBR know of a time that this was not the case? I'm not talking about a bunt that touches the batter in the fair portion of the box. I believe that has always been considered a foul ball by tradition and/or interpretation. So,. has there been a stretch of time that if a bunt landed in the fair portion of the batter's box (or on the foul line) that is was considered foul?
  6. How in the world can you change that call?

    May I ask what the hell is the difference?
  7. How in the world can you change that call?

    Please cite the post game crew comments that would lead to this conclusion. I think you got this wrong. OK. I’m back to my original post. CHICAGO TRIBUNE: Oct 17 “Granderson argued with Wolf he nicked the ball for a foul, and Dodgers manager Dave Roberts asked the umpires to confer. They did, and without the aid of a review, the call was changed to a foul ball. “After talking with the crew (I was told) the ball did not necessarily bounce, but it hit the ground the same time as (it hit) the mitt,” Wolf told a pool reporter. “After hearing that, then I heard two distinct separate sounds. And after hearing from the crew that the ball did not bounce — it did hit the ground but it did not bounce — I basically talked myself into ‘He did foul tip it.’ ... And after looking at it, I was dead wrong. I talked myself into the whole thing.” I’m done. Wolf screwed up badly. At least he quelled things by admitting it.
  8. How in the world can you change that call?

    Yes, he should have. No, he didn’t. Just like Doug Eddings shouldn’t have called a strike with a fist bang, followed by a 2nd fist bang (presumably OUT) with AJ at the plate, then later cop out with, “I never called him out. I’m open to reviewing my mechanics. To make them clearer.” At least Wolf said, “I blew the call” rights after the game when he saw the replay. Eddings screwed up and couldn’t admit it — period. He 2nd guessed himself only because AJ ran hard to 1B.
  9. How in the world can you change that call?

    See my lengthy post (about 3 posts above this). I thought as you did until I read all the comments the day after game 4 by Wolf, Roberts, Maddon, and others. Wolf initially had a foul-tip and by definition, a catch .... and Strike 3.
  10. How in the world can you change that call?

    Not only a chance, but precisely what happened.
  11. How in the world can you change that call?

    OK, Law. I deserve the “spanking.” The day after, I read all the details of the initial call, the requests for help, the conference with the crew, overturning it, the ejection, and Wolf admitting he blew the call. At least I’ll say … I was starting my complaints with a false premise. Wolf ruled that strike 3 was a foul tip, and thus, caught by Contreras. Grandy, therefore, was not pleading that he contacted the ball … he was pleading that the “tip” was not caught. Wolf, evidently, granted Grandy and Roberts’ request to seek help. So … Wolf was asking if the pitch was caught after the supposed tip, and he got enough “NOs” that he changed the call from Strike 3 on a Foul Tip to a simple Foul Ball. I get it now. Wolf was also working from a false premise. There is no doubt that seeing the pitch hit the ground from 100+ feet away is more likely than seeing/hearing a slight tip from 100+ feet away. I understand that Maddon had replay available to him (and the crew legally didn’t). I understand that Maddon imploring them to look at the replay on the Jumbotron was futile since it’s not a reviewable call, and it was just unfortunate that Wolf missed the “phantom” tip which made the non-catch moot with Puig occupying 1B. Yes, this has to become reviewable by the crew — not necessarily a Manager’s challenge — and just like with the NFL, once you view replay, you can look at all aspects — not just the “original” reason for going to replay. (This would have fixed everything in this instance). There’s something very wrong about the institution of replay, then expanding replay over time, but then putting a choke collar on it for a call such as this. When they use replay to review a call of ball or strike that was not swung on, THEN I’ll say that AI has ruined the essence of the game. I don’t wanna see balls and strikes reviewed, and I don’t was to see a robot with an infrared strike zone calling balls and strikes. Karl Ravich annoys me that he is petitioning for this. Best wishes to the Dodgers. I’ll say that they owned the Cubs this NLCS.
  12. Cross up or deke

    Yes, Contreras is a converted catcher, but he leap-frogged everyone else last year, including Miggy and David Ross, both of whom have rifle arms. Rivera, Cantana, and even Avila gave him no real competition behind the plate. Please don't make it sound like he's a work in progress unless you say he's extremely fast along that process. He's been THE MAN the past full two seasons.
  13. The guys on MLB Network claim that nowadays, when a Manager is ejected and goes to the clubhouse, there are plenty of ways for him to continue to manage the game. I can certainly figure out how to do that without texting — knowing there are bench players who can serve as info mules between the acting Manager (Usually the bench Coach) and the ejected Manager — but does MLB really not care all that much to police it ... unless, of course, your name is Bobby Valentine, and you shove it their face?
  14. How in the world can you change that call?

    There are already other forums and blogs with writers stating that this play was not reviewable, but that "replays were inconclusive anyway." Are you kidding me? The first angle showed that there was clearly no contact with the bat. The 2nd and 3rd angles were almost as good, but redundant. Does anyone here think replays were anything other than thoroughly convincing that Grandy just whiffed?
  15. How in the world can you change that call?

    Jim ... it was appeasement ... I'm agreeing with you. My "Wow" is one of unbelief in the lack of balls and professionalism in the crew. And I'll say crew, because any one of them could have prevented this.
  16. How in the world can you change that call?

    I suggested fining him ... not suspending him ...
  17. How in the world can you change that call?

    Exactly ... there would have been three sounds ... How does Granderson get away with that kind of an acting job? He knew more certainly than any of us prior to the replay that he whiffed. How about instituting a penalty for a player starting the whining that led to a blown call? If the NBA can have a FLOP rule (and I think it's a $5,000 fine), then MLB can come up with something similar. Fine the cc for allowing this to be overturned and fine Granderson for lying through his teeth. "Well, I thought I made contact" is total BS.
  18. WS crew..

    Why do the players get to vote and publicly state who they feel is the worst MLB umpire every year, but one off-the-cuff conversation between guys who really don't have an ax to grind with each other, and probably really ARE on good terms (as West stated) gets West suspended for 3 games? Ridiculous double standard. West would never have said it if it weren't absolutely true. It's also interesting that the players will have a huge percentage of them voting an umpire among the worst, and an equally huge percentage voting the same umpire among the best. That just cannot be. That's how good of umpires the players are. Very consistent .....
  19. Cross up or deke

    I'm not sure I buy that it was a deke ... the deke I always see at the MLB level on TV and the HS level in person is a catcher setting up outside and scratching the dirt to the inside with his mitt.
  20. How in the world can you change that call?

    Wow. Appeased Roberts? Joe Maddon has an almost as good demeanor as Roberts ... so you go to your partner to appease? Then face the warranted wrath of Maddon? In an elimination game? My personal rule has always been ... if I'm asked for help, I'm 100% behind you, 100% encouraging you to overturn, or I simply smile and state, "I can't help you." NOTHING else needs to be said. It has to be crystal clear that you missed it to overturn it. I'm not gonna get involved otherwise, and I don't expect you to get involved in my call unless you can swear by it. Obviously, whoever was at 3B tonight could not have been 100%, and when he finally sees the replay he'll be eating crow for days. It matters not that Grandy K'd on the next pitch. MIKE WINTERS, as the Crew Chief, should not have allowed this, and he should be fined. Not just reprimanded, but fined. If he's not, then it's a travesty. If we are using replay in the spirit in which it was intended, then non-reviewable plays have to stand as called unless at least two umpires can say, "100% ... he dropped the ball ... he blocked the bag ... (or in this case) it hit the bat." It wasn't that long ago that Dustin Pedroia was called out at 2B in the post-season on a double play ball that was dropped, and the 2B ump called "OUT - transfer." The crew got together and all five unanimously agreed that the pivot man never had it, so they overturned the call. I'm not saying it has to be unanimous, but with six guys on the field, I would think that two have to be 100% certain to overturn a call. Otherwise, the proper thing to do is stick with the call ... like we've done for 150 years.
  21. Tagging on fly

    Yes. I'm sure.
  22. RUNNER ATTEMPTING TO KNOCK BALL OUT OF GLOVE

    BAD: WORSE — This got Fick released: During Game 6 of the 2003 NLDS between the Cubs and Braves: Robert Fick (Braves) slapped the catching arm and glove of Eric Karros (Cubs 1st Baseman) as Karros reached for an infield throw. INT was called, Fick was removed from the game, Braves front office fined him $25K, Bobby Cox also fined him an undisclosed amount, and just after the Braves were eliminated from the postseason, Fick was released. **And I stand corrected. Fick did play for four more years with various teams.
  23. Tagging on fly

    Welcome to the Crazy World of Umpire-Empire, BadBrad. Guest ftb2ss and Maven pretty well gave you the same and correct answers. You were largely correct, but didn't get all the details and verbiage technically correct. noumpere evidently forgot which forum he was in and gave you rather brash answers without much explanation (known as "flaming" a newcomer) instead of welcoming you. Ask The Umpire is indeed the forum where flaming is not permitted (or if common sense ruled, shouldn't be permitted) and anyone — even newbies — should feel comfortable asking any question about the game. What noumpere means in his first point by, "No, he didn't." is ... on a fly ball, unless it drops to the ground (thus, becoming a ground ball), R1 (That's the runner on 1B at the time of pitch) cannot establish 2nd base as his on a steal. To do so, he must "tag up" (re-touch) 1B at the moment of the catch (loosely stated) and then advance to 2nd safely to establish 2B as his. Otherwise, you might say he's just 90' from the established base that's his ... which is 1B. If the ball is not caught, then he is forced to give up his right to 1B and attempt to establish 2B as his. There are, of course, scenarios where a force can be removed, but that's the general gist of it. In your OP (Original Post) from ALCS Game 2, the ball was caught, so R1 was in peril until he retreated all the way back to re-touch 1B. And while we are talking about this scenario, it's worth noting another caveat that could occur. Suppose R1 was stealing on the pitch, slid into 2B, then retreated half way back to 1B thinking the ball would be caught, but then the ball drops to the ground. Even though R1 has already touched 2B, once he retreated, that force was reinstated. So, if F9 (Right Fielder) throws to F6 (Shortstop), F6 need only step on 2B to force out R1 ... just like a routine infield grounder.
  24. Hit em with the old 7.13(2)

    Of course not. Malicious Contact. I assume you were being facetious. If the Schwarber to Contreras play is truly legal by NCAA standards, then the runner has no options other than to do what Culbertson did and try to reach through the catcher's ankles.
  25. Backswing INT vs foul ball situation

    Does the Bugs Bunny clip depict an entirely new definition of an Immaculate Inning? 1 pitch = 3 outs? And as many times as I've seen this clip, I forgot each batter went righty-lefty-righty ..... I've already thought of the need for a new definition of an "Immaculate Inning" in the minor leagues if a pitcher throws less than 9 consecutive strikes with the "stay in the box" rule ..... Also: I've changed my mind after carefully considering all the evidence and discussion provided. I agree it's a batted ball. And this is perhaps the strongest park of your (Maven's) argument: Anything that came after that was irrelevant. You had me at "STFU."
×