Register or Sign In to remove these ads

VolUmp

Members
  • Content count

    579
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    5

Everything posted by VolUmp

  1. Unlike some who are hell-bent on twisting and dissecting your words, my answer is YES ... if you let this action go, it will indeed be more difficult to punish the opposing team for something similar but more egregious. I dislike/disagree with plenty of FED rules, but it really does a disservice to everyone when you start picking and choosing what to enforce and what not to enforce. Just yesterday, a catcher came out and had the two-piece mask and skullcap combo. No ear coverage. I told him to hustle back and get a legal helmet. He said, "My coach lets me use this." i walked over to the coach and said, "Coach, you need to get a legal helmet for your catcher to use. What he's got isn't legal. And then … he said it … "We were told it's umpire's discretion, and he's been using it all season." "Who told you it's umpire's discretion?" "The first umpire we had this year." Well ... I corrected him, but what really sucks is I also believe him. I believe it was an umpire who told him erroneously that it's up to us ... and the 10-15 references in the Rules and Casebooks including the inset image on page 13 of the RB (1-5-4) aren't really to be taken seriously (not to mention the test question that says, "If the umpire feels the equipment is safe, the catcher may use it even if it does not meet the specifications laid out in the rulebook.") I don't really like this rule, plenty of MLB catchers wear the combo, but we are basically under oath to uphold the FED rules — most especially the safety rules and sportsmanship rules. If our State Director caught wind of an umpire knowingly ignoring this rule, we'd be taken to task over it. BOTTOM LINE If a kid throws a helmet or bat in disgust, it's not up to us to decide at whom he's disgusted. We get told every year the diamond is an extension of the classroom. If a kid threw a textbook across the room and hit the wall with it, no one would shrug it off and say, "He's just emotional — he didn't do well on the last quiz."
  2. Hmmmm .... If an MLB pitcher throws 5 perfect innings and then the game is stopped for thunderstorms, how is his feat recorded? Perfect Game? *Perfect Game? W? I'm sure it has happened. Edit: Weather-shortened contests in which a team has no baserunners and games in which a team reaches first base only in extra innings do not qualify as perfect games under the present definition.
  3. … And Little League, and several other brands of baseball who endeavor to rid the game of fun and drama.
  4. No, Elk, No. You conveniently skipped 2/3 of page 29 and quoted the wrong penalty. 3-3-1 is clearly broken down into 3 sections, which should be memorized by all offials: A) Warnable Infractions B) Mostly Warnable Infractions that in egregious (major) cases can be ejectable. C) Automatic Ejectable Infractions. Nothing in your post (OP) sounds egregious or major. Ignorant? Sure. Egregious? Major? Absolutely not. The correct Penalty is: PENALTY: The umpire shall warn the offender unless the offense is judged to be major, in which case an ejection shall occur. What you had was a perfect case of RESTRICTING both the AC for leaving the box to object, and the HC (guilty by association and responsible for said AC's behavior). You even emphasized this above in red. If what you described is considered to be MAJOR in your mind, I can promise you that you wouldn't last a week around here. You would be banished to the world of JV (with no partner) and Middle School.
  5. 1) Your Assignor should have known and should have told you what kind of a playoff game this was. Sounds like two private schools that don't have enough players to field a Varsity team, so they will use 12-18 year olds. 2) F1 need no disengage at all to throw to 3rd. 3) I don't see how you ejected the 1BC, since by rule, he should have been restricted to the dugout, along with the HC. You make no mention of him saying or doing anything that would warrant an EJ. Come out of the box to object? That's a restriction only. There's actually nowhere in FED written or unwritten that a HC cannot question or object to a balk. He can't delay the game, but he can question it.
  6. Here's the rest of the story. Don Hoak ... a one-time teammate of Jackie Robinson for two years ... loved to find loopholes in the OBR book. For decades, there was no rule that stated, "runners must retouch their bases after a foul ball." So, Don Hoak figured out that he could take an 89-foot lead after a foul ball awaiting the ball to be put back in play ... but he never actually got away with it. The umpires had overheard some discussion that he had planned to test this non-rule. He tested it, they approached him and said, "OK ... you made your point ... now get back to 1st Base ... we're not allowing this to happen (9.01c). Soon afterwards, the rule was formally created. THEN ... the rule was relaxed (in interpretation manuals) that as long as runners returned to the vicinity of their bases, they have satisfied the rule ... they don't technically have to kick the base, and therefore, there is no appeal, and therefore, there is no penalty. It is difficult, however, to get upset with a coach who INSISTS that the rule book says X (but he hasn't heard of the interpretation). That's a coach who has at least read the rule book which is an extremely rare find. Don and Jackie were also largely responsible for the creation of the INTERFERENCE rule that states, "If a player allows a batted ball to hit him with the obvious intent to break up a double play ... " This was another loophole they exposed for a while by kicking the ball intentionally when it appeared to be a tailor-made DP ball.
  7. Plenty of High School Coaches and Catchers (and yes, some High School Umpires) don't know this simple truth. I got asked this very day by a catcher, "Didn't that ball hit the plate?" ... to which I said, "Yes Sir" ... to which he said nothing ... with that glazed look that says, "I thought that made it foul, but I guess I don't know the rule ... "
  8. This may have been as simple as the ball bounced off the catcher or catcher's gear after hitting the plate and then rolling forward ... and then GuestDavidJ heard the words, "Catcher was in foul territory" without hearing the full explanation. Not saying that happened ... saying it COULD have happened, and that kind of miscommunication happens all the time. What pi$$es me off to no end is when I give a crystal clear explanation to a coach and then I hear him misquoting me to his cronies in the dugout later. We're supposed to "turn a deaf ear" to that crap, but it's not easy.
  9. No, I don't ... because that is a matter of common sense, and the writers and publisher of the FED Books allow hundreds of errors to remain each year with no interest in correcting them ... same with test questions. I know. I wrote to the editor with an offer to overhaul everything free of charge. He thanked me and said, "They are not interested in making corrections." Elliott Hopkins. Our Educator. Carelessly throwing a bat and deliberately throwing a bat are two of the most worthless adjectives FED could have chosen to describe two infractions that have penalties ranging from nothing to an ejection. a couple of more words or phrases could clear it up once and for all.
  10. The rules REQUIRE an EJ. Perhaps you need to re-read the rule. YES, I agree with context being considered ... but the final six actions under 3-3-1 are not allowing ... they are requiring ejections. I called a very heated district tournament game about 3 years ago where the best player swung three times and whiffed three times with bases loaded for the third out. He flung his bat to the dugout rail with nets. There was no one within 25 feet of the bat. He couldn't have possibly been angry/frustrated with anyone other than himself. Even if you play the safety card, I would say that does not apply. He knew he threw it where it couldn't hurt anyone. DO YOU THINK THERE WOULD HAVE BEEN ANY JUSTIFICATION ... ANY CONTEXT ... ANY "SPIRIT" OF RULE 3-3-1 L that could have let this player out of an Ejection? Quite simply, no. The PU would have been heavily reprimanded and probably been prevented from progressing further into the post season had he not made the ejection ... REGARDLESS of what the other team did. They were so happy to pitch out of serious trouble that they may have let it go. So what? There are certain rules you can turn a deaf ear or a blind eye to or use judgment to mitigate the penalty. A helmet thrown to the backstop or a bat thrown to the netting are not examples of that.
  11. You don't have a choice here. This isn't a judgment call. It's like asking you to bend the rules on strike three because a kid is emotional. FED Rule 3-3-1 states the six actions that are automatic ejections. Throwing equipment is one of them. Period. Every official and coach should have these two pages memorized. Don't ever answer personal questions like, "Have you ever worked with kids?" Totally irrelevant question. Totally irrelevant answer. Only relevance is to what you add to the EJ report. If the coach doesn't like the rule, there is a forum where he can seek to get it changed.
  12. FED 3-3-1 i. A coach, player, substitute, attendant or other bench personnel shall not be outside the designated dugout (bench) or bullpen area if not a batter, runner, on-deck batter, in the coach's box, or one of the nine players on defense. PENALTY: The umpire shall warn the offender unless the offense is judged to be major, in which case an ejection shall occur. Does anyone enforce this (when on defense) for Assistant Coaches? For Head Coaches?
  13. Thank you. I stand extremely corrected.
  14. Pay

    I don't understand the question, as every school pays the same rate.
  15. Pay

    Sounds like the flow chart works completely differently here. Schools cannot post a game on Arbiter — they have to email a game "request" for officials to our Assignor, who then posts the game with officials pre-accepted. I actually agree with this because otherwise, too many of our guys would just decline the games and say, "Oops ... forgot to block that night ... " So, likewise, if there is a schedule change or a rainout, the school is required to call the Assignor who then can make the change on Arbiter, but as I stated above, often I'll get a call saying, "School A canceled at 7:00, I'm moving you to school B at 6:00 with a different partner ... call John Doe." In the interest of time, none of the changes will ever be reflected in Arbiter. The only problem that causes is, you cannot pull up an accurate history of all the games you worked for income or tax purposes.
  16. Perhaps it's a major POI (Interest?) in your region, but not a POE in the FED book. Not at all.
  17. You're confused because you're assuming. We do not allow assistants out of the dugouts while on defense ever. We allow the Head Coach to sit just outside the dugout on a bucket and call pitches. If it ever becomes a problem for any reason, we move them inside.
  18. The way I interpret the FED rule is, if the reason a player slides is because of a fake tag, you have much more ammunition to award him an additional base… In this case, 3B. Clearly, in this video, the runner was committed to sliding, and the fake tag did not "cost him a base," nor did it "put him at risk of injury."
  19. Pay

    Tennessee. 1) Games initially assigned via Arbiter. 2) Make ups, schedule changes, etc. are assigned the old fashioned way with a phone call. Say yes often, work every day. Say no a few times, don't expect any more calls. AVAILABILITY is Priority #1. 3) Each school has paperwork waiting as we arrive for games and we usually revive checks within 5 days. 4) Some tournaments pay the Assignor one big check after all has been settled and we will get a single check from the Association within about two weeks. I have never heard of only being paid after the season is over. That sounds ludicrous to me. If we run into any real trouble getting money from the school, which is extremely rare, our association will indeed take over and settle it for us … sometimes even fronting us the money and collecting it afterwards from the school. If a school fails to tell our Assignor that a game has canceled or been postponed and the officials arrive to an empty field, they are required to pay half a game fee. If officials arrive at a venue, and weather prohibits the game from starting, or the home team's head coach determines the field is not playable, the school is also required to pay the officials half of a game fee.
  20. Never seen this in our area. Coaches would be laughed out of the leagues and fired.
  21. Tank, Is this the first time have had an ignorant coach, coaches, manager, posse, gang, show up at a 10u tournament and act like a bunch of idiots? There pretty much seems to be one team that ruins the day for every tournament I've called in 13 years ... from 18u down to 8u. I read your entire story — waiting for something shocking — and never found it.
  22. Sophomoric comment. I'd gladly delay the game once to not delay the game 10 times. That's a Net -9 for those scoring at home.
  23. "It is very important that you don't stink today! Have I told you boys you look great in red?" — Mr. White – Manager of The Wonders (played by Tom Hanks) THAT THING YOU DO
  24. 1) When I pregame, I always mention (if I'm the PU) that I'll be looking for OBS and INT at 2B ... you just focus on the out/safe call. That's not to say that U1 can't make the call himself, but I usually have the better view of it — especially on a double-play ball. 2) Many FED rules are meant to be punitive ... which is far different from OBR. The fact that an obstructed runner can give up his effort to advance, and therefore lose his award (OBR), doesn't sit well with FED, so they implement the AUTOMATIC minimum 1-base award on OBS. 3) I actually disagree with Maven to this degree ... I believe far more injuries result from players failing to slide than to slide. Players wrench their knees and collide with defenders all the time when they inexplicably don't slide and then try to stop on a dime. I really think the FAKE TAG penalty is more about faking a player into a slide who may otherwise have rounded the base and taken the next base. 4) To answer the OP about a non-play ... perhaps the pitcher never threw it because he saw the collision (contact) and didn't want to throw the ball away. 5) To answer Guest Eastside coach, YES ... if the defender is standing directly in the runner's path to third base, the smartest thing he can do is make some contact, and then fall to the ground, then get up and keep running. In OBR he should get the judgment call. In FED, he should get the call by rule. Scott Rolen (with the Cardinals) mastered this during the 2006 World Series by rounding 3B, running into Brandon Inge (Tigers), falling to the ground, getting up, running home, sliding in, being tagged, and called safe on OBS. Rolen knew EXACTLY what he was doing.
  25. We have two guys in our LOCAL (non-High School) Association that does everything from 6u through Middle School. They've both umpired for far longer than I and the "better to best" umpires in our association. Our Association assignor put it this way, "They both suffer from the same disease ... they don't want the responsibility and accountability of calling HS ball, so they look at the level of ball they get assigned to (mostly 12u and Middle School) as "not warranting their best efforts." They won't take a pregame seriously, they will do everything in their power to limit the number of steps they take in the field, and they stand in A and do the one thing we press every official NOT to do ... be non-commital. My favorite partner was put with one of these guys the other day for a single MS game. After watching his antics in the first inning, he called him in and flat out said, "JOHN -- you need to hustle! I have to know how to read you when you're in A. Either go out hard or commit to coming in hard, and I'll do the opposite of what I see you do. When you look like $hit, I look like $hit, and we both look like $hit. This umpire - fake name John - went to the OTHER lazy umpire - fake name Don - and told him that fake name TOM got "all over me" last game trying to impress everyone with his precise NCAA mechanics. "He's just being a pri--." Then Don went to the Assignor to share this story - taking John's side. Our Assignor has known their reputations for years, and he's decided to try to keep them together as a pair, and not subject the rest of us to it. No one has the luxury anymore to fire umpires unless, for example, they show up drunk to a game. The pay is bad, the annoying fans/parents/coaches can drive you to drink, and less than 10% of the people ever stop you and wave with a "Great Job, Mr. Blue!" We're all sick puppies to sign up for the gig I suppose.