Jump to content

basejester

Members
  • Content count

    1,454
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    6

basejester last won the day on August 13 2016

basejester had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

398 Good

About basejester

  • Birthday 02/27/1972

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male
  • Location
    Indianapolis

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
    Little League
  • Occupation
    workforce management nerd
  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    Little League up to age 18
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)

Recent Profile Visitors

6,076 profile views
  1. Common BS Comments — Translations Included

    "Looks like the strike zone will be inside today." (I don't understand the slot position.)
  2. LL Championship Plate

    I haven't heard anyone report receiving that instruction. The box is only 4" from the plate, so a pitch one inch inside the batter's box is a rulebook strike.
  3. Strike Call

    I say strike. And point.
  4. Backswing INT vs foul ball situation

    :-) No, because the intent was to strike at the pitch, and the batter was hindered from doing that. It takes a lot of speculation to determine what was really in the batter's best interest ("Well, he's been having a lot trouble with the curve ball, but the wind is blowing out . . ."), and I don't think we're asked to do that.
  5. Backswing INT vs foul ball situation

    That's true, but the way the rule works, we have to roll that all up into one intent -- to strike at or not.
  6. Backswing INT vs foul ball situation

    Here's another case to contemplate. Pitch comes inside. Batter pulls away, but the ball is on a trajectory to strike his bat. The catcher reaches up and catches the ball. Is that CI?
  7. Backswing INT vs foul ball situation

    I think that hinder (as opposed to aid) has to assume an intent. Somebody stopped a person from doing a thing he intended to do. Maybe not so much with "prevent".
  8. Backswing INT vs foul ball situation

    Hmmm. 5.05 (6.09) When the Batter Becomes a Runner . . . (b) (6.08) The batter becomes a runner and is entitled to first base without liability to be put out (provided he advances to and touches first base) when: . . . (3) The catcher or any fielder interferes with him. Definition of Terms "Defensive interference is an act by a fielder that hinders or prevents a batter from hitting a pitch." hind·er1ˈhindər/ verb create difficulties for (someone or something), resulting in delay or obstruction. I think catcher's only interfere with a batter who has intent to hit. So I would have backswing interference, dead ball, no further penalty.
  9. Backswing INT vs foul ball situation

    Foul. Intent does not factor into whether or not the ball was batted. This is the flip side of the inside pitch that hits the bat (through no effort of the batter, who might even be trying to avoid).
  10. Improper footwork on pitch

    At the risk of answering a rhetorical question, allow me to talk this through. It seems apparent to me that immediate dead ball balks are unfair to the offense, such as the case when the batter hits the home run off the pitch when the pitcher fails to stop. Agreed? It's a debatable point how much that matters, but when it does happen, it's unfortunate. Here's the actual OBR catcher's interference rule: (c) Catcher Interference (6.08) The batter becomes a runner and is entitled to first base without liability to be put out (provided he advances to and touches first base) when the catcher or any fielder interferes with him. If a play follows the interference, the manager of the offense may advise the plate umpire that he elects to decline the interference penalty and accept the play. Such election shall be made immediately at the end of the play. However, if the batter reaches first base on a hit, an error, a base on balls, a hit batsman, or otherwise, and all other runners advance at least one base, the play proceeds without reference to the interference. When the runners (including the batter-runner) attempt to advance past the base they would have been awarded, then it feels fair for them to be in jeopardy. In the NFL, there are those situations when it's apparent that the offense has a "free play" (due to penalty with the choice for the offense) and therefore make a risky downfield pass. When the defense intercepts that risky downfield pass, does it feel fair to negate that interception with the penalty?
  11. Improper footwork on pitch

    That's a significantly better rule than either the OBR one or the NFHS one. It's easy to understand, fair to the offense, and consistent with catcher's interference/obstruction.
  12. Improper footwork on pitch

    I think if we're being honest with ourselves, our opinions about rule sets are very closely related to the rules we know best. We want the knowledge we have to be valued. There are many stupid things in OBR that I've come to peace with. The stupid things about NFHS annoy me personally more, but that's not really the fault of those rules.
  13. Count the run?

    I got nothing. Because rules? Same question appeared on facebook recently. PJ Perez MiLBUM 6.3 page 55 - if home plate is missed during a time play, the umpire should immediately rule on the time play even if the runner misses the plate. The defense is required to recognize that the plate was missed. If the defense properly appeals, the umpire should reverse his prior decision and cancel the run. Even if the runner has returned to touch the plate prior to the appeal, the defense's appeal is sustained because no run may score after the third out is made. (OBR rule 5.08(a))
  14. Count the run?

    In Official Baseball Rules: 1. Yes. 2. Yes 3. No. The runner cannot correct base running errors after the third out is made. The defense, however, can appeal for an apparent 4th out.
×