Register or Sign In to remove these ads

Gfoley4

Members
  • Content count

    355
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by Gfoley4

  1. I'm going to be U3 tonight for a semifinal in a 50/70 cal ripken regional. Any tips? We're going to have a long pregame to go over everything but perhaps some of you guys have some things to mention that I'd never think of.
  2. On an umpiring note, would this have better taken at 1BLE? He has to look through the catcher to see a tag attempt. I've had to deal with similar calls in the past where catcher is over the plate like this and I'm caught behind the catcher.
  3. I think it also looks pretty bad when you just bring it up for the first time in the 8th inning of a blowout. I would bet that Beltre was in the same spot the entire game.
  4. on a thrown ball, yes
  5. For it to be ruled interference, you must judge that The B/R intentionally hindered the fielder. As for obstruction, it would be a judgment call if the fielder was in the act of fielding. If it was as close as you said between the contact and the fielder catching the ball, it sounds like he was in the act of fielding to me. Play on.
  6. LOL, I can just imagine that umpire coming back from the field and trying to give the UIC a bunch of 38 inch fungo bats
  7. wouldn't you say a trip clearly hinders him in an attempt to field it?
  8. You are correct in that there is no "automatic out" for multiple runners on the same base.
  9. It's not going to happen. You could really only "get away with it" in the eyes of the opposing team if it's a situation like this where Holliday is running around with his head cutoff. You try doing this on a ground ball to short and I guarantee that runner is getting a fastball to the back next inning.
  10. I never mentioned an instance where a fair batted ball would return the BR to the box. I mentioned a foul popup... your link was a fair popup.
  11. you are confusing me with the guest who asked the question. I simply added the comment about a situation where the batter/runner does not get first base on interference.
  12. http://www.closecallsports.com/2012/08/case-plays-infield-interference-foul.html This play has a lot of aspects, but the end result was that R1 interfered on a foul ball so the batter continued his at-bat
  13. Haha, I was wondering if I was the only person with this issue. Safari seems to work better than Chrome for me
  14. I can't tell if you're disagreeing with me about interference on a foul popup? Is the batter returning not the case? I recalled that from a past post on this very site.
  15. 1) batter gets first base and is credited with a single in the scorebook. I believe on a tailor made double play ball that hits R1 going to second, you could get two outs (batter/runner also out) on this in FED, but not in OBR unless it was "willful and deliberate" Another exception to the batter/runner getting first base would be if another runner interferes with a foul popup. Batter would just continue at-bat with another strike. 2) I'll let someone else handle this as I hardly ever do FED - but it sounds like obstruction to me.
  16. Nothing in cal ripken book about sliding head first. I believe that's a Little League rule
  17. Yep, I agree with you. Maybe there is some other verbiage in other manuals? PBUC doesn't really add anything
  18. interference by a retired runner has to be intentional? I don't think so. The only question is if this applies under the comment "If the batter or a runner continues to advance after he has been put out, he shall not by that act alone be considered as confusing, hindering or impeding the fielders." Apparently an umpire after the game was quoted as "He [Holliday] was just running the bases."
  19. ? The first sentence seems pretty applicable to the situation at hand.
  20. from the PBUC
  21. sounds very similar to this play, ruled correctly. http://m.mlb.com/cutfour/2016/05/27/180658720
  22. I noticed this play yesterday during the cubs game that was not ruled as interference. Do you agree with the call? All codes? How about if the throw was on the fair side of first, and clips the runner's arm?
  23. fielders choice
  24. agree. I only encountered this in a Babe Ruth League game a couple of weeks ago and I didn't remember to post until then. At the levels I normally do, even with a normal alignment of infielders with R1/R3 I'm usually only in B for 1 pitch while the runner easily takes second