Jump to content

Register or Sign In to remove these ads

Gfoley4

Members
  • Content count

    428
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

64 Neutral

More information about you

  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)

Recent Profile Visitors

3,210 profile views
  1. My thoughts on the 2017 World Series

    Ehh, I'm going to have to disagree that Miller's zone was good. There were some awful called strikes well off the plate inside to righties, and it forced people to start swinging at unhittable pitches because it would be called a strike. I mean just look at the first three pitches included in of https://www.fangraphs.com/blogs/incredulous-responses-to-bill-millers-strike-zone/
  2. Obstrution???

    it's going to depend on how contact and hinderance there was. If the play was really that close, I'd say that he should have been awarded third base, but it's a judgement call for the umpire. He must decide to place runners to which ever base would have nullified the act of obstruction.
  3. Obstruction Q

    under all rulesets he would be awarded 2nd. OBR and NCAA this would be type A/1 obstruction, which requires at least one base. is an example, although at 2nd base not first
  4. Granted I'm a Cubs fan, but that's complete bullSH*# that they ruled that Granderson strikeout a foul ball.
  5. Who killed the ball in the ivy

    seems like a good call to me. Who knows if F7 pulled the same ball out!
  6. Last time by and other fun stuff

    how was it a dead ball appeal? The first attempted appeal was during continuous action, and was originally ruled out and later changed to safe.
  7. Last time by and other fun stuff

    they reviewed the play and ruled that he was safe at first. Judge, being a smart base runner, took off when they put the ball back into play and was closely tagged out as an attempted stolen base at second. Sorry, I didn't watch the full clip and assumed that final part was in the play.
  8. https://www.clippituser.tv/c/nwmgxk Am I correct in that if Judge beat the throw to second, he would be safe even though there was a tag on the original attempted appeal at first? Because that was not an obvious appeal of second
  9. What's the Count?

    don't think he was consulting. He was indicating the count in the direction of the batter who had wondered down to first base. As a Cubs fan, I just wished it happened with a runner on first, so that he might have been tempted to wander off the base.
  10. Hit em with the old 7.13(2)

    not to be too far off topic, but quintana was pretty much toast at that point anyway.
  11. Backswing INT vs foul ball situation

    *shrug* I'd say foul ball since it hit the bat
  12. Backswing interference?

    for your flopping point: it has worked before in the playoffs.
  13. American Legion Rule Changes

    I don't like it. A 9 inning can just be so much different than a 7 inning game. I liked playing in legion playoffs much more than high school playoffs.
  14. Backswing interference?

    Did they blow this call in the Cubs Nats game? Situation: dropped third strike but the batter swung through and hit the catcher in the mask slightly. Cubs eventually scored a run and the batter runner advance down to second on a bad throw.
×