Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

Richvee

Established Member
  • Content count

    3,765
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    50

Everything posted by Richvee

  1. ....Looks like the 2018 FED powers that be forgot this rule is also mentioned in 8-4-2(h) 1. 1. If a batter-runner safely touches first base and then overslides or overruns it, except on a base on balls, he may immediately return to first base without liability of being tagged out, provided he did not attempt to run or feint to second..... ooops!
  2. Two Batter Interference ?'s

    Just make sure to mute it...Or add you're voice-over to it!
  3. End of game situation

    We need 2.21.1 SIT B to give the ruling with 2 outs. *2.21.1 SITUATION B: R3 is on third and R2 on second. B4 hits down the leftfield line. R3 scores, but R2 maliciously runs over F5 after R3 touches home plate. RULING: Interference because of malicious contact. The ball is dead immediately. R3's run counts because he scored before the interference. R2 is called out and ejected because of malicious contact. The batter-runner shall be returned to the base he last legally touched before interference occurred.
  4. Why in the world is Manfred pressing this issue so hard. He's jeopardizing years of player/owner "peace" over a stupid freaking rule that might shave 2-3 minutes off an average game......maybe......Does he think someone who doesn't like baseball is going to to suddenly say, "Hey, baseball has a pitch clock now, I'm going to watch baseball now" This does nothing for the good of the game, player/owner relations, or getting the A.D.D. millennials interested in the game. This guy's trouble.
  5. End of game situation

    Agree. FED cites 8-4-2 m. passes an unobstructed preceding runner before such runner is out (including awarded bases) *8.4.2 SITUATION L: With two outs, R2 on second base and R1 on first base, B5 singles. B5 passes R1 between first and second base (a) just before R2 touches the plate or (b) just after R2 touches the plate. RULING: In (a), the run does not count, while in (b), it does count. A runner is called out at the moment he passes a preceding runner, but the ball remains live.
  6. Batter interference?? Who is out??

    Exactly the problem I have with this interp. If the runner starts running AFTER the fact, kill it when the runner takes off and return him. Yhat seems to be much more justifiable to me. I actually don't see this much different than a runner stealing, ball fouled off, and then F4 gets in the way of the running R1, and calling OBS and awarding R1 2B.
  7. Two Batter Interference ?'s

    Never, ever, believe an announcer when they start talking about rules
  8. Batter interference?? Who is out??

    We've discussed this very scenario, and the consensus was yes, call the batter out for BI, and return the runner. Personally, I have real hard time with penalizing an alert, hustling runner's team with an INT call that wouldn't be called anything if he was asleep, slow,or lazy, trotting back to his bag.
  9. Batter interference?? Who is out??

    However, after further review, if this is indeed what FED was trying to say, why didn't they just make THIS the case play??
  10. Batter interference?? Who is out??

    In 7.3.5 SIT F I think all they are trying to tell us is, if this happens, and for example, F2 retrieves the ball and throws out BR at 1B, meanwhile, R3 runs home on the throw and is safe, it would not be allowed because the ball is dead immediately. Not your "run of the mill" BI where if F2 records an out on the first throw we ignore the BI. I think I have a fairly decent grasp of how to rule on these in FED. The situation I'd like to see an official interp on would be a situation such as this... R1. Count irrelevant.. Batter swings and misses. His follow through hits F2 pretty hard on the shoulder, but F2 remains in control of the baseball, or it falls right in front of him. R1 took a normal lead, and normal secondary lead on the pitch, and after the pitch, doing nothing more than leading off 1B or maybe even walking back towards the bag.. R1 never attempts to steal, never tried running after the batter's follow trough hit F2....... Does FED want a BI call here? I don't think so, since he didn't hinder any play. But now I'm not sure..
  11. Batter interference?? Who is out??

    7-3-5 (c) clearly mentions "A play on a runner" Interfere with the catcher's fielding or throwing........ ...c. making any other movement, including follow-through interference, which hinders actions at home plate or the catcher's attempt to play on a runner I'm pretty sure a runner needs to be running, or F2 in the act of attempting a pickoff to get BI on follow through contact. 7.3.5 SITUATION B: With one out and R1 on first base, B3 swings and misses making contact with F2 on his follow-through. This action interferes with F2’s throw to second base in an effort to put out advancing R1. RULING: B3 is out and R1 is returned to first base.
  12. New umpire getting started with his kids

    Welcome. Really cool to see the three of you go at this as a family. Cherish the times! As for equipment, our equipment forums and ump-attire.com will lead you in the right direction. A for umpiring, read the rulebooks. Can't stress that enough. I know when I started umpiring, I had played baseball my whole life and thought I knew the rules....well, there's a lot more there than you may think. read, read, read, then come on here, ask questions, but try to find the answers for yourself first.It's the best way to learn. The better grasp you have on the rulebook, the more confident you'll be on the field. Good luck, and have fun!!
  13. Good Call Blue Intro

    Also the last great call that REALLY mattered. Last season without replay. So his call was standing..right or wrong, and he nailed it.
  14. Cold Weather hoods

    I see @JimKirk has 2 styles of cold weather hoods. The Manzella is on closeout, and the McDavid are the same price. Is one longer than the other for ease of tucking into a compression shirt? Any other differences?
  15. Reebok Field Magistrate plate shoes?

    My favorites also.
  16. Batter interference?? Who is out??

    In FED only the umpire should judge if the interference prevented F2 from possibly throwing out the stealing runner. If the umpire judges F2 had no chance to throw out the runner, sans INT, the runner is returned, and no additional out is charged other than the strikeout of the batter. [Personal note] In actuality, for me, R1 better be almost standing on the next base when F2 catches the ball, or I'm getting the out. R1 and R2, double steal, the runner F2 was trying to make a play on is out, the other runner returns TOP. If the umpire cannot determine which runner F2 was going to play on before he was interfered with, the runner closest to home is out. 7-3-5 penalty..........If the pitch is a third strike and in the umpire's judgment interference prevents a possible ­double play (additional outs), two may be ruled out *7.3.5 SITUATION D: With R1 on first base and R2 on second base, one out and two strikes on B4, R1 and R2 attempt a double steal. B4 swings and misses the pitch and interferes with F2's attempt to throw out either R1 or R2. RULING: If in the umpire's judgment F2 could have made a putout on the runner(s) but cannot determine where the play was going to be made because of the nature of the interference, the umpire will then call out the runner nearest home plate, which isR2.
  17. 2018 POE

    Give me a complex math problem, and I'll solve it long before I can memorize a paragraph. I was never very good at verbatim memorization.
  18. 2018 POE

    Our very own @Kevin_K can recite the speech without the card. It is impressive.
  19. 2018 POE

    If one has to read a prepared speech, Pa's got a lot better one. You're knocking out sportsmanship and the equipment issue in less time.
  20. 2018 POE

    Yep. It's a Jersey thing..For all sports. The kids who play multiple sports must hear it so much, we must sound like the adults in a Peanuts cartoon when we recite it.
  21. 2018 POE

    We still have to give the whole speech... "There will be no tolerance for negative statements or actions between opposing players and coaches. This includes Taunting, Baiting, Berating Opponents, Trash-Talking or actions which ridicule or cause embarrassment to them. Any Verbal, Written or Physical Conduct related to Race, Gender, Ethnicity, Disability, Sexual Orientation or Religion shall NOT be tolerated, could subject the violator to Ejection, and may result in Penalties being assessed against your Team. If such comments are heard a penalty will be assessed immediately. We have been instructed not to issue warnings. It is Your responsibility (Coaches and Captains) to remind your team of this Policy."
  22. Safe or Out

    Like I said, as PU I'm only offering up info on a blatant miss like an out call on a tag with a clearly dropped ball. The timing of the tag, or the start to 2B by BR is judgement for U1 and I have nothing to add. If U1 wants info from me on stuff like that, I have nothing.
  23. Double steal

    Thanks maven. That makes the FED interp valid for sure. Still, I disagree in principle and fairness. In such cases, there's virtually no penalty for a runner interfering in a rundown other than that runner losing his right to try to avoid being put out. At the end of the day, it's just an out and the lead runner is still on 2nd. Consider this. R1, R2. Double steal. Throw to 3B skips a little past F5. R2 takes off for home, R1 for 3B. R2 gets in a rundown while R1 reaches 3B, the R2 slaps the ball out of F2's hand applying the tag. Not only is there virtually no penalty for the action of R2, the offense has now moved the lead runner from 2B to 3B on a the play. That said, it's a FED difference I wasn't aware of and now I know. Always learning
  24. Double steal

    Wow! Thanks @Senor Azul. I 100% disagree with that interp. FED rules say the same thing as the others. I don't see how the powers that be can interpret it this way. (8-2-9) In the event of interference, a runner returns to the base he had legally reached at the time of the interference. . (8-2-8) A runner acquires the right to the proper unoccupied base if he touches it before he is out. He is then entitled to this base until he is put out, or until he legally touches the next base while it is unoccupied (8-2-8a) If two runners are on the same base, at the same time and both are tagged, the following runner is declared out. ^^^ That tells me even FED says the following runner has not legally acquired the base if the preceding runner has not touched the next base.
  25. Safe or Out

    The only way I'm giving U1 any info as the PU here is if he calls the runner out and I see the ball laying on the ground that U1 obviously didn't see. I'm not getting involved in his judgement call of tag/no tag, nor his judgement of if BR made a move towards 2B. If I'm PU and DC comes to me, I'm pointing at my partner saying "That's his call". If DC comes to ME as U1, I'm telling him that's my call unless I see PU giving me the "I've got info you need sign" (pregamed every time with me). And if he has something, it better be something like 'You called him out on the tag and the ball was on the ground". It better not be "You called him safe and I think F3 tagged him" That's not PU's business here.
×