Jump to content

jjskitours

Members
  • Content count

    332
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    2

jjskitours last won the day on February 28 2016

jjskitours had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

15 Neutral

More information about you

  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    High School Baseball Web
  1. Rundown between 1st and 2nd

    I was just told that the PU comes down in foul territory to take that end of the rundown. I believe it was stated that he sets up 2nd base extended. Can someone confirm this is the correct mechanic under the 2-man system. I've always come down in fair territory and worked from the inside of the base line and always felt I had a good angle on a tag of runner coming back to 1st. If what I was told is correct, please explain why it is preferred. Hard to believe he could see a backside tag from foul territory and also would be more vulnerable to an errant throw.
  2. Game winning home run

    The bases are loaded with two outs. The score is tied in the last inning when B6 hits a grand slam home run over the fence. R1 thinking the home run automatically wins the game, leaves the base line and heads toward the bench. Is R1 is declared "out" for abandonment or subject to appeal at 2nd base. If abandonment does the timing matter if before R3 touches home plate? I know on a walk, HBP that only B-R and R3 are required to advance, but what about on a HR over the fence?
  3. Bat contacts catcher's glove

    And since you didn't post an answer, does that mean you are still looking it up. I personally like doing nothing if R1 stays put and calling BI if R1 is stealing, whether delayed or on the pitch. Any support from the rules or case plays.
  4. Bat contacts catcher's glove

    Batter squares to bunt and as he checks his attempt by bringing bat back he contacts F2's mitt knocking the ball out. R1 either stays or steals 2nd when he sees ball get away from F2. Do we have batter INT, catcher's obstruction (Fed) or nothing and does it matter what action R1 takes.
  5. Batter throws bat

    Sure would like to get some authoritative interpretation or a consensus from 5 or 6 umpires as to the proper ruling for this situation.
  6. Batter throws bat

    Including what I recall from a 2015 thread, there have been 3 different rulings when R2 is not stealing and the throw is simply from F2 to F1. 1.) Batter is out for INT 2.) Weak INT and R2 remains at 2nd and B-R walks to 1st. 3.) Play the bounce which if it goes out of play would score R2 and I guess B-R would get 2nd base. Although No. 3 seems absurd, I believe this was the final ruling from 2015 thread (not sure the out of play option was discussed, but R2 advanced to 3rd). If anyone has a FED interpretation and/or NCAA or OBR ruling, please provide it.
  7. Batter throws bat

    I was typing when Cav made his response of "weak Interference". Can I get an Amen on that. I seem to recall from a previous thread that some said it was "play on" as there were only two options - call INT or do nothing and play on. There was no option to call "Time" and return R2 back to 2nd and award B-R 1st even though I agree it makes the most sense.
  8. Batter throws bat

    Yes there is a key difference. No doubt there is INT if F2 was throwing toward 3rd base in an attempt to throw out R2 stealing.
  9. Batter throws bat

    I seem to recall this issue was addressed before, but I don't recall if there was ever a consensus. Runner at second base, one out, left-handed batter with a 3-1 count. His dugout is the third base dugout. Pitcher throws Ball Four. The batter flips his back towards the third-base dugout as the catcher throws the ball back to the pitcher. The bat in the air hits the thrown ball and the ball and bat land in foul territory near the third-base dugout as R2 advances to third base. What's the call? Same situation and the ball rolls out of play. Fed and OBR if ruling is different.
  10. 2015 NCAA Rules Test Question

    Was it confirmed that B is correct and INT called immediately so no DP in this situation. Can I assume it would be the same in FED?
  11. Who makes the call

    I see your point now since I see where they use the words in the POE .... "It is the discretion of the plate umpire if he feels that HIS view...". Why this is even in there this way makes little sense. Of course I was envisioning the BU asking for help on a pulled foot or swipe tag situation in which case I assume we all agree that the BU will make the final call. That being said the state interpreter was saying in ALL CASES the PU will make the final call. Maybe he missed the same thing I did in reading the POE.
  12. Who makes the call

    I appreciate the responses, but for whatever reason and I'm not sure why our state interpreter emphatically stated the plate umpire (UIC in 2-man) will change or confirm his partner's call after conferring on a coach's appeal. This was even after it was pointed out that the 2017 Preseason Guide published by Referee in cooperation with the NFHS clearly states the calling umpire will make the final call (page 7). Of course this is opposite of what the Rules Book states on page 67. Other corrections to the Rules Book were made at the meeting in connection with coach's assisting a runner (live not delayed dead). If anyone has anything in writing from the NFHS that corrects the Rules Book page 67 it would be greatly appreciated. I thought of writing to NFHS, but it seems any questions / issues are to go through the state association. I know in the course of game management this isn't probably a big deal, but I just can't understand why the state would take this position. Using the MLB as a reference (UIC makes final call) doesn't really do it for me. Most of their appeals are handled through video and just not the same.
  13. 2017 NFHS Interpretations

    At a State Interpreter's meeting last night, the instructions were to delete 5-1-2f and move g to f. Also, in the table on page 36 to cross out / delete no. 10. I think these errors are just par for the course - s... happens.
  14. Who makes the call

    As I stated in OP I was at a State Interpreter's meeting when he clearly stated the rule book POE that plate umpire would make the final call. He compared it to the fact that the UIC in MLB does this. I know the UIC does it on video replays, but not sure how MLB handles the other situations which I guess would apply more to minor leagues with 2 umpire system. Sure would be nice to have NFHS post something on their web site. Personally I will continue to do it the way I have always and that is to have the calling umpire affirm or change his call as appropriate.
  15. Who makes the call

    I went to the NFHS web site and only see the Points of Emphasis dated November 22, 2016 which reads in part .... Once the opinion is shared, it is the plate umpire who will make the final determination on the call or play. I believe you that this was corrected or maybe I just believe it should have been. Do you know how I can find the authoritative notice that corrected this since as I said, apparently my state didn't get the memo.
×