Register or Sign In to remove these ads

AmackNH

Members
  • Content count

    132
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

11 Neutral

About AmackNH

  • Birthday 07/22/1980

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male
  • Location
    Merrimack NH

More information about you

  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)
  1. Runner on 1st less than 2 outs. Runner steals and batter hits a hard liner to the second baseman. The second baseman catches the ball for out 1. R1, knowing he is going to get doubled up, rounds second and heads toward third. Second baseman then attempts to throw to first to complete the double play and throws the ball into the stands. Where do you put R1 and can the defense then appeal?
  2. Not saying I'm smart or you're stupid. I don't know you, and your clarified question is more appropriate. But it's still mostly useless: you want to do what makes most legal sense in NH, given your state's liability laws. The fact that FL or MN associations do something won't necessarily provide you with any guide to what's best in NH. And, for what it's worth, I think it's a great question, and one that every association needs to address (and few do). UE just isn't the place for a proper answer. JC...would a MOD please delete this thread? More trouble than its worth.
  3. I love a good irony. Lmao...and an english teacher too. My profound appologies professor...is my use of the internet language gonna git me sum mo red marks?
  4. Let me clarify, I am not seeking an airtight legal opinion. Im aware that an internet forum isnt the place for that...Perhaps poorly articulated. My real question is what are other associations doing. But hey, it gave you a chance to show how smart you are by implying someone else is stupid with that clute little emoticon...so your welcome.
  5. Just a quick question...the issue of background checks has come up with a few of my associations customers. We have never done them ourselves and have not previously had a league request them. As all of us are independent contractors it wasnt something we had previously considered. Any thoughts on this? Would our association be able to be held liable for something happening and we hadnt done checks? Would the liability belong to the leagues alone? Do we have an obligation to check our "contractors"?
  6. I saw none of this game. I also happen to know the umpire in question. They said his name more than once in the clip. Might I just observe, his stoicism did more to get his point across than anything else he couldve done. You already took care of business and dumped him...let him act like a child and give him no reaction. Well done Rob.
  7. Anyone know where we could see video of this? Trying to show another umpire in my group.
  8. @afaber12 I literally starting laughing out loud..."You bloomed us with that call, you blooming pineapple!" I have completely forgotten what this thread is about and laughed so hard my eyes watered. I need more sleep or professional help. Great line though.
  9. Interesting to look at Miller when Washington comes out...looks like he says more than once "what did I call, what did I call?"
  10. Lol...right after I posted I read yours
  11. Babe Ruth so OBR. Called strike 3 to end the game, batter clearly knew it, knee buckling curve. Takes his bat and two hand throws it up the line. Lands near first base narrowly missing the F3 who was coming off the field. League says we own the field until we leave it. Postgame-BUH BYE
  12. I was considering both Mid-American and Southern. Really want to go to one. The airfare from the northeast to either is killing me though. :/
  13. I've come to the conclusion that I'm in a stage of umpiring where I'm much better than bad umpires and not nearly as good as good ones. I work with so many bad umpires that I have gotten complacent in the sense that I know I'm better than most of the umpires I work with. Generally if there are no train wrecks or obscure rule interpretations then I call a really good game and have really good judgement on most calls. I've also come to the conclusion that I don't know if my personality is very well suited to becoming a really good umpire. I'm just too indecisive oftentimes about things in life. I want to break everything down. This does not serve me very well when I have to make strong definitive decisions on things I'm not 100% sure of. On this particular play I was so focused on trying to see the ball that I didn't pay close enough attention to R2. And then when I lost site of the ball and was not sure if it was in the glove or not my mind went 100% on what I was going to call and looking for reaction from F9 to see if I got anything from him. So in reality I was not confident that R2 had completely tagged up. I know he ventured back to the bag and was in the vicinity of it. I agree that I should not have gone to my partner. Or if I did I should have controlled the conversation more. I should have asked if he was 100% sure there was no tag. If he hesitated at all I should have stuck with my original call. Instead I let the coaches decisiveness convince me that I had probably missed it and therefore easily allowed my less than definitive partner to change my mind and my call. I have only been at this 4 years so by no means am I an expert. That said, your willingness to self critique and identify where you may have gone awry is pretty compelling evidence to me that your gonna be a very good umpire. Provided you learn from mistakes, youll be fine. Catch/no catch is your primary responsibility here. YES, you also need to see the tag, but its secondary. Be in good position, call it confidently and be assertive. Youll be fine.
  14. This game is weird sometimes... AAU 11U. A very well run program with a knowledgeable coach vs Daddy program. Top 1st, liner to right center gap, F3 strolls right into baseline and collides with B/R. "Thats obstruction" with a point. Play ends with B/R narrowly beating a throw to 2nd. No further award. Defensive coach comes out... Coach: Why does he get second? Me: Cause he hit a ball to the fence and arrived there before he was tagged out. Coach: Then why did you call a penalty on us? (penalty?) Me: I indicated I had an obstructed runner but the runner ended up where In my judgement he would have, had the obstruction not occured. Coach: Well, my guy has to have to somewhere to stand. Me: As long as he isnt in the way of the runner your correct. Coach: So you called something for nothing. Me: I think were done here coach. He goes back to the dugout and the other teams coach says "Dont worry about it Mike, he's right, we just dont normally get guys that see that, nevermind call it." 3 hitters later, another gapper, R1 rounding second should make 3B easily, F6 standing ON 2B trips him. "Thats Obstruction!!" Coach yells from dugout "AGAIN?!?!" I smile and yell back "YES". He looks at the other coach again who smiles and nods and then says "OK" and turns back to dugout. Bottom first his team at bat, R1 on his way to second gets hit by a ground ball and kicks the ball into LF...it was just one of those games....