Register or Sign In to remove these ads

Matt

Members
  • Content count

    2,812
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

981 Good

About Matt

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Not Telling

More information about you

  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
  1. Everything on this play has a rule that covers it. It may not result in an equitable outcome, but that's what it is.
  2. You cannot support this by rule. He has advanced beyond the base to which he was entitled, by your judgement. He's out.
  3. I may have some of those pads. The downside is that if I do, they are in a box that hasn't been opened since 2005 and at the back of my storage unit. The upside is that they're probably buried next to my bins of Lego that I need to get to keep me occupied through the next two months.
  4. I would anticipate that UA will incorporate their arrowhead into the stripes somehow.
  5. Yep, I misread it. One run scores. Inning over. If R3 was the winning run or if they were down by two or more, the game is over.
  6. A. What was your crew doing to keep the VT off the field? B. I've got two runs scoring. This is OBS and R1 is awarded home. For the record, I don't have abandonment on BR, but it's moot as there was only one out. Clear the field of the folks who shouldn't be there, and resume with no runners and two out.
  7. Not a record, but something to scratch my head along the same lines... It's the end of the college season, and the second game of the Sunday DH (not mine) gets suspended for rain with one inning to go and the home team ahead. Neither team is in contention for the playoffs. On the way home from my DH Sunday night, I get a call to see if I can go work a meaningless half-inning Monday afternoon for $135.
  8. No, it's not.
  9. Look at the rule as to when a runner cannot correct a mistake. Pay close attention to the words used.
  10. He referred to 8-5d, which would be correct if the call was based on R1 intentionally using his right hand to hinder F4. 8-4b comes into play because there is an exception to an allowable pop-up slide: "if there is no other movement to interfere with the fielder's play." That intentional movement not related to the slide would fall under that exception.
  11. Obviously, you've identified the weight issue. Do you have any way of finding out specifics? It would help you tailor your action plan.
  12. I agree as well. I'd hang my hat on the more black-and-white violation of contacting the fielder off the side of the base rather than the more arguable raised hand.
  13. Umm...the ball isn't dead at the time of infraction in either of those examples. The ball becomes dead because of the infraction.
  14. I'm trying to think of something I would penalize as offensive MC during a dead ball vice USC. I'm not saying I necessarily disagree with you, but I'm also not sure if I agree with you on this.
  15. These are very poorly written. The way these read, any (to include unintentional) contact near the base or any time there's contact above the waist, there's MC. Unless the runner did something excessive in the OP, I'm not seeing it.