Matt

Members
  • Content count

    2,310
  • Joined

  • Last visited


Community Reputation

796 Excellent

About Matt

  • Rank

Profile Information

  • Gender Not Telling

Matt's Activity

  1. Matt added a post in a topic Back to Back to Back Weekends   

    Some things never change.
    • 2
  2. Matt added a post in a topic 2 Trips Same Batter   

    There is no disagreement. They simply messed up the enforcement, most likely due to it occurring about as often as the installation of a new Pope.
    • 0
  3. Matt added a post in a topic 2 Trips Same Batter   

    If he leaves the mound, the visit is over.
    Also, don't make mental notes when it comes to trips. Write it down.
    • 0
  4. Matt added an answer to a question Interesting Play...Whatcha Got?   

    How? The fielder has the ball.
    • 1
  5. Matt added an answer to a question Interesting Play...Whatcha Got?   

    I'm of the opinion that his attempt to field the ball ended at the time he fell. The interpretation involving protection through a throw implies that the fielding attempt and throw are part of the same continuous action.
    • 0
  6. Matt added an answer to a question Interesting Play...Whatcha Got?   

    But there is no normal throw because he fell. We cannot give protection to a fielder for an indeterminate amount of time between his initial attempt and his first throw. Otherwise if a fielder started a rundown, a runner would be liable for INT until said fielder threw the ball.
    • 0
  7. Matt added an answer to a question Interesting Play...Whatcha Got?   

    This is nothing. The act of fielding is over so it cannot be INT and the hindrance of the runner was not due to intentional misconduct so it cannot be OBS.
    • 1
  8. Matt added an answer to a question Double play/ No double play   

    Doesn't matter. I'd still toss any AC in any youth game that did this.
    • 0
  9. Matt added a post in a topic LL R3 interference on Double-Play to 1st?   

    Yes. The wording is identical. Otherwise anytime a retired runner made contact on a slide, you'd have interference. Which, to me, is pretty much what you're arguing.
    • 0
  10. Matt added a post in a topic LL R3 interference on Double-Play to 1st?   

    It's in MLBUM.
    • 0
  11. Matt added a post in a topic LL R3 interference on Double-Play to 1st?   

    Let me be blunt. There was nothing illegal about this slide. There was nothing malicious about it, unless you want to start tossing every kid who slides hard. There is no rule against taking a player out when it is done without violating any specific rule. 7.09e has a specific interpretation when hindrance is caused by a slide, which has already been mentioned twice. This was an incorrect call.
     
     
     
    • 0
  12. Matt added a post in a topic LL R3 interference on Double-Play to 1st?   

    No, it doesn't. As stated already, a slide in LL is legal if it is within reach of the plate. Also, anyone who thinks that a true slide that's at the shins is MC needs to get off the field.
    • 0
  13. Matt added a post in a topic LL R3 interference on Double-Play to 1st?   

    Nothing illegal here.
    • 0
  14. Matt added an answer to a question Different plays   

    Let me break this down for you. A fielder can catch the ball in the field of play and go into any DBT (besides spectator areas) and the ball will remain live until one of three things happens: the fielder falls, the ball is dropped, or a throw hits something in DBT. There is nothing prohibiting a throw from those areas.
    There have been at least three people explaining this to you.  
    • 0