Register or Sign In to remove these ads

johnnyg08

Moderators
  • Content count

    6,711
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    51

johnnyg08 last won the day on May 18 2015

johnnyg08 had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

1,470 Excellent

1 Follower

About johnnyg08

  • Birthday September 24

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male

More information about you

  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    MidWest Ump Blog

Recent Profile Visitors

16,053 profile views
  1. I know where the plate is. It will affect my zone almost zero. F2 is likely to clean it off...but if not, I'm comfortable proceeding with it covered if the entire yard has their heels in the sand.
  2. These are some of the same "professionals" who wouldn't EJ the 9 yr old kid who drew the line on the plate umpire in the video recently circulating the facebook groups. Some of you are willing to let people walk all over you for the sake of the next game fee. Toughen up.
  3. 0% chance I clean the plate after an episode like that.
  4. That's not what you said in your original post. But that's fine.
  5. Remember these things get messy fast. Almost any time there is an ejection somebody is already pissed, now you run the pitcher, head coach will be fuming (even if you're right). Why? Because your decision to EJ for throwing at a batter is 100% judgment...you truly don't know for 100% unless F1 or F2 literally told you what was going to happen. Look how this stuff plays out in MLB. I'm not saying your decision is right or wrong...but it's going to go sideways fast.
  6. A warning for bench jockeying only goes to the offending team.
  7. That was nice of him to tell PU that he got it right. That rarely happens.
  8. Don't do it. It's amateurish. Lose credibility in my mind if I hear a guy throw the hands up and say "ball game"
  9. It's not a balk though. We agree right?
  10. "For the set position, the pitcher shall have the ball in either his gloved hand or his pitching hand. His pitching hand shall be down at his side or behind his back. Before starting his delivery, he shall stand with his entire non-pivot foot in front of a line extending through the front edge of the pitcher's plate and with his entire pivot foot in contact with or directly in front of and parallel to the pitcher's plate. He shall go to the set position without interruption and in one continuous motion. He shall come to a complete and discernible stop (a change of direction is not considered an acceptable stop) with the ball in both hands in front of the body and his glove at or below his chin. Natural preliminary motions such as only one stretch may be made." Two questions regarding the portion of the rule I put in bold: 1. Entire pivot foot is not in contact or directly in front of & parallel to the pitcher's plate...Do you: Legal? Fix it? Do nothing? Penalize it? When in Rome? Wait until the other team says something? 2. F1 starts w/ entire pivot foot legal by rule. Hands still separated, free foot outside of a line extending through the front edge of the pitcher's plate. As F1 brings his hands together in the stretch, (a) he brings his free foot within the plane of the end of the rubber as he comes to a complete and discernible stop. (b) leaves his free foot outside the plane of the rubber as he comes to a complete and discernible stop. 6.1.3 SITUATION A: F1 takes the set position with his pivot foot entirely in front of and parallel with the pitcher’s plate. F1’s non-pivot foot is entirely in front of his pivot foot (toward home plate) but is not within the plane of each end of the pitcher’s plate. RULING: This is legal, since only the pivot foot is required to be entirely in front of the pitcher’s plate, within the plane of each end of the pitcher’s plate, and in contact with it. The non-pivot foot is required to be entirely in front of the front plane of the pitcher’s plate but does not have to be within the plane of each end of the pitcher’s plate. Do you: Legal? Fix it? Do nothing? Penalize it? When in Rome? Wait until the other team says something? Discuss.
  11. I suspect that is where this thread is heading, but you can't run the hidden ball trick out of a dead ball. Nor is there a penalty if the ball was inadvertently pointed and verbalized in play. It's likely been covered already...but I haven't read the entire thread. (All major codes) It's a "let's go guys, you can't run the hidden ball trick out of a dead ball. Throw the ball back to the pitcher and let's get back to work"
  12. Correct. It's not optional and can only lead to more problems. BUT...it's important to know your rules because when you kill it, everything stops. If you killed it and really it's a Type B...now it's another mess.
  13. I don't think it's illegal, but when you see it happening, go break up the visit. I had one a couple weeks ago when there PC went out for a visit, I gave him his time, then he proceeded to make a pitching change. Try to take the temperature of the field and see what's happening. That can help you determine when to break up the visit. Don't get me wrong, they're entitled to time for the visit, how they use it, for the most part, is up to them.
  14. In my mind, if we have to analyze this and that to try and not penalize the offense, it's probably an infraction. Call it an move on.
  15. Type A, I think they kill it right away. I think the other side of that is it doesn't allow the defense to get an out anywhere after a Type A penalty.