Register or Sign In to remove these ads

Jimurray

Members
  • Content count

    2,067
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

328 Excellent

About Jimurray

  • Rank

  1. 2016 NCAA Test Questions

    Good point. The AR is problematic. I'm inclined to rule as in OBR until the test is graded with cites and/or the pre-season guide is  linked. 
  2. 2016 NCAA Test Questions

    Would you agree, assuming you went to a pro school, that momentary adjustment is allowed in OBR games? Would you agree that in other codes momentary adjustment might be allowed depending on the level of training the umpire has attained? Would you agree that most people would not missunderstand a momentary adjustment for coming set and the TOP?
  3. Sideways Wind-up

    That's my take from this Mar 2015 interp: " 12. 9-2a—“Make an illegal pitch or quick pitch with the bases unoccupied.” PENALTY: Warn the pitcher and, unless the batter reaches first base, call a ball. COMMENT: The pitcher is standing in the set or “stretch” with ball in the meat hand, which is on his hip. There are no runners on base. This is not the pitcher’s normal pitching motion from this position but one that is used, usually in relief with a count of 0-2 or 1-2. It is used in an attempt to surprise the batter. From this position, without any type of preliminary body movement, the pitcher pushes off the rubber and throws to the batter. INTERPRETATION: It is a form of a quick pitch and should be ruled an illegal pitch which carries the above penalty."
  4. Sideways Wind-up

    No, a windup pitcher in other than FED, no matter what his foot position, can stop with both hands in front of his body as long as the preliminary motion was not associated with his natural motion to deliver the pitch such as an associated leg movement. What NCAA does not want is just rearing back to throw without any preliminary motion associated with his windup or coming set.
  5. Backswing (followthrough) interference

    I think you are correct. 7.3.5 C used to return R1 to 1B. That caseplay has disappeared and 2016 7.3.5 C is unrelated.
  6. Backswing (followthrough) interference

    You're not crazy, FED is: "2014 SITUATION 3: R1 on first base gets a great jump on the pitcher's move and is sliding into second base when B2 swings and misses the pitch for strike three. B2's follow-through strikes the catcher. RULING: B2 is declared out for his interference and R1 is returned to first base. (7-3-5c Penalty) 2011 SITUATION 4: With R2 on first base and one out, B3 swings and misses on a 1-2 fastball for strike three. R2 was stealing on the pitch and B3’s follow-through interferes with the catcher’s ability to throw to second base. At the time of the interference, R2 was just over half way to second from first. RULING: In the umpire’s judgment, B3’s interference prevented the catcher from possibly throwing out R2 at second base. B3 is out for strike three and R2 is declared out because of B3’s interference. The half-inning is over. (7-3-5c Penalty) 2011 SITUATION 5: With one out, R2 gets a great jump at first base and is just a couple of feet from second base when B3 strikes out. B3’s follow-through interferes with the catcher, who drops the ball and cannot throw to second base. RULING: The ball is declared dead when play is no longer possible. B3 is out on strikes for out No. 2. Since the catcher had no possible play on R2 (being so close to second base at the time of the interference), R2 is returned to first base. (7-3-5c Penalty)"
  7. Sideways Wind-up

    Based on their rule change it is legal. But they have clarified that they won't allow a sideways pitcher to throw without coming set or winding up.
  8. PU Covering Second Play at 3rd (2-man)

    As for covering third, have you read the thread and some CCA and PBUC references? As for CC advocating B with no one on,  that was in two man and it hasn't gained traction but if the guy I work with with bad knees wants the bases that's where he should be. Otherwise he stays at the plate and I got everything else. Sometimes you have to adapt. As far as one man, I don't where ball bags on the field and the fans, coaches and payers can call balls and strikes from anywhere other than behind the plate. You refine your craft with every experience behind the plate. If you make a game fee calling behind the mound with ball bags you just made a paycheck.
  9. 2016 NCAA Test Questions

    So would you say you could balk a pitcher for attempting the hidden ball trick after a dead ball?
  10. PU Covering Second Play at 3rd (2-man)

    Sidebar: Would you mind doing a "find/change" to make U1 = PU and U2 = BU or U1;)
  11. 1 second stop?

    I'm not quibbling with a QP call. But LLU says the reason it was correct is that the pitcher did not come to a discernible 1 second stop. 
  12. PU Covering Second Play at 3rd (2-man)

    In that case, why not have the PU take the call at 1B and leave the BU to call 2B and FPSR violations? CC postulated this a few years ago. It has crossed my mind also but I have not been tempted to experiment with it. I have, however experimented with taking the FPSR from the 1B side of the mound. I do not like it. 
  13. PU Covering Second Play at 3rd (2-man)

    Been there.  But we used to have a tool that would allow us to sidebar without hijacking the tread. What happened to it? Anyway, I've now joined the hijack. 
  14. 1 second stop?

    Uh, have you read the sit? It's not clear what the pitcher did after stepping on the rubber but most likely it was a QP. But is a stop required in majors and does a stop have to be 1 second. Does not inspire confidence. Not to mention that in a true QP situation the umpire would be calling time to prevent the QP, albeit that it can't be prevented in many cases. As an aside, would you entertain an umpire visiting with your pitcher to explain what he did wrong without him even coming to you?
  15. PU Covering Second Play at 3rd (2-man)

    PBUC and, I think, Jim Evans normally have the PU cover 3B with R1 and a ball hit to the infield and R1 is not put out at 2B and a play develops at 3B. Some variations of course if a ball is on the 1B line or near HP or R1 is put out at 2B. CCA has the PU cover the FPSR on the 3B side of the mound and thus take R1 into 3B if that develops.