Jump to content

grayhawk

Members
  • Content count

    5,443
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    146

grayhawk last won the day on October 17

grayhawk had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

3,176 Excellent

1 Follower

About grayhawk

  • Rank
    Almost as good as I think I am
  • Birthday 08/27/1966

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male
  • Location
    Laguna Niguel, CA

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
    SCCUA, OCBOA
  • Occupation
    Owner of Oasis Senior Advisors of Coastal OC
  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    NCAA Division 3, Community College, High School
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)

Recent Profile Visitors

19,409 profile views
  1. Any update for brd

    Seems like I read that they were doing a complete format change of the book, so it's no wonder they had to skip a year.
  2. Balk Question

    I've had varsity coaches try to convince me to call a balk on this. Yeaaahh...no.
  3. My thoughts on the 2017 World Series

    I thought Miller's zone was fine too. Yes, his zone favors pitchers, for the most part, but it didn't seem to matter since the game was 13-12. I would be curious to see @Gil put together a report card on Miller's zone since it seems to be a hot topic among the unwashed masses who are using the superimposed box on the TV to render judgment. I'd rather see real data.
  4. Black and Blue clinics

    It was humbling. That is an incredible instructional staff they have put together. I walked in hoping to get onto the radar of a couple of coordinators and walked out knowing that I have a great deal yet to learn. If I want to get noticed for all the right reasons, I'm going to have to work even harder (and smarter) over the next year to make that happen. I was impressed with many of the other campers as well. Overall, it was the best thing I could have done for myself and am looking forward to next year.
  5. As we all know, two man is a series of trade offs. The trade off here appears to be which you value more: (1) the potential illegal slide at second and potential pulled foot/swipe tag at first, or (2) the potential play at third base. Clearly, the safe/out at third is the most important call since calls on runners closer to home are more critical. However, it's also the least likely scenario (R1 safe at second and advancing). The potential illegal slide is also important and fairly infrequent, while the pulled foot/swipe tag is the most likely but happens furthest from home. MiLB appears to value the potential play at third the most, even though it's less likely to occur.
  6. Backswing INT vs foul ball situation

    If a catcher steps in front of the plate to receive a pitch with R3 stealing, it's CI even if the batter never takes the bat off his shoulder. I recognize that this is a specific situation, but the rules makers decided to call it CI anyway.
  7. Backswing INT vs foul ball situation

    You are being inconsistent. You can't have it both ways. CI is defined in OBR as: "Defensive interference is an act by a fielder that hinders or prevents a batter from hitting a pitch." Nothing about intent there.
  8. Backswing INT vs foul ball situation

    The bat was clearly going to hit the ball on the follow through, but the catcher's mitt hindered it from doing so. I think my dialectical foot is just fine in this thread. The fact of the matter is that there are holes in both interpretations.
  9. Backswing INT vs foul ball situation

    So then you must call CI when the bat hits the catcher's mitt on the follow through if the pitch hasn't yet been gloved by the catcher. I agree that this isn't really worth the time we are taking to discuss it. We're talking about a situation that isn't addressed directly because nobody ever thought to write a rule for it.
  10. Visit to the mound

    No, but if he brings out a bar-b-que, he better have enough for everyone.
  11. Backswing INT vs foul ball situation

    If his bat passed the ball and missed on his follow through, are you then charging the batter with two strikes? After all, his bat missed the pitch twice. I understand that you are treating the entirety of the swing, including the follow through, as one attempt and because the status of the ball is that it's still a pitch that it's a batted ball. I simply disagree because the rules treat the follow through as something separate from the swing. The batter had his chance and missed. After that, if he impedes the catcher's opportunity to receive the pitch, it's interference. How about something really absurd? Same situation, but as the bat is about to hit the ball on the follow through, the bat instead hits the catcher's mitt. Is this catcher's interference?
  12. Backswing INT vs foul ball situation

    I disagree. The batter swung and missed for strike 3 and then his follow through prevented the catcher from catching the pitch. I have a dead ball, strike 3 and the batter is out. The batter doesn't get a second opportunity to strike at the pitch on his follow through.
  13. Roommate Wanted - BBUC Oct 18, 2017

    You're rooming with Cowboy Joe? God help you.
  14. I believe the most current mechanic is to be squared to the plate because this gives U3 better peripheral vision of R1 to see if he is stealing. I'm going to BBUC next week and will see what they teach.
  15. What a rat. He was just going out to get Pedroia away from Wegner, but he has to yell in Wegner's face to get Pedroia away from him? HorseSH*#.
×