Register or Sign In to remove these ads

Ironhead17

Members
  • Content count

    28
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

13 Neutral

About Ironhead17

  • Birthday 09/08/1962

More information about you

  • Occupation Sales
  • Types/Levels of Baseball called Rec. HS, Travel
  1. Alabama HS Finals

    I really like the idea. In practice it would likely be easier than football. I'd love to hear the game from this perspective. It'd be a great training aid.
  2. The lengths parents go to

    "you deal with the head coach only" - darn good advice. Learn it. Live it.
  3. Runner Doesn't Slide

    FORCE PLAY SLIDE RULE - got to make a legal slide or get out of the way. Pic shows he made contact beyond the bag, he'd be out for interference.
  4. HR - Missed bag

    Here, I think we're the only state - SC, we've got to make the call ourselves without appeal. Same thing happened but not a peep from anyone so I let it ride. It had no bearing on a game in which the home team was getting pounded. Hopefully we get back to making the defense appeal but until then it's on us.
  5. When to call time on a balk

    This is one case where the Fed balk rule makes your life easier. OBR balk rule is tough on new guys who do Fed and then transition to leagues w/ OBR.
  6. First Fan Ejection

    HAMMER HITS NAIL! I would add TDs don't give a rat's arse about the umpires and you've got umpires who do this kind of thing for a living so it gets complicated real quick.
  7. Interference?

    Runner hit by a batted ball well past F3 and not behind F4, is an out in my book.
  8. Manager That Wanted a Bailout

    If he's running and hasn't asked for time I have no problem w/ instructing him to return and ask for time especially in daddy ball. Eventually he got what he deserved. Trying to save your butt by calling time during a slide "ain't gonna happen"
  9. Base award?

    TOT gets my vote. Score them both. Very unfortunate for the defense since the "force" was not of their doing.
  10. Rough day at the office

    I had plate,10U fall softball, both the pitcher and catcher were the best on the field and wore the local travel ball logos. Coach's daughter was the pitcher and I've seen her develop into a hard throwing little righty. Well it was good pitching w/ very little catching. After getting drilled for the third or fourth time I remind the catcher that "I'm not wearing a glove" and she has to help me out. A few minutes later I'm dealing with a balling catcher and an angry coach. Some days are better than others. McDavid makes a hex pad catcher's undergarment that I wear doing lower level ball. The worst bruises come from mostly 10-15 yr. olds.
  11. BI ruling

    Did the batter step out of the box or does it matter? I've had them turn in the box and get hit in the back of the head. When the batter is moving to react to F2 sliding to the rear to make an attempt on R3 is he "protected from BI" if he stays in the box and the BI is not intentional?
  12. retired runner continues along the base path

    In the event that F8 drops the ball....
  13. retired runner continues along the base path

    Well most guys realize they are out and will stop to avoid running the risk of passing the previous runner so it's not a common problem. These guys realize that by continuing to round the bases, they can likely cause confusion and thereby benefit from a (JV level) misdirection of the defensive efforts.
  14. retired runner continues along the base path

    Yes FED. It's always bush with these guys..... I'm afraid they have found a "loophole" and are willing to run it into the ground. I really don't see the purpose it serves. Likely hoping for an over throw while the ball is alive. I'll be screaming the batter runner is out to try and prevent mass confusion. Thanks
  15. Bases loaded, 1 out. Fly ball to R/C - caught. R3 tags w/o incident, scores. R2 bluffs. R1 half way retreats to 1st. Batter/runner continues to run the basepath and approaches 2nd bases drawing a throw from the cut off man - 9-4 who sees retired runner and throws to 6 who applies tag and base umpire calls him out thinking it was R1 just being off the bag. Well as plate, I look up to see my partner's fist go up and now I'm thinking WTH - that's 3 outs. Defense clears the field and in the meantime we realize that a mistake was made. After some bs we get everyone back and resume play R2 and R1 at their original bases. This team has a propensity to do this sort of crap so I have a word w/ the coach suggesting they not continue the practice with the threat of interference being reached for. He knows what he's done and says he'll "continue to teach his kids to run every play out....blah, blah, blah." I've got them again this week and I've also heard from others in our association that it's a reoccurring problem with just this team. My question is: Can I get an out if the defense reacts to this practice and what is the rule of casebook support? I hope I was clear. Trying to do this while "on the clock".... Thanks for any help. Association president is likely to chime in as an answer is pending from him as well. Ironhead