Jump to content

Register or Sign In to remove these ads

Rich Ives

Established Member
  • Content count

    5,108
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    14

Rich Ives last won the day on September 11

Rich Ives had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

961 Good

More information about you

  • Occupation
    Retired
  1. collision resposibility

    It'as a teaching moment. Call it so they'll learn.
  2. collision resposibility

    No harm but there was a foul. Call it. It's not like F2 was going to foul out. Then F2 will know he was guilty.
  3. Logo removal

    Why? Proper color Sharpie. Proper color gaffer tape.
  4. Obstruction or Interference

    You need to decide which fielder is the one with the play on the ball. That fielder is then protected. No other's are. Making an attempt matters. Who knows, maybe the batter falls and there is a play on him. Is the batter thunderfoot or swifty? SO - if you think 2B was making the attempted play he is protected and the runner must avoid him or be guilty of interference. BUT - If you think the SS was the one making the attempted play then the SS is protected and 2B would be guilty of obstruction.
  5. Base Hit?

    No. And being asleep at the switch isn't an error either. FC all the way
  6. AAron Boone named Yankee manager

    Kay has someone nearby that looks up the rules and Michael reads them on air and does mea culpas when appropriate. Heard him do it many times. Are you a Mets fan?
  7. Does Pitcher Have to Pitch Bottom of 1st

    You show up in the box score if all you do is pitch run. You were in the game. Maybe you even scored a run. Or stole a base. Or made an out The streak is a whole different animal. You can't deny that you were in the game. This isn't a protect the pitcher issue. It's an eligibility issue. Different purpose. So you're the TD. Did he pitch? (If you say no I'll ask you who did. Someone had to be the pitcher) I say yes - even if it's my team.
  8. Does Pitcher Have to Pitch Bottom of 1st

    At the conclusion of the debate you will be asked to vote.
  9. Does Pitcher Have to Pitch Bottom of 1st

    He was the pitcher of record when the IBB was issued. He HAS to be credited with pitching. No on else could be. Someone was he pitcher. He was. Another example: If he entered an inning with two out and picked off a runner without delivering a pitch he gets credit for 1/3 inning pitched but no pitches thrown. He pitched here too. Delivering a pitch is one way of crediting an inning but not the only way.
  10. Does Pitcher Have to Pitch Bottom of 1st

    The IBB has to go on some pitcher's record. Some pitcher has to be credited with the batter faced. He was the pitcher of record when it happened. If not the starter then who? You can't charge them to a pitcher that isn't in the game. Deliver of a pitch is only one criteria. He pitched.
  11. Does Pitcher Have to Pitch Bottom of 1st

    Ejection
  12. Does Pitcher Have to Pitch Bottom of 1st

    The walk goes on the pitcher's record which would show as 1 batter faced - one IBB. 9.02(c )(2) and (11) He pitched in my book.
  13. Does Pitcher Have to Pitch Bottom of 1st

    Pitcher named on the lineup card must pitch. Pretty clear in the rules.
  14. When was catcher's box shape changed?

    This is what Evans wrote in the JEA about the history The catcher's box evolved from a large triangular area that was formed by extending the foul lines to the backstop or grandstand. Later, the back line of this triangle was reduced to 10 feet and then 8 feet. In the early 1950's, the catcher's box as we know it today was made part of the rules From the 1887 rules: Rule 6. The Catcher’s Lines must be drawn from the outer corner of the Home Base, in continuation of the Foul Lines, straight to the limits of the Ground back of the Home Base.
  15. When was catcher's box shape changed?

    Interesting. I've seen pictures where the lines went to the wall.
×