Register or Sign In to remove these ads


  • Content count

  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

71 Neutral

1 Follower

About stl_ump

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Not Telling

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
    CBSA - Chesterfield, MO
  1. Very interesting... So I guess it comes down to who's defining "hesitates, interrupts, suspends or unmoving" Thanks.
  2. Excellent!
  3. Calm down now... If you don't want to continue this discussion that's fine. No worries. I'm just trying understand this. He comes set. He starts his delivery, he pauses at the top of his leg lift, but he hasn't really stopped (or interrupted anything) since some part of his body is still slightly moving, and then he continues on with his pitch. No balk. Good thing I'm not out there. Thanks for tolerating my questions. ;-)
  4. So... getting back to the video. When he lifts that leg and "pauses / hesitates / whatever it's called", why wouldn't this constitute and "interruption"? To my obviously untrained eye, it just looks like he starts, then "pauses", then continues. Thanks
  5. OK... let's just say for arguments sake that a pitcher actually came to a complete stop while lifting his leg with a runner on. That would be a balk right? If so, what rule are we using to call the balk? The only thing that I can find that might apply would be this" 6.02 (5.07)(f ), (g), (i), ( j) Pitcher Illegal Action (a) (8.05) Balks If there is a runner, or runners, it is a balk when: (1) The pitcher, while touching his plate, makes any motion naturally associated with his pitch and fails to make such delivery; I can't find anything about not stopping once you have started. Thanks
  6. So as long as he is "wiggling" something, no matter how small of a movement or how long he does it, it's not a balk? If that's the case than I could see how this could get really subjective, especially at the lower levels where a kid is coming set but he's still got something going on somewhere. Thanks
  7. I found some video. There are 3 videos here. The first one is his normal delivery. The second one was about the amount of "stop" time I saw with the R3. The 3rd one was much longer than what I saw. Tell me what you guys think.
  8. This was in the game between the Jays and the Indians on Tuesday. R3 Roberto Osuna was pitching (RHP) and he was in the stretch. He was pitching "normally" with the leg lift and then going home. All of a sudden I see him lift the leg and come to a complete stop for a second or two and then continue to home. I thought maybe my DVR had hiccuped or something it was so noticeable. But I backed it up and looked at it again and sure enough he had come to a complete stop. Even the announcers mentioned that he "hesitated" in order to throw off the timing of the batter. I was under the assumption that once a pitcher started his delivery to home that he couldn't stop... that it had to be one continuous motion. If a pitcher CAN pause, then a LHP with an R1 could just lift his leg and pause / hold it there to make sure the runner wasn't stealing. Thanks (looked for video but couldn't find any)
  9. So then where does this leave the discussion? Does the limit on the batter switching boxes apply to only ambidextrous pitchers or in all situations?
  10. And if the coach protests because of a wrong rule interp? Then what?
  11. Thanks for that info. I did some more research last night and I believe this (switching sides) is discussed in the PBUC. I don't have a copy so I can't verify that or not. That being said, if it's not in the MLB rule book, how do we cite it as a rule if it's not in there.
  12. Hey no problem. As I couldn't find anything about it when I looked I figured you guys would know one way or another. And since it's NOT addressed then it is something he CAN do. Thanks
  13. How many times can a better switch boxes? And what is the rule reference? Thanks
  14. What is the mechanic for when this happens? I know the following runner is out but do you let the play continue or kill it or what? In my situation it was the 3rd out. Thanks