Register or Sign In to remove these ads

stl_ump

Members
  • Content count

    480
  • Joined

  • Last visited


Community Reputation

58 Good

About stl_ump

  • Rank

Profile Information

  • Gender Not Telling

More information about you

  • Your Association Name CBSA - Chesterfield, MO

stl_ump's Activity

  1. stl_ump added a post in a topic Why I stink as an umpire...   

    I wouldn't exactly call it a joke... more like a play on words.  But thanks for the reference and link.
    And one of his friends came back last night. Looked kind of like an albino skunk.

    • 0
  2. stl_ump added a post in a topic Why I stink as an umpire...   

    More or less.. yeah.  Ignore the skunk and the ball if it's hit out there.
    • 0
  3. stl_ump added a post in a topic Why I stink as an umpire...   

    Poor picture I know... But yes.  A skunk.  It had better be.  I'm not THAT bad.
    • 0
  4. stl_ump added a topic in Funny Stories   

    Why I stink as an umpire...
    These guys have been coming onto our field for the last couple of weeks.
    One evening had 5 of them in the outfield at one time.  
    "Ground rule double if you hit the ball over there"

    • 9 replies
    • 199 views
  5. stl_ump added a post in a topic OBS or clueless runner   

    Correct.  Runner had plenty of access / room to run by F4.  Just had a problem getting over F4's leg.
    • 0
  6. stl_ump added a topic in Rules   

    OBS or clueless runner
    OBR - R1
    Ball is hit to F5 and he turns and throws to F4.  Throw is offline.  Maybe 3 or 4 ft towards 1st.  F4 is kind of kneeling down (not in the base path) to make sure the ball doesn't get by.  In this position, one of his legs is extended into the path of the R1.  R1 trips over that extended leg, doesn't make it to 2nd and is out.
    So... OBS or does R1 need to be a better runner?
    Thanks
     
    • 6 replies
    • 180 views
  7. stl_ump added a post in a topic Missed it / Choked / Froze / Screwed it up   

    I need to be clear about this.  Unless he was doing it wrong, he stayed with the ball the entire time. But when he turned to follow the ball to F6 the INT had already occurred and R2 was past F6.  It wasn't a blistering hot shot that got there in a instant.  It was kind of lazy ground ball that F6 started to come in on and that's when the trouble began.
    • 0
  8. stl_ump added a post in a topic Missed it / Choked / Froze / Screwed it up   

    Nice!
    That goes in my mental notebook for the next time ... which I'm sure will be sooner rather than later. 
    • 0
  9. stl_ump added a post in a topic Missed it / Choked / Froze / Screwed it up   

    Thanks all for the advice.
    By the time my partner had turned around the INT was over.
    When I saw it my arms, ever so slightly, started to move up to kill the play, but as I said, I "locked up" and just let it go. 
    So if my partner doesn't call it and I see it but haven't called it, I can after the fact so to speak, call INT?
    Thanks again for your input.
    • 0
  10. stl_ump added a topic in Rules   

    Missed it / Choked / Froze / Screwed it up
    This is kind of a confessional here so be nice... please?
    OBR - 10u Travel ball - I'm on the plate
    Ball hit to F6.  R2 off on contact and runs right in front of F6 as he is going for the ball causing him to stop (there may even have been some contact)  I see it, but for whatever reason just lock up and don't call it (I'm really hoping my partner will but he doesn't see it)
    Coaches obviously want INT called and go to my partner who says he didn't see it.  Coach comes to me I make up some lame story about watching R3 come home and BR go to 1st and that I didn't see it either.
    Fortunately for us the coaches were pretty good about it and after some initial grumbling they let it go.  (losing 14-0 may have had something to do with it)
    Now that I have confessed, I'm wondering if I could have called it after the play was over and my brain got put back in gear?  Or is it call it when it happens or forever hold your whatever.
    • 11 replies
    • 201 views
  11. stl_ump added a post in a topic Game management keeps HC in game - thanks!   

    I don't do high level games (College or Varsity H.S.) Just your typical Rec ball / Select / Travel team games.  One of our umpires that started out in our association several years ago is now up to AAA ball and and I asked him how he handles coaches that come out with an "issue.  And that's the tactic he said he used.  "Coach, what do have?"
    Not that this is a one size solution for everyone but if it works for him, I'll go with it until I get something better.
    • 0
  12. stl_ump added a post in a topic F1 play at HP   

    ​If this is his normal windup stance, how would one tell the difference between his windup and stretch?
    • 1
  13. stl_ump added a post in a topic F1 play at HP   

    ​After watching the video I'm confused.  What was wrong with what he did?  Looks like the typical set position, he IS set and then pitches.  What was wrong with it?
    • 0
  14. stl_ump added a post in a topic Interference or let it go?   

    ​Now there's a novel approach.  
    Was he out before the INT or after?
    He ran into him, interfered and then was tagged out or he was tagged out and then interfered.  
    • 0
  15. stl_ump added a post in a topic Interference or let it go?   

    ​So in this case we don't care how "much" Int there was, if we see it we call it? And what happens after that doesn't matter.  The only "extra" part is did he do it intentionally to try stop a double play from happening.
    • 0