Register or Sign In to remove these ads

Leaderboard


Popular Content

Showing most liked content on 07/16/2017 in all areas

  1. 7 likes
    It's here! Finally after almost a month and a half of waiting. Guess my Wilson Ti is going to have to find a new home. My Mizuno isn't going anywhere.
  2. 4 likes
    Post the final result
  3. 3 likes
    So yesterday it was TEAM ONTARIO. Today it was the Ontario Expos. 18u Wood Bat World Championship. Game 1, mostly uneventful with the exception of the Expos' catcher telling me three times to "call it both ways, Blue." I told him if he wishes to exit early, just keep defining the zone, and he knocked it off. 5th inning, Expos on defense, down 4-1, R1 & R2 double steal. Batter steps backwards and falls to the ground realizing his mistake. Runner's safe. No INT called as the throwing lane was never blocked. Batter stands up and says, "Sorry catch, I tried to get outta the way." Expos' catcher says, "Stay in the box like you're supposed to ... don't F--- with me." I called time, told the batter that "While our catcher is extremely rude and disrespectful, he is technically correct — the best thing you can do in that situation is hold your position or go straight down." I got nothing but "Yes Sirs" from the batter and eye rolls from the catcher. Expos Coach then pulled his catcher from the game without explanation. Final 4-1 Game 2, time had already expired in the bottom of the 5th with Expos down 7-5. Expos have R2, 2 outs, batter has 2-2 count. Batter swings at a pitch up & in, pitch hits his hand, he drops the bat and sprints to 1B as I call, "TIME! Strike 3. Batter's out. Ball Game." (Yes, we are instructed to say that here in tournament play.) So ... ALL HELL BREAKS LOOSE BETWEEN THE COACHES, PLAYERS, and PARENTS/FANS. One coach semi-politely asks, " Did that hit his hand or the bat?" I said, "His hand. Judging by his sprint to 1B, I think that's confirmed." I gathered my gear and my cooler as my partner started to walk in to meet me, and I looked up and was surrounded by the other two coaches and about four or five of the players pleading their case that it was a foul ball. To the HC I stated, "The batter swung and was hit in the hand. That's a dead ball strike. It's also strike 3. The game's over." (And then in happened .......................... ) "WHAT DO YOU MEAN? IF IT HITS HIS HAND, THAT'S A FOUL BALL!!!!" I asked, "Coach, are you serious? Please tell me you didn't just indirectly say that the hand is part of the bat." "WHEN HE'S SWINGING, IT IS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!" I said, "Coach, all y'all need to learn the rule, eh?" Then player #6 shouted, "Why don't you learn to call balls and strikes before you talk about rules! You don't even know how to do your job behind the plate!" "Coach, #6 is ejected. He sits next game." I'm out. I'm moving to another 18u Tournament that starts tomorrow. After that, I'm going to start a petition to build a wall ... only to keep out Ontarian baseball coaches and players ..... and make them pay for it ....... UPDATE: I have now been told by guys still calling that tourney with the Ontarian contingent of 5 teams that the TD wants the umpires to respect their culture, that they may have a different level of "tolerance" where they come from, that it's not our job to change their culture overnight, and we have to remember they are our "guests." TRANSLATION: The TD is a WHORE. He's a $1,250-per-team whore. (Yeah ... I said it ... )
  4. 3 likes
    My approach is that life is too short to suffer fools.
  5. 2 likes
    After you get them to read the rule you still might have a few who can't comprehend. Then you will have to print this from the PBUC/MLBUM, courtesy of @noumpere in another thread. Don't be disappointed however if one or two of your colleagues get halfway through and whine about why they made the rule so complicated and why can't the just give the coach a choice. Here's a complete (?) summary from PBUC: 7.9 CALLING "TIME" AFTER A BALK The penalty for balk allows the play to proceed without reference to the balk if the batter and all runners advance one base on the pitch following the balk (i.e., the actual pitch and/or action caused by the batter hitting the ball). The umpire shall not call "Time" until play stops following the balk. The question therefore arises as to when the umpire is to call "Time" to kill the ball after calling a balk. The following cases should help explain when play is considered "stopped" and a what moment the umpire should call "Time" following the call of balk: (1) If the pitcher balks and does not throw the ball, call "That's a balk; Time!" and enforce the balk. (2) If the balk is followed by a batted ball, leave the ball in play until it is apparent that the batter and all runners will not advance one base. At that moment, call "Time" and enforce the balk. If, however, the batter reaches first base and all runners advance at least one base on play following the balk, play proceeds without reference to the balk. EXAMPLES: (a) If a batted ball follows the balk and results in a fly ball that is caught, call "Time" the moment the fly ball is caught. Then enforce the balk. (b) If a batted ball follows the balk and results in a ground-out on a previous runner at the base to which he would be entitled because of the balk, call "Time" the moment the out is made. Then enforce the balk. (3) If the balk is followed by a pitch that is caught by the catcher, call "Time" the moment the catcher catches the ball. Then enforce the balk. (Note exception in ball four situations covered in item (5) below.) (4) If the balk is followed by a pick-off throw to a base that is caught by a fielder, call "Time" the moment the fielder catches the ball. Then enforce the balk. (5) If the balk is followed by ball four delivered to the batter and is caught by the catcher, call "Time" and enforce the balk unless all runners advance one base because of ball four. In that situation, play proceeds without reference to the balk. (6) If the balk is followed by a pitch that strikes the batter, call "Time" the moment the pitch strikes the batter. Then enforce the balk unless the hit batter forces all other runners to advance one base, in which case play proceeds without reference to the balk. (7) If the balk is followed by a wild throw to a base, the Approved Ruling of Official Baseball Rule 8.05 provides that the runner may advance beyond the base to which he is entitled at his own risk. In that situation the umpire shall call the balk in the usual manner but shall not call "Time" until all play has ceased (runners have stopped trying to advance and a fielder is in possession of the ball in the infield). (8) If the balk is followed by a wild pitch, the Approved Ruling of Official Baseball Rule 8.05 provides that the runner may advance beyond the base to which he is entitled at his own risk. In that situation, the umpire shall call the balk in the usual manner but shall not call "Time" until all play has ceased (runners have stopped trying to advance and an fielder is in possession of the ball in the infield). Note that even if the runner advances to or beyond the base to which he is entitled because of a wild pitch following a balk, the balk is still "acknowledged." That is, the pitch is nullified and the batter will resume the at-bat with the count that existed when the balk occurred unless: (a) The wild pitch was ball four on which all runners advanced one base; or (b) The wild pitch was strike three on which the batter and all other runners advanced one base. In both situations (a) and (b) above, play proceeds without reference to the balk, because all runners (including the batter-runner) advanced one base on the pitch following the balk.
  6. 2 likes
    Who is responsible for the batter runner if he stays at 2nd base in this situation? This is why we teach that you are responsible for runners...not bases. The plate umpire is responsible for the lead runner. The base umpire is responsible for the batter/runner.
  7. 2 likes
    GUYS! DID HE KNOW HE WAS OUT? He had his back to F3. If he thought F3 had tagged 1B it was normal baserunning.
  8. 2 likes
    Though you're welcome to read my detailed analysis ( Boston Files Protest Over Odd Interference No-Call ), allow me to posit just one question: Would it have been interference had, all else equal, Holliday executed an otherwise bona fide slide into second base, and in doing so, prevented Bogaerts from completing his throw? One of the key questions I answer in the analysis is whether a runner is legally allowed to retreat after/while being put out: is that a legitimate base-running act? We have a Case Play from Anaheim that deals with such a retreating runner.
  9. 2 likes
  10. 2 likes
    I agree with the quoted in the BRD, but I don't agree with the play result (iow, I agree with beerguy). In the McGwire play, the coach first grabbed McGwire to give a congratulatory hug (no advantage -- allowed). He then stepped back and pointed to first (no physical assistance -- allowed). Had the coach grabbed McGwire to pull him back to the base, the out would (or should) have been called. And, yes, the "advantage bar" can move during a dead ball award, and during a rare record-breaking event. But, it doesn't disappear.
  11. 2 likes
    Well whose fault is that?
  12. 2 likes
    Mud, I've never heard of such a thing either, but I would have no problem with that being implemented into a local tournament. I can honestly say that it would increase the "give a $hit" factor tenfold among some of the partners I work with around here. On the other hand, if the head coach loses his protest (and fee), I think the $$$ should go to the officiating crew, and be split evenly.
  13. 2 likes
    What am I ... chopped liver? (Re-quoting my answer from above...) So … regarding the OP, I think I'd lay low unless the coach insisted on an appeal and threatened a protest if not granted one. (new) AND THEN INVOLVE MYSELF IF IT GOT THAT FAR ...
  14. 2 likes
    And they're technically called half-swings when appealed ... "checking" the swing means he didn't make an attempt. The only two exceptions are: A) If you feel that the Defense is simply arguing balls and strikes under the guise of appealing a half-swing — or — B) In 2-man, with no one on, when a lefty makes a half-swing, and the PU calls it a checked swing (ball), and the defense asks for an appeal to the umpire standing in position A. (Around these parts, we won't grant it. And yes – I realize this is not discussed in the OBR book). So … regarding the OP, I think I'd lay low unless the coach insisted on an appeal and threatened a protest if not granted one. Now ... in reality, I doubt any coach would ever protest the game over this, because of the looming embarrassment of getting all the way through the protest, winning the protest, forcing the PU to ask his partner, "Did he go?" only to see the BU signal no swing. And that's exactly how it would go down, or we may have an inter-fraternal murder after the game.
  15. 1 like
    I recently read a post that made reference to an umpire stopping the game clock when he judged that a team was stalling to run out the clock in tournament play. I have always felt that this is an area that is badly neglected in tournament rules. I call tournaments, for example, where there is some vague phrase included such as, "stalling tactics will not be considered good sportsmanship if noted by the opposing team or the officiating crew." WTH does that mean? There's no mandate to do anything about it! Coaches who are playing tournament games unfortunately have to deal with the clock. Baseball in it's truest form simply cannot exist in today's world of pool play, schedules, teams traveling from out of town, umpire shift changes, etc, etc, etc. If the game comes down to the clock benefiting you either by running it out or stretching it, the head coach just has to learn how to manage the game clock. Absolutely no different than all other sports that have always had a game clock. Example: Home Team (Top of 5) has a 4-run lead with the weakest part of the opponents' lineup coming up. There are 12 minutes left on the clock, but we're only in the 5th inning. Now is the time to use up a lengthy visit to the mound, followed by one at-bat, followed by a pitching change. Everyone can do the math and see how much of the clock you can chew up if you think ahead. Maybe make another visit and another pitching change to be sure. What I despise seeing, is the head coach not paying attention to the clock until he's in the bottom of that 5th inning, and then tries to have a team meeting by the dugout, strolls slowly to the 3B box, gives a bogus set of signals on every pitch, has his batter call time twice while retying his shoes and succumbing to "Nomar's" disease with his batting gloves between every pitch. If the coach can't think ahead, he ought to be punished. Either by adding 5 minutes to the clock for any violation I judge to be intentional, or an out called for stalling. You could not even assign the out to a player. Just call time and declare, "That's ONE OUT — STALLING." If the coach argues, the clock stops — or restrict him immediately while the clock is stopped and continue.
  16. 1 like
    Why am I getting a captcha puzzle sometimes and sometimes a captcha start but no puzzle when I go to U-E?
  17. 1 like
    No outs. R2 — BU Has long fly ball to the LC GAP. I'm watching R2 round 3rd and score. BU is watching throw in and B-R sliding into 2B. Who really expects PU or BU to watch B-R touch 1B? Anyone other than a coach who's trying to make the Crew look bad as he's frustrated with his F1?
  18. 1 like
    18u Tourney. FED Rules. Bottom of 7, home team down 5-2, 2 outs. B-R bunts and I call him safe at 1B on a banger. DHC very politely asks if I'll get help. F3 came off the bag and got back on too late. Call stood after brief conference. Next batter grounded out to F6 who made a fantastic play and another banger at 1B. I had both coaches sign the Game Card, and the losing coach said, "Now why would you end the game on a call like that? We were fightin' back and you were just worried about the previous call where they questioned you. He was safe all the way on the last play." 1) What is a proper response? 16u Tournament and losing team gets mercied after four innings 10-0. Team couldn't throw a strike. Only one minor argument from coach all game. I had both coaches sign the Game Card, and the losing coach said, "You guys are a total disgrace to the game." 2) What is a proper response?
  19. 1 like
    So does yours.
  20. 1 like
    This part of the rule book (pg. 75) involves doctoring the baseball. (2) expectorate on the ball, either hand or his glove; (3) rub the ball on his glove, person or clothing; (4) apply a foreign substance of any kind to the ball; (5) deface the ball in any manner; or (6) deliver a ball altered in a manner prescribed by Rule 6.02(c)(2) through (5) or what is called the “shine” ball, “spit” ball, “mud” ball or “emery” ball. The pitcher is allowed to rub the ball between his bare hands. (7) Have on his person, or in his possession, any foreign sub- stance. These are the instances that has an option. It does not apply to quick pitches and not in contact with rubber illegal pitches. With runners on base, balk. @Senor Azul case example applicable to op, and something tells me if I look at my 2016 Wendelstedt, I'd find the same case example. Not one of 2017 changed involves illegal pitches. May be in the future be more clear about what you are quoting. Myths get started when the rule book is taken out of context.
  21. 1 like
  22. 1 like
    I have been instructed that the distance is not the concern, Rather, it is so PU does not have to take a throw over his shoulder for a play at the plate in the case of an overthrow.
  23. 1 like
    I bet you're a BLAST at parties.
  24. 1 like
    Inside. ...However, you might want to make sure on this...I actually haven't been there in the new ballpark. The old park the line formed in the LF stands....Check with someone who's been to the new park....But do check it out. So much history out there.
  25. 1 like
    This was at the PBUC evaluation course in Vero Beach.
  26. 1 like
    Yankee Stadium. Get there early so you can visit monument park. I believe the entrance (line) to the monuments begins down the LF line. And then get yourself some garlic fries!
  27. 1 like
    I agree, Brian, but it was funny as hell to watch. Life's too short to always go textbook.
  28. 1 like
    My second umpire instructor ever, my first in the state of TN, would answer every coach who argued balls and strikes the same way on their first outburst in a game: "Coach, That pitch entered that area over home plate, the upper limit of which is a horizontal line at the midpoint between the top of the batter's shoulders and the top of the uniform pants, and the lower level that is a line at the hollow beneath the kneecap. It was also determined from the batter’s stance as the batter was prepared to swing at the pitched ball." If there was a (2nd or more) outburst, he'd go traditional: ignore - warn - eject. I would fight to get assigned with him just so I could hear his carefully memorized reply. It was priceless.
  29. 1 like
    The rule book in every code says, "A coach or player may not object to a judgment call." Reality check — "On a simple call of judgment where it's as simple as I say he beat it and you say he didn't, I'm giving you no time to vent. Play ball." They may object all day and night if they would like.
  30. 1 like
    How many umpires does it take to change a light bulb? None. Because the GOAT has already taken care of it. Heheheheee
  31. 1 like
    So here's a general question for the group. What good does explaining your call on a standard safe/out play at first do? We're talking no pulled foot possibility, no swipe tag, just a standard safe/out. If I call him safe, obviously I had the runner beating the ball. There's no other reason to call him safe. So when the coach comes out and tells me "Well we saw it differently," shouldn't we just say "Okay" and get on with the game?
  32. 1 like
    To me, this is perfectly legitimate. All of the phoney stalling technics are not. Premeditated stalling techniques that are not obvious, such as I stated in my OP, are fine as well.
  33. 1 like
    Bench Jockeying.
  34. 1 like
    While I find your response beyond clever and hilarious, have you any input on punishing (penalizing) stalling tactics in baseball?
  35. 1 like
    This is our Achille's Heel. I'm envious of your situation.
  36. 1 like
    (Heard on an unnamed mic'd up MLB ump during and argument over a bunt offer 13 years ago.) Coach: "Come on, he didn't offer — he was just defending himself!!" Ump: "I'll give ya that, Coach — and if he's defending himself … WITH F---ING BAT, it's a strike!"
  37. 1 like
  38. 1 like
  39. 1 like
    Most of the students in my classes at school learn a lot. They embrace the opportunities presented and excel. Some choose to not accept the insight, critique, or knowledge and do not improve as much as they might even though they attend on a regular basis. Umpire camps are the same way. Attendance is indicative of nothing other than being present.
  40. 1 like
    WTF? I have attended 3 NCAA camps and zero HS camps.
  41. 1 like
    1) Re-Read the OP. 2) Well, buy it. The only camps I attend are NCAA camps.
  42. 1 like
    Not the way we're trained around here if a coach asks politely … neither at the FED nor NCAA level. Coaches do appreciate it, and they know that to argue post-conference means Restriction or Ejection.
  43. 1 like
    As Specks alluded to above, both of these coaches were signing cards after they had been eliminated from said tournaments. I really really really almost ejected example number two. I suppose I could have gone to the tournament director and forced the issue that this coach shall not be able to coach his first game of the next tournament of the same brand of baseball. And example number one, I actually thought he was joking with me at first, until I asked him flat out… And he said no, he wasn't. Now how is that any less personal to imply then I got talked into a call or guilted into a make-up call because of the previous call, and thus, ended their tournament because of it? I guess because he didn't sound nearly as mean-spirited about it, I just walked away.
  44. 1 like
    Let me take a crack at this. 1 & 2) If a batter "checked" his swing ... it means he "stopped" it, and did not attempt to hit the pitch. The problem is that half swing and checked swing are erroneously often used interchangeably. 3 & 4) In OBR (MLB), noumpere answered best. It is a consistent rule across all brands. Unfortunately, in FED (High School Rules), the wording isn't quite as clear. 10-1-4a is not worded as well as it needs to be. There isn't a Casebook play that helps either. You have to go to the Umpires Manual to get what you're seeking ... and ZERO coaches and FEW umpires ever actually read it. 13) Prerequisites for Good Umpiring (Paragraph 3) Page 6; "Additionally, there are some calls that cannot be changed. These include calls on close force plays, tags on non-force situations where the ball is not dropped, a checked swing when a strike is first called, and the catch or no catch of a fair fly with runners on base. I don't understand Maven's answer that says, "No, why would they?" I think he misread one of your four points. We have base coaches all the time asking the plate ump to "get help" or "check him" when the plate ump called a half swing a strike, and the base coaches want the Base Ump to overturn it to a ball. Cannot be done under any rules set. (And these are High School Coaches, so don't feel too badly if you didn't know the rule). So: 1) Only the defense can appeal a half swing (obviously that has been called a ball). 2) Once a pitch is called a strike, it cannot be changed to a ball under any circumstances, whether initially, or on appeal, whether a live ball or a dead ball. 3) A coach may not come out of the dugout or the coach's box to argue the result of an appealed half swing — regardless of the final ruling ... THAT is when it is arguing balls and strikes. Rats will say, "I'm not arguing balls and strikes, I'm arguing that he didn't go around!" And that's why they are called rats. in HS, we put our hand up and say, "Don't take another step!" and if they do, they are immediately restricted. If they proceed to argue after being restricted, they are ejected for two reasons: Continuing to argue balls and strikes, and failing to return to the dugout after being restricted. Let me throw in one last example: Suppose there are two strikes on the batter, and the plate ump rules that he swung at a pitch and the pitch hit the batter's hand. The plate ump will declare "TIME" and rule strike three ... batter is out. It's commonly known as a dead ball strike. There are offensive base coaches who think they can ask the plate ump for an appeal to determine whether the batter really did swing. The answer is, "No, coach ... I ruled it a swing, and it cannot be appealed. Batter is out." If the plate ump has any question on whether it hit the batter's hand or the bat, which may change it from a strikeout to a foul ball, he is certainly allowed to consult with his partner(s).