Register or Sign In to remove these ads

Leaderboard


Popular Content

Showing most liked content on 05/15/2017 in all areas

  1. 5 likes
    How about these? They're black, so you'd have the standard look. Plenty of ventilation. They're not 'baseball specific', but they are certainly multi-functional. They're comfortable, and they look decent.
  2. 4 likes
    Agreed. However, way too often, the attitude is "that was unusual, I don't know the rule, but it went against my team so it must be wrong. I should argue." The attitude should be "that was unusual, I don't know the rule, I'll look it up. If the umpire was wrong, I'll respectfully inform him, and then we'll all know better the next time." Of course, in the latter case, the game would be called because of too many pigs flying over the field.
  3. 4 likes
  4. 4 likes
    At the High School or College Levels? Never. That's coaching. Don't go looking for trouble, but for God's sake, don't lose sleep over what was described in the OP. It's not much different than an outfielder making a diving catch and then not "showing the ball." Or a catcher catching a very low foul tip for strike 3 (where you hear his mitt hit the ground), then he doesn't immediately show you the ball. If you're gonna make me guess, I may guess wrong, and it's your fault.
  5. 3 likes
    I just give my best Porky Pig impression and say "Th-Th-The, Th-Th-The, Th-Th... That's all, folks!" Is that wrong?
  6. 3 likes
    I pregame this. If I'm BU, I tell my partner that if I don't make any call, I didn't see what happened and to make a call. There are times, particularly with multiple runners, where something may happen behind me while my focus has to be elsewhere.
  7. 3 likes
    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G930A using Tapatalk
  8. 3 likes
    According to 47% of USAns, that's how you pick a President.
  9. 3 likes
    dude wants to play with fire by hotdogging like this, dude gonna get burned....you did him a favor, but only time will tell if he embraces the lesson
  10. 3 likes
    I 12-year old told an umpire "you do your job and I'll do mine?". That 12-year old's "job" would have been sitting on the bench and running wind sprints until he puked if I were his coach.
  11. 2 likes
    And if that doesn't work... https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T1XgFsitnQw [note: how do you embed these, anyway?]
  12. 2 likes
    I see this as a possible MLB work stoppage protest move - pitcher throws a meatball, batter bunts it into fair territory, and nobody moves...see how long the fans boo before they leave. And how long does PU keep pointing to fair territory.
  13. 2 likes
    Or, since pulling this off depends on somebody not seeing it happen... "The true test of a man's character is what he does when no one is watching."
  14. 2 likes
    The signal I use is roll the balls to the home team and walk to the gate. If we are cancelling due to weather, we tell the coaches in a short meeting, so no signal needed. I have never seen or heard of a signal in the books. I have one partner that we will signal by giving the 2 outs signal and point towards the gate when we are down to the last out. This is real subtle and just between us
  15. 2 likes
    You guys should really get some sleep...I'm closing this one also.
  16. 2 likes
    At every level I officiate we are told to do that, College to rec ball. This year in college with the new balk rule we are suppose to warn the pitcher during his warm ups if he isn't falling the new rule, and that is from the NCAA, Its actually covered in one of the Videos on the Hub if you have access to it. Most coaches I've every work with appreciate this as long as you do it on both sides.
  17. 2 likes
    It's in the back of all the code's umpire manuals under signals. "game" hands up.
  18. 2 likes
    Well, one of your answers is straight from the rule book, so...
  19. 2 likes
    I was caught In the middle of a heated rules post I looked round And I knew, knew I was toast My mind raced And I thought what could I do And I knew There was no help, no help from you Sound of the drums Beating in my heart The thunder of guns Tore me apart You've been Mavenstruck
  20. 2 likes
    "It's within the rules"? How so?
  21. 2 likes
    You're sounding more like an umpire than a coach every time you post.
  22. 2 likes
    This play (as of this time) works far more often than it doesn't. It's not about inattention - it's specifically meant to exploit a hole in a two man umpiring crew. Plate ump is looking up the first baseline for fair/foul, base ump is looking at first for the play on the batter - the runner at third is a secondary priority to both umpires. If neither ump peaks to third at the right time, it's going to work. And that's not accounting for the times where the defense doesn't even notice. And as long as it continues to work more often than it doesn't teams will continue to run it. It's a trick play, it's within the rules, and offers a measureable risk/reward - and will be run anytime it appears the reward outweighs the risk (which is also why people continue to smuggle drugs).
  23. 2 likes
    Me too. "Do me a favor and be sure I get a good look at control before you flip the ball up" — during warmups — does NOT tell him how to play or give him any kind of tactical advantage unavailable to the other team. It's not coaching. It DOES remind him what we're looking for and point up a risk he's taking in that regard. That's preventive officiating. And, when he decides to showboat in a way that takes away an obvious out, and coach comes out fuming, we can report our earlier conversation with F3. Coach's attention should then immediately turn to F3 for being an idiot. And that's game management.
  24. 2 likes
    Wow..you guys are harsh. I grew up playing 1B. Any play @1B that wasn't close with the bases empty, I'd catch the ball, flip the ball up, catch it in my bare hand, and crow hop off the bag to start the throw around the horn. In all my years playing I only had one OOO call a runner safe. The most obvious FYC I was ever part of. No, it didn't teach me anything and I only stopped doing it in that game. Rest of that game, every put out, I held the ball in the glove, foot on the base and showed the BU the glove, like a fielder would do after making a tag play. My little FU back at him the rest of the night. Yeah, I was a cocky little bastard...but a damn good F3.
  25. 2 likes
    The best part is: not only were you right, but you provided the right reason. Might help some other umpire down the road (and educate players & parents).
  26. 2 likes
    I haven't found any one good way to adjust, so I just do what @Kevin_K and @noumpere suggest. It's imperfect at best, but it's all I've got.
  27. 2 likes
    I see! A lot of people don't know that the 15" Douglas is wider than the 12 and 13". You can actually order yourself a 15 from Douglas, and have Jeff cut it down for you to the length you like. This way you get the width you need along w/ the length for better coverage
  28. 2 likes
    I'm not sure why you would even give this guy the time of day? He's on the other side of the fence. If he becomes a problem, which apparently he did, go to the home team coach and have him handle it. If he doesn't, put the burden on him and let him know he'll be the one taking a hike if he doesn't quite him down. Nothing good can come from talking to "fans" thru a fence regarding this type of behavior. Just my opinion.
  29. 2 likes
    There's a horrifically bad thread on Facebook about this play with many umpires claiming this is FPSR and two outs should be called. Some even claim to have spoken to their state rules interpreter and that they say it's FPSR, which is almost impossible for me to believe. If we call FPSR on this play, then defenses will be drilling runners in the back anytime they're close to a base standing up. Dear God man, make it stop.
  30. 1 like
    Provided they are clean and predominantly black and white, if your shoes ever get you a demerit by an evaluator or assigner, then that evaluator should be staked down in the dirt behind 2B for a "few" (open to interpretations) minutes during daylight hours here in Arizona, or Texas, or California, or Nebraska... or heck, anywhere. If you perseverate on wearing the polished leather shoes "of the Big League guys", you're just askin' to cook your feet in no-time-flat on a daytime game. There's no shade, no respite, no refuge from that overbearing sun. I'll likely get several more pairs of shoes for the summer. The vast majority of guys here in Arizona wear fitness shoes, while a noticeable number of these guys (myself included) wear Nike Air Max's of some variety. It's just so damned hot here, and we're on our feet, on that hard, sunblasted ground, so much. I hardly wear my NB 950's because they are "heavy" leather and don't breathe as well as the fabric-esque fitness shoes like Nikes and UnderArmour now have. Heck, go for Skechers... who cares? As long as you keep them clean and in good condition.
  31. 1 like
    Which is why the second half of my post, which you decided to ignore, is important to complete the context of the statement. Besides, I never suggested it was a "force out", which is defined in the rule book. I was commenting on whether or not the batter was "forced" to go to first, which is defined in the dictionary. Sometimes when people talk they are not speaking "baseball" they are speaking "English".
  32. 1 like
    However, if F2 records the out at 2B, the UI is ignored...........................and I'm buying him a hotdog after the game.
  33. 1 like
    This topic is done.
  34. 1 like
    Try again... The rule you've quoted deals with bat boys/girls, security, etc. The first sentence should have given that away when it says anyone OTHER THAN players, coaches or umpires... The last time I checked a rostered player in the bullpen was a player. And the rule I quoted was actually 8-3-n. (Page 76 to be exact.) The penalty is the same, regardless, but the verbiage makes a difference.
  35. 1 like
    All of what you said here is wrong. I have no problem of warning a pitcher during warm-ups...in fact, it's expected, and I was about to use that as an additional example of what preventative officiating is.
  36. 1 like
    Actually it is under spectator interference in the NCAA rule book. It says "When a spectator or any other individual interferes intentionally with any thrown or batted ball, the ball is dead at the moment of interference and the umpire shall impose such penalties as will nullify the act of interference "
  37. 1 like
    They really don't need to be shined. Clean them up with mild soap and water and call it good.
  38. 1 like
    This is a good one because there are some subtleties to it. I do not agree with the call as you described it. Fielders have the right to field a batted ball unimpeded by the offense. Simply bobbling the ball does not rise to the level of having had your one chance. Where this interpretation should be applied would be to a fielder who boots the ball and has to make a second effort to move and pick it up. We use the criteria called "a step and a reach" away from the original chance to field it. So did the fielder have to step and reach to try to get the ball again? If so, I'd have obstruction. If not, no I don't. And if the runner did something to affect the fielder's ability during his initial effort, you'd have interference.
  39. 1 like
    As a coach I would never call it, but not for the reasons you may think. I don't have anyone on my team who can reliably bunt, nor run at any speed that isn't measured on a sun dial. And, I'm more likely than not to have a .400 hitter standing at the plate. And, most importantly, it's not a play I have ever practiced. But, given the right situation - fast guy on second, weak hitter at plate, weak hitter on deck, weak hitters on bench, weak umpiring crew, I wouldn't be above trying it....provided the play has actually been practiced, and perfected, and the players know the sign for it...which will never happen on a team I coach...chicken meet egg. A coach will play to his team's strengths and weaknesses - and game strategy will be dictated by the speed, consistency, and quality (or lack thereof) of the lineup. And sometimes, losing a lot just gets to you, and there is a breaking point where you'll sell your left arm to push a single run across the plate. It's simple enough to say "hit better" - but the reality is you work on mechanics in the off season. Once season starts, for the most part, you got what you got, and outside of fixing timing issues, any limitations your hitters have in game one will be there in game 80. Fundamentally though, the decision to run this play is a short term one, not long term. If it is indeed the move that gives you the best chance to score that run, that's as far as the benefit goes. You're not helping your team or hitters long term teaching this tactic. Much like a coach I ran across in 10U who taught his players to look for walks and not swing until they had two strikes. Sure, walking in five runs an inning gave his team the best chance to win but I can guarantee you not a single one of those kids knows how to hit today.
  40. 1 like
    There is no special term of art. It is the batter being retired by the defense tagging him or first base before the batter touches the base. OBR5.09(10). A force play, by definition, involves a runner, distinguished from a batter or batter-runner, losing his right to occupy a base by the batter becoming a runner. Obviously, a batter or batter-runner does not yet occupy or have a right to occupy a base. So a batter-runner being thrown out at first is not a force play, but simply a retired batter. Rich just got here before me!
  41. 1 like
    Because a force play is defined in the rules and the batter isn't forced as defined in the rules. That's why the separate exceptions. See the definitions. A FORCE PLAY is a play in which a runner legally loses his right to occupy a base by reason of the batter becoming a runner. As to why he is out at first if it isn't a force, that is in the rules also. 5.09 Making an Out (a) Retiring the Batter A batter is out when: (10) After a third strike or after he hits a fair ball, he or first base is tagged before he touches first base;
  42. 1 like
    Like the man said, "Sports doesn't build character, it reveals it."
  43. 1 like
    Math is math. Your emotional attachment to moral gravitas has no bearing on whether or not missing third base or muling cocaine is smart or dumb. Don't let yourself get indignant about the play in question, believing the coach should "play the game right", and cloud the simple truth of the risk/reward of the play compared to the risk/reward of playing "straight up". If this play works only 50% of the time you are well ahead because with one or none out runners on second base score far less than that. This play is being called because it's working far more often than it doesn't. And until that changes teams will continue to try it. Likewise, as long as the penalty is minimal, the rewards are great, and the chances of getting caught are microscopic, MLB and MiLB players will continue to use PED's. Doesn't matter how dumb you think it is. The math leads to large bank accounts. With a runner on second base and one out why would you drop a sacrifice bunt to move him to third base???
  44. 1 like
    Very easy. If you miss the base, the defense has to put in a proper appeal. If they properly appeal and the umpire saw the infraction you are out. If they don't properly appeal, or if the umpire didn't see it, or if the umpire judges you touched the base, you are safe. All of that is within the rules. No different than tripping in hockey, or holding in football. You can choose to commit those infractions at any time you want...if nobody sees it, or if the officials judge you did not pass the standard/threshold of the infraction, there is no penalty. Otherwise, you serve a penalty defined within the rules - out, free throw, free kick, two minutes in the box, ten yards, whatever. You don't automatically forfeit a game if you commit pass interference, or hooking, or double dribbling, or missing third base. It's within the rules. The rules define the infraction, the penalty for said infraction, and, more importantly, the conditions under which the penalty should be assessed and judged. Every player, if they are savvy enough, makes a conscious decision to commit an infraction, based on the benefits of doing so vs the penalties, against the chances of getting away with it. ALL of it is within the rules. And it ain't illegal if you don't get caught.
  45. 1 like
    I can't imagine this will be a good idea in practice since it is eminently corruptible and ripe for cronyism. There are a number of reasons why having an association and assignor are good ideas, not the least of which is it's a centrally managed model employing people who have a number of umpires at their disposal and can make changes to schedules fairly quickly. Also, if this undercuts an existing association that has some recognized or agreed-upon structure in place, they'll no longer make any money. Seems like a lawsuit wouldn't be far behind if doing this adversely affects the status quo and violates existing agreements.
  46. 1 like
    Both end when I holler "Ballgame!"
  47. 1 like
    Nope. It was a foul ball. What would happen on any other foul ball? Same here.
  48. 1 like
    We literally don't even have an association in my area.
  49. 1 like
    Pick this up at about 2 min... sometimes you're just not gonna find it... focus on the zone that you CAN see, and use the catcher's glove to help you.
  50. 1 like
    Are we really discussing this for FED? It's 5 freakin feet people. Diagrams drawn to scale or not, it's 5 feet. Again... It's 5 feet! This discussion comes from the same people that have to approximate (read: JUDGE) the 'midpoint between the top of the batters shoulders and the top of the uniform pant. Come on guys... Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk