Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

All Activity

This stream auto-updates     

  1. Past hour
  2. Rich Ives

    Force Play

    If there was a tie then the call would be safe. By rule.
  3. From the better late than never department, today's Teachable Moment concerning Red Sox SS Xander Bogaerts' sliding attempt to save a live ball from entering the dugout involves many umpire considerations for this complex boundary call. Fumbled ball leads to a tricky coverage play.The first... [[ This is a content summary only. Visit my website for full links, other content, and more! ]] View the full article
  4. Richvee

    Force Play

    In the case of MLB instant replay, there are no ties. The call was safe or out. If the replay judges it's so close as to say it's a virtual "tie", the call on the field will stand. Therefore, it's not a tie.
  5. Rich Ives

    Force Play

    Rationalization.
  6. tpatience

    ISO F3 V2 mask

    Found. Thank you
  7. Today
  8. BT_Blue

    umpire pants used in LL World Series

    They have been the supplier for quite a few years now if memory serves. FWIW, I also found Honigs pants (I only ever wore the polywool) to have the same issue. Especially the plate pants.
  9. BT_Blue

    LLWS 2018

    Boo to this!
  10. ricka56

    Is the game over?

    This Ask the Umpire question would make sense with the following corrections: Runners on the corners with 1 out. Batter hits a fly ball to right, which is caught. Runner at 3rd tags up legally and scores. However, the batter runner on first never re-touches first base. He just walks into the dugout. Is the game really over at this point? Doesn't the batter runner on first have to complete the play and re-touch first base? And the answer would be, yes, the game is over even if the defense appealed the runner on first's failure to retouch 1B after the run scored. That out would not be not a force play, it is an appeal ... a "time play". If that out happened before the run scored, then the run would not count. If that out happened after the run scored, then the run would count...game over.
  11. beerguy55

    Runner throw out then hit with the ball

    OBR/MLB this is an out. It's a retired runner who interfered with a subsequent play on a runner, and said retired runner was not simply advancing/retreating the bases. No intent required for retired runner interference. Otherwise, with R3 and a fly ball to F9, I simply round first base, and then casually make my way back to the either dugout in a path that crosses F9's throw to the plate. I'm not trying to get hit...but I'm not trying to not get hit either...and possibly screening F2 is a bonus...I'm not doing anything "intentionally". For this reason this SHOULD be an out if FED too, but I don't think they agree with me. Interesting that the FED definition for a retired runner includes a scored runner (which confuses the notion of a "retired" runner interfering with a double play). That's a lazy argument. There are many scenarios where everyone is doing what they should be doing but runners/fielders are correctly called for INT/OBS. I'm not giving a free pass to a kid who obliviously runs across the infield during a live play and gets in the way. There's a difference between what the kid in the OP did, and returning to either dugout via foul territory...or, at the very least, actually watching where the ball is going to avoid it - which, without a last second deflection, makes this moot as he would not have been hit otherwise. As the other coach, I'm arguing this all day long, and protesting. As his coach, I'm not arguing an out call - I'm making him do laps and push-ups.
  12. beerguy55

    Is a runner out

    Well, I'll go a little further (or, more accurately, backwards)...since the runner on first was never actually tagged in the OP, the simple answer is "no, because the runner was never tagged". The others above have eloquently and accurately described how and when the runner would be out.
  13. beerguy55

    Force Play

    Very easy. Unless there is incontrovertible evidence that the call on the field was wrong (overturned), OR there is incontrovertible evidence that the call on the field was right (confirmed), the call stands. This has nothing to do with whether there are ties, and what an umpire should or should not do in case of one. Video replay is about whether or not the call on the field was wrong. If video replay was done at a bar, rather than an officiating head office - If in a room of 50 unbiased people all 50 can look at the video and say the call is wrong, then then it's overturned. If all 50 can say it was right, it is confirmed. If there's a mix, or doubt, or hesitation, or debate, or fence sitting, it stands. Well, sure, at the molecular level to an infinite number of decimal places, that is correct. But at the same time, at a molecular/atomic level no two objects ever come in contact with each other - so no runner ever touches a base, no fielder ever tags a base, no fielder ever catches a ball, no glove/ball ever tags a runner, and no ball ever hits a bat. Nobody can ever get out, nor score a run.
  14. Aging_Arbiter

    Force Play

    I see 4 ties.
  15. Richvee

    Force Play

    There are no ties
  16. grk17

    TW Retrofitted Platinum

    Sold. @Thunderheads
  17. stkjock

    LLWS 2018

    all games postponed https://www.littleleague.org/world-series/2018/llbws/news/update-little-league-baseball-world-series-games-scheduled-tuesday-august-21-postponed-due-weather-concerns/
  18. Guest

    Force Play

    In MLB, how can there possibly be a “call stands” ruling on a force play unless there is a clear obstruction of the camera angle? The rule, contrary to what most—if not all—umpires will say, gives benefit to the runner in case of a tie... “...The defense can retire the runner by tagging the next base before he arrives...” As such if it is not absolutely clear that the defense beat the batter-runner to the base, (considering the availability of stop motion or freeze-frame instant replay) then the batter-runner must be declared safe. Yes, Tie goes to the runner. The rulebook says so in that if there is an instance of a tie, then the defense cannot be ruled to have tagged the base before the runner arrived. One “pop” is a tie. Runner is safe.
  19. NorthTexasUmp

    Pitcher Steps off plate and throws to catcher

    If he does, it is Batter's Interference. With less than 2 outs, the runner is out. With 2 outs, the batter is out.
  20. If a pitcher steps back off pitcher's plate and throws to catcher when runner on third is trying to steal home, can the batter still bunt or hit the ball?
  21. Aging_Arbiter

    LLWS 2018

    edit - yep
  22. stkjock

    LLWS 2018

    wonder if the two later games will be played? edit - should have read the link
  23. Aging_Arbiter

    LLWS 2018

    Breaking News: LLBWS Consolation Game B Postponed Due to Weather Concerns
  24. stkjock

    LLWS 2018

    fake news
  25. stkjock

    Is the game over?

    why would the game be over with two outs? the play is complete for the batter when RF catches the ball Unless the run scored was in the bottom of the last inning or extras - play on.... two outs - next batter
  26. Thatsnotyou

    LLWS 2018

    Found on the front page of MSN: http://www.msn.com/en-us/sports/more-sports/watch-umpire-gets-in-way-during-walk-off-at-little-league-world-series/ar-BBMcuUX?ocid=ientp
  27. spiffdawg7

    Is the game over?

    Why would the batter have to touch first base after he is out? What would be the penalty to him anyways, since he is already out? You wouldn't be able to call him out a second time.
  1. Load more activity


×