Register or Sign In to remove these ads

All Activity

This stream auto-updates   

  1. Past hour
  2. No biggie. Frankly, I didn't even notice the first time I read it that the post had "out of bounds."
  3. That's a pretty long narrative for a play where the offense advanced no runners and the defense recorded no outs.
  4. @maven and @noumpere Sorry guys! I guess I was reading it too literally. Now I get it. I need to remember where this question was asked.
  5. It's not just you. Tortured syntax is a by-product of committees writing.
  6. If the batter wasn't upset and asking for time why should the PU interject himself into the game? Cards were right to be POed.
  7. I don't see the big deal; it's a time call for Pete's sake. If the umpire feels he needs time so be it. He clearly came out with the "time" call before the pitcher began his delivery, so those comments on the CCS article are nonsense. I always hate it when teams chirp about "calling time when the pitcher was already started" - by the time you decide you're going to call time and verbalize/signal it, sure the pitcher could be starting his delivery, but so it goes. He also could have sat there for another 5 seconds for all we knew. There had to have been some other bad blood boiling between the umpire and the Cardinals in order to get that reaction out of them, and it sounds like there was. Some of the comments on the article about the umpire being the aggressor are pretty unfair IMO...Molina pretty clearly and aggressively starts the confrontation.
  8. Today
  9. Thanks noumpere. I appreciate the quick response! I know I've seen this play and that's what bothers me most. I guess when I see the OR comment I'm thinking it reads: A baserunner may not return to a preceding base, after the ball has been declared dead, OR if he has touched a succeeding base, or after a following baserunner has scored. When your stating it should read: A baserunner may not return to a preceding base after the ball has been declared dead if he has touched a succeeding base, or after a following baserunner has scored. I dunno, I'm likely just not an expert at reading things but the sentence to me is a bit misleading! I tried to find something along the lines of Rule 5.06(a)/5.06 (c) Comment (Rule 7.01 Comment): but I couldn't. Thanks again
  10. Isn't U2 at the edge of the grass in LF in order to cover 3B if U3 goes out? As far as I can tell CCA and PBUC have U1 take the BR to 2B if the PU is staying home with an R3.
  11. IF you were being sarcastic / literal -- I agree (I almost posted the same thing because of that). But, given the section we are in, and how I read the post in it's entirety, I think it's more likely that Maven's interp is correct -- the OP meant "fair" and "foul" and not "in bounds" and "out of bounds."
  12. Likely. First, I don't see that the ball has become dead. Second, even if it was, R2 was still between second and third, so he would return to second -- R1 can't stay there. Third, the rule really means "can't LEGALLY return" -- so if R1 had left first early (didn't "tag up") and reached second (and the timing of this might matter), and R2 reached third, and the ball became dead, the R1 can't correct his error of leaving early by returning to first. Or, if there's R1 and R3 and R1 steals (hoping to draw a throw) and F1 gets the ball, then R1 can't go back to first either to draw a throw or to set up the steal again.
  13. Unless softball (or Slopitch Canada specifically) has some weird rule, returning the ball to the pither does not make it dead. But, yes, runners can return to a base until some defined point in time (and I'll have to wait for someone who does that level to give you the specific rule that applies). (In the meantime, here's the OBR rule; Rule 5.06(a)/5.06 (c) Comment (Rule 7.01 Comment): If a runner legally acquires title to a base, and the pitcher assumes his pitching position, the runner may not return to a previously occupied base.) If you think about it, you've surely seen a runner reach the next base and then return.
  14. 20 mins left for a Nike TI..not my auction http://www.ebay.com/itm/Nike-Catcher-Umpire-Mask-Black-Used/122645782249?_trkparms=aid%3D111001%26algo%3DREC.SEED%26ao%3D1%26asc%3D20160908105057%26meid%3D18b93c7b87274b0caa05930a29a3967d%26pid%3D100675%26rk%3D1%26rkt%3D15%26mehot%3Des%26sd%3D122645782249&_trksid=p2481888.c100675.m4236&_trkparms=pageci%3A69ec33f6-8371-11e7-9904-74dbd180bfdf%7Cparentrq%3Af13cc87815d0ac8077a6decefffdbadd%7Ciid%3A1
  15. http://slo-pitch.com/sites/default/files/forms/2017_SPN-Rulebook_WEB_1.pdf My belief is that what you said was true (they can) but I read this today: Sec. 9 BASERUNNERS MAY AND SHALL RETURN TO BASES AT VARIOUS TIMES: A. Baserunners required to return, or attempting to return when the ball is in play, must touch each base in regular legal reverse order. If a batter-baserunner or baserunner abandons a base and enters his team area or leaves the field of play, the batter-baserunner or baserunner shall be declared out immediately when he enters his team area or leaves the field of play. EFFECT Sec. 9 A 1. Batter-baserunners or baserunners are in jeopardy until they get back to their base when the ball is alive. 2. A baserunner may not return to a preceding base, after the ball has been declared dead, if he has touched a succeeding base, or after a following baserunner has scored. 3. A baserunner may not return to retouch a missed base after a following runner has scored. B. Two baserunners may not occupy the same base simultaneously. EFFECT Sec. 9 B The first baserunner touching a base shall be entitled to occupy it until he has touched the next base legally, or is forced to leave the base due to the batter becoming a baserunner. The following baserunner may be put out by being tagged with the ball. C. A baserunner shall not run bases in reverse order so as to confuse the fielders, or to make a travesty of the game. EFFECT Sec. 9 C The baserunner shall be declared out and the ball is dead. D. A batter-baserunner or baserunner may not return to touch a missed base or one he had left illegally, once he enters his team area or out of play territory. EFFECT Sec. 9 D Once a batter-baserunner or baserunner, who has not yet been declared out, enters his team area or out of play territory and returns to the field of play in an attempt to touch a missed base, he is to be called out immediately. EFFECT Sec 9 A #2 - "if he has touched a succeeding base" Am I misinterpreting this?
  16. With R3 only and U3 going out (which is the play we are now discussing), U2 goes to second. He's there for BR on a double or any play at second. If there's a potential for a play at third, then we have the two options -- U2 takes BR to third and U1 comes behind to cover second, or PU goes to third and U1 goes home (the timing of BU's and PU's movement varies of course -- I don't mean to imply that either only moves when BR commits to third or anything).
  17. What's the rule that governs this? A runner can return to a base until the ball has become dead? (e.g returned to pitcher)?
  18. Hey Guys, SPN (Slopitch Canada) question. Runner on 1st (R1) and 2nd (R2). Fly ball to OF, caught. Runners tag, R1 makes it to 2B and occupies. R2 goes halfway to third and retreats back. Can R1 return to 1st still and free up 2B so R2 can return to it? Thanks
  19. I don't think some mechanics do this--- "No. U2 stays at second, U1 stays at first." With U3 going out U2 would be headed to 3B on a fly ball and U1 would take the BR to 2B if the ball was uncaught. But maybe on a base hit like the OP where U3 went out for fair foul and/or Spec. Int. that would be what would be what would happen.
  20. Now that is funny.
  21. Saw and read this article. Pretty interesting. I'm lucky enough not to have seen this play since my really early days umpiring youth baseball. No HS team has pulled this yet. http://www.espn.com/mlb/story/_/id/20294816/skunk-outfield-how-most-epic-trick-play-history-broke-baseball
  22. First of all, I suspect that by "out of bounds" the OP meant "foul ground." It would be highly unusual for a ball that lands anywhere in fair territory to go out of play before 1B. If that's right, then OP doesn't say whether the ball passed first base, nor, if it did, where it was when it passed the base. It says only that the ball touched both fair and foul ground before the base. That's not enough info to answer the question. Part of the problem with people not knowing the definition of fair/foul is that they don't know how much information to provide when asking about a particular play.
  23. The two ways you describe are the same two ways I described.
  24. I am a bit confused as to what is so difficult here. The OP said "If a ball bounces in bounds before first base then bounces out of bounds before first base". That would mean it passed over foul territory before going out of bounds. It did not pass 1st base, nor was it touched in fair territory. FOUL BALL!
  25. Stay on the outside of the diamond, along the "rim" of the grass.
  26. What does "rim" mean?
  1. Load more activity