Jump to content



Register or Sign In to remove these ads
Photo
- - - - -

obstruction call


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 Umpiresoftball

Umpiresoftball
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 118 posts
  • Joined 16-July 13
  • LocationNew Hampshire
  • Your Association Name :Babe Ruth Softball

Posted 28 July 2013 - 07:45 PM

This is under babe ruth softball i just want to make sure i get the call right or if didn't fix next time.

 

7.06 When obstruction occurs, the umpire shall call or signal "Obstruction"

 

(a) If a play is being made on the obstructed runner, or if the batter-runner is obstruction before she touchs first base, the ball dead all runner shall advance,without liability to be put out,  to the base they would have reach, in umpires judgement, If there had been no obstruction. The obstructed  runner shall be awarded at least one base beyond she had last legally touch before the obstruction. Any Preceding runner, Force to advance  by the award of bases as the plenty for obstruction, without liablitity to be put out.

 

 

So what happen was this

 

Batter-runner running to first base  fielder comes of the bag in between both bags i said obustrtion and awarded first base. she would of only reach that. there was a runner on third but she didn't need to go.(she scored i believe but i was not sure if that would count or have to send her back)

 

So what ruling would that be? Once obstruction  is called the ball is dead.




Register or Sign In to remove these ads

#2 mstaylor

mstaylor

    Crew Chief

  • Inactive
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,115 posts
  • Joined 27-August 08
  • LocationSalisbury,MD


Posted 28 July 2013 - 07:54 PM

Obstruction before first, kill it and award first.


Posted Image

#3 NFUA_44

NFUA_44
  • Inactive
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 697 posts
  • Joined 26-January 09
  • LocationTallahassee, FL
  • Your Association Name :NFUA, CACU, 31N


Posted 28 July 2013 - 08:22 PM

Unless the R3 scored before you killed it on the OBS then your gonna have to put her back on third.  Short basepaths for SB though so I guess it could happen, as Michael said though with the OBS before 1st kill it and award 1b, put R3 wherever she was when time was called.


Posted Image

"Seriousness is Stupidity Sent to College."

"There's one.....terrifying fact about old people: I'm going to be one soon."

P.J. O'Rourke

#4 Umpiresoftball

Umpiresoftball
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 118 posts
  • Joined 16-July 13
  • LocationNew Hampshire
  • Your Association Name :Babe Ruth Softball

Posted 28 July 2013 - 08:24 PM

Unless the R3 scored before you killed it on the OBS then your gonna have to put her back on third.  Short basepaths for SB though so I guess it could happen, as Michael said though with the OBS before 1st kill it and award 1b, put R3 wherever she was when time was called.

I really don't know if she scored before or after obs so i let them keep score though. 

 

Obstruction before first, kill it and award first.

 

 Did just that, she went to second but i sent her back to first.

 



#5 Rich Ives

Rich Ives
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,914 posts
  • Joined 09-May 10


Posted 28 July 2013 - 10:35 PM

If you thought R3 would have scored given no obstruction then you can award R3 home.

 

(a) If a play is being made on the obstructed runner, or if the batter-runner is obstructed
before he touches first base, the ball is dead and all runners shall advance, without
liability to be put out, to the bases they would have reached, in the umpire’s judgment,
if there had been no obstruction.


I coach. I have to consider the situation from both sides - offense and defense.


#6 Umpiresoftball

Umpiresoftball
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 118 posts
  • Joined 16-July 13
  • LocationNew Hampshire
  • Your Association Name :Babe Ruth Softball

Posted 29 July 2013 - 05:02 PM

Thanks all for the help



#7 BigUmp56

BigUmp56
  • Premium Members
  • 495 posts
  • Joined 14-February 08
  • LocationSouth Bend Indiana


Posted 29 July 2013 - 05:12 PM

Can you explain what happened that convinced you to call OBS?

Thanks......


Tim.
ACMS Group


"It isn't always by that which we do that we are defined. Often it is by that which we do not."

#8 Umpiresoftball

Umpiresoftball
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 118 posts
  • Joined 16-July 13
  • LocationNew Hampshire
  • Your Association Name :Babe Ruth Softball

Posted 29 July 2013 - 07:08 PM

Can you explain what happened that convinced you to call OBS?

Thanks......


Tim.

Batter-runner had to litterly run over the fielder to get to first base bag. the fielder was littlerly right in the middle of first base and safety bag base



#9 Larry in TN

Larry in TN
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 335 posts
  • Joined 29-May 13
  • LocationNashville, TN

Posted 29 July 2013 - 07:51 PM

Did the field have the ball in his possession?



#10 Pete Peterson Sr

Pete Peterson Sr

    Resident Old Man

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,005 posts
  • Joined 09-December 08
  • LocationTrussville, Alabama
  • Your Association Name :AHSAA, AUA, MBUA, GSUA


Posted 04 August 2013 - 08:44 PM

Did the field have the ball in his possession?

 

Or "hers" ?  :nod:


"If you like having every close decision you make criticized, if you like doing your job surrounded by thousands of people ready to blame you for the mistakes of others, every one of them believing they can do your job better than you can, and if you don't mind the only response you get for a job done absolutely perfectly being silence, then maybe you'd like being an umpire" - Ken Kaiser


#11 Umpiresoftball

Umpiresoftball
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 118 posts
  • Joined 16-July 13
  • LocationNew Hampshire
  • Your Association Name :Babe Ruth Softball

Posted 05 August 2013 - 03:09 PM

Did the field have the ball in his possession?

Pete right it was a her :P But first baseman/women  had the ball in right in the runners way to safety bag and white bag.



#12 Rich Ives

Rich Ives
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,914 posts
  • Joined 09-May 10


Posted 05 August 2013 - 03:57 PM

 

Did the field have the ball in his possession?

Pete right it was a her :P But first baseman/women  had the ball in right in the runners way to safety bag and white bag.

 

 

If F3 had the ball then there can be no obstruction.


I coach. I have to consider the situation from both sides - offense and defense.


#13 Umpiresoftball

Umpiresoftball
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 118 posts
  • Joined 16-July 13
  • LocationNew Hampshire
  • Your Association Name :Babe Ruth Softball

Posted 05 August 2013 - 07:15 PM

 

 

Did the field have the ball in his possession?

Pete right it was a her :P But first baseman/women  had the ball in right in the runners way to safety bag and white bag.

 

 

If F3 had the ball then there can be no obstruction.

 

 

How i need more information on this.  When you block the base path of a runner  that OBS



#14 Rich Ives

Rich Ives
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,914 posts
  • Joined 09-May 10


Posted 05 August 2013 - 07:38 PM

You can block if you have the ball. By definition obstruction is an act by a fielder who does NOT have the ball.

I coach. I have to consider the situation from both sides - offense and defense.


#15 afaber12

afaber12
  • Premium Members
  • 530 posts
  • Joined 02-November 12
  • LocationSydney, Australia
  • Your Association Name :NSWBUA / STG-SBUA


Posted 05 August 2013 - 07:50 PM

Think of it this way: Play at the plate, where the catcher has the ball well ahead of the runner, so much so that the runner will either give up and just be tagged, or will try to run the catcher over to knock the ball loose. Are you going to call obstruction there? No, because the catcher is doing the exact right thing by not letting the runner get past him to the plate.

 

There might be an exception with a particular rule set involving the use of the safety bag - which I'm assuming is essentially just a double base for 1B, with the "extra" base in foul territory for the BR to use to avoid collisions, trips, stepping on ankles, etc - or a local rule that does, but ordinarily if F3 has the ball, or is in the act of fielding it (eg bad throw draws F3 over the base and/or into the running lane as BR is getting to the base) there wouldn't be obstruction there.


St George-Sutherland Baseball Umpires Association
New South Wales Baseball Umpires Association
 
           | Games                            | EJs
-----------+----------------------------------+-----
Summer '15 |   2 (2 2-man)                    | 2

-----------+----------------------------------+-----

Career     | 108 (1 4-man, 3 3-man, 49 2-man, | 9
           |         55 1-man, 18 washed out) |

 

"When you look like an umpire you're that much more likely to be treated like an umpire"

You've still got to act like an umpire to keep getting that treatment!


#16 UmpJM

UmpJM
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,666 posts
  • Joined 08-December 08


Posted 05 August 2013 - 07:56 PM

afaber,

 

Under all three codes (i.e., OBR, NCAA, & FED) the fielder is not liable to an obstruction call if he is in possession of the ball.

 

Under FED rules, being "in the act of fielding" does not relieve a fielder of his liability for obstruction as it does in OBR & NCAA.

 

JM


"Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all."

#17 Larry in TN

Larry in TN
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 335 posts
  • Joined 29-May 13
  • LocationNashville, TN

Posted 05 August 2013 - 09:36 PM

How i need more information on this.  When you block the base path of a runner  that OBS

 

This is from rule 2.00 in OBR.  I would think that the softball rules would have the same definition but look it up.

 

OBSTRUCTION is the act of a fielder who, while not in possession of the ball and not in the act of fielding the ball, impedes the progress of any runner.



#18 mstaylor

mstaylor

    Crew Chief

  • Inactive
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,115 posts
  • Joined 27-August 08
  • LocationSalisbury,MD


Posted 05 August 2013 - 09:38 PM

We got him straight in chat tonight.<br /><br />Sent from my C771 using Tapatalk 2<br /><br />
Posted Image

#19 Umpiresoftball

Umpiresoftball
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 118 posts
  • Joined 16-July 13
  • LocationNew Hampshire
  • Your Association Name :Babe Ruth Softball

Posted 06 August 2013 - 06:56 AM

We got him straight in chat tonight.<br /><br />Sent from my C771 using Tapatalk 2<br /><br />

but i was paid to make that obs :P  just kidding. What i relies is i was skimping over the sentence lol :lol:



#20 Umpiresoftball

Umpiresoftball
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 118 posts
  • Joined 16-July 13
  • LocationNew Hampshire
  • Your Association Name :Babe Ruth Softball

Posted 06 August 2013 - 06:59 AM

Think of it this way: Play at the plate, where the catcher has the ball well ahead of the runner, so much so that the runner will either give up and just be tagged, or will try to run the catcher over to knock the ball loose. Are you going to call obstruction there? No, because the catcher is doing the exact right thing by not letting the runner get past him to the plate.

 

There might be an exception with a particular rule set involving the use of the safety bag - which I'm assuming is essentially just a double base for 1B, with the "extra" base in foul territory for the BR to use to avoid collisions, trips, stepping on ankles, etc - or a local rule that does, but ordinarily if F3 has the ball, or is in the act of fielding it (eg bad throw draws F3 over the base and/or into the running lane as BR is getting to the base) there wouldn't be obstruction there.

 

Under the rules if the runner makes contact and by the judgement of the umpire she/he would be ejected for contact if ment to hit the person.  But that still totally different senrio of what happen. I still have issues with the catcher seriously blocking the plate without the ball in rec <_<






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users