Jump to content

Register or Sign In to remove these ads

Obstruction Vs. Interference

8 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_USSSA Coach_*

Guest_USSSA Coach_*
  • Guests
  • Joined --

Posted 28 June 2013 - 08:56 AM

Need a little education here.  Obstruction happens to base runner and typically results in a base award and/or a dead ball   Interference happens to a fielder and typically results in an out?

Many Thanks!

Register or Sign In to remove these ads

#2 Thunderheads


    Crew Chief

  • Administrators
  • 10,015 posts
  • Joined 13-October 09
  • LocationNorthville, MI
  • Your Association Name :NBSA / NFWB / MHSAA

Posted 28 June 2013 - 09:12 AM

Easier still :


OBSTRUCTION is an act done by the DEFENSE  (think of "obstructing a runner")


INTERFERENCE is an act done by the OFFENSE (think of a runner interfering with a player making a play)


But ...basically, yes


P.S. You'll get much more details soon from others! :D

"To stare down a big league pitcher. To stare him down, and just as he goes into his windup, wink. Make him think you know something he doesn't. That's what I wish for. Chance to squint at a sky so blue that it hurts your eyes just to look at it. To feel the tingling in your arm as you connect with the ball. To run the bases - stretch a double into a triple, and flop face-first into third, wrap your arms around the bag." Dr. Archibald "Moonlight" Graham

#3 FlaUmp22

  • Premium Members
  • 258 posts
  • Joined 31-May 13

Posted 28 June 2013 - 09:21 AM

obstruction does not always end in base awards if the runner advances to the base that the umpire protects him to then the obstruction call is not enforced

#4 SoCal Lurker

SoCal Lurker
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 470 posts
  • Joined 21-February 11

Posted 28 June 2013 - 11:03 AM

obstruction does not always end in base awards if the runner advances to the base that the umpire protects him to then the obstruction call is not enforced


.... excpet in Fed ...

#5 grayhawk


    Almost as good as I think I am

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,931 posts
  • Joined 28-August 10
  • LocationLaguna Niguel, CA

Posted 28 June 2013 - 11:09 AM

There are other kinds of interference not initiated by the offense:


1.  Catcher's Interference (in OBR).  Fed more properly labels it Catcher's Obstruction. (neither would result in an out).

2.  Spectator Interference (may or may not result in an out).

3.  Umpire Interference (which would never result in an out.  If an out is recorded, the interference is ignored).

2015 Game Count:  High School: 32

2014 Game Count:  High School: 55 | AAU: 0 | Pony: 0 | Little League: 2 | UCLA: 2 | Total: 59

2013 Game Count:  High School: 43 | USSSA: 7 | AAU: 30 | Pony: 11Little League: 17 | UCLA: 1Total: 109


#6 JaxRolo


    Dream Crusher

  • Premium Members
  • 10,794 posts
  • Joined 24-January 10
  • LocationJacksonville, Fl
  • Your Association Name :River City Umpires and Ump Nation

Posted 28 June 2013 - 11:13 AM

Be aware that possible int could become obs in an instant. Same goes the other way.

I used to be a really good Baseball Player until my eyes started going bad. So I became an Umpire!


River City Umpires Association - Webmaster
Umps 4 Hire - Webmaster

Ump Nation Umpire

Roy Hobbs World Series
FHSAA Baseball Umpire
Babe Ruth Baseball and Softball Certified

#7 mstaylor


    Crew Chief

  • Inactive
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,115 posts
  • Joined 27-August 08
  • LocationSalisbury,MD

Posted 28 June 2013 - 05:48 PM

Be aware that possible int could become obs in an instant. Same goes the other way.

An obstruction situation could turn into an interference call and vice versa. What won't happen is a call of one type won't turn into the other.

Sent from my C771 using Tapatalk 2
Posted Image

#8 Jesse

  • Inactive
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 80 posts
  • Joined 16-January 12

Posted 28 June 2013 - 07:27 PM



(R1 attempts to break up DP but interferes with fielder)


(Ball hits BR in box)


(BR interferes with F2 attempting to retire R1)






(Rundown, runner obstructed by fielder)


http://wapc.mlb.com/play/?content_id=15844089&query=obstruction (F6 impedes R1 advancing to 3B)


http://wapc.mlb.com/play/?content_id=27112445&query=interference (BR obstructed reaching 1B)


Catchers Interference (technically obstruction - advance one base if forced)


http://wapc.mlb.com/play/?content_id=21527215&query=interference (BR strikes F2's glove when swinging)

#9 afaber12

  • Premium Members
  • 556 posts
  • Joined 02-November 12
  • LocationSydney, Australia
  • Your Association Name :NSWBUA / STG-SBUA

Posted 29 June 2013 - 03:25 AM

(BR interferes with F2 attempting to retire R1)

This one's an example of why I don't like a punch out mechanic that involves turning away from the ball. Watching that video it looks like PU turns for the punch out, F2 is interfered with by BR as he throws, points and claims the interference, then PU turns back and calls it. The jump forward by BR helps to make this an easier call, but I tend to think any time you look away, you're almost inviting something to happen. You don't call or make the wrong call, you'll get that manager asking questions. You make the right call, you'll get the other manager asking questions.


99 times out of 100 it won't be a problem. Maybe 9 out of 10 at lower level games. But why leave yourself open to that one time?

P.H. #408 - 63 not out


           | Games                            | EJs
Winter '15 |   1 (1 2-man)                    |  0


Career     | 138 (1 4-man, 3 3-man, 64 2-man, | 13
           |         70 1-man, 18 washed out) |


"When you look like an umpire you're that much more likely to be treated like an umpire"

You've still got to act like an umpire to keep getting that treatment!

Reply to this topic


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users