Jump to content



Register or Sign In to remove these ads
Photo
- - - - -

Protest?


  • Please log in to reply
38 replies to this topic

#1 Haid D' Salaami

Haid D' Salaami
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,334 posts
  • Joined 30-November 11


Posted 04 August 2012 - 05:19 PM

The Angels are playing a game under protest...

BTW Thunderheads where are you at on this one?...

and what do you guys think about the ruling..look at rule 6.05k




Register or Sign In to remove these ads

#2 24sdad

24sdad
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 383 posts
  • Joined 18-April 10
  • LocationSo Cal


Posted 04 August 2012 - 06:32 PM


  • In running the last half of the distance from home base to first base (yes)

  • while the ball is being fielded to first base (yes)

  • he runs outside (to the right of) the three-foot line, or inside (to the left of) the foul line (yes)

  • and in the umpire‚Äôs judgment in so doing interferes with the fielder taking the throw at first base (Not even close)
Good call.

"You can't sit on a lead and run a few plays into the line and just kill the clock. You've got to throw the ball over the damn plate and give the other man his chance. That's why baseball is the greatest game of them all." Earl Weaver

#3 johnnyg08

johnnyg08
  • Moderators
  • 4,685 posts
  • Joined 13-February 11


Posted 04 August 2012 - 06:42 PM

This rule is interpreted to say that if he is illegal the entire way to first base then he's not protected within a step of the base.
I'm not where I need to be, but not where I used to be.

#4 johnnyg08

johnnyg08
  • Moderators
  • 4,685 posts
  • Joined 13-February 11


Posted 04 August 2012 - 06:43 PM

When I see this again it was not a quality throw. In order to have runner's lane interference, the throw has to be a quality throw.
I'm not where I need to be, but not where I used to be.

#5 treydawgmt

treydawgmt
  • Premium Members
  • 243 posts
  • Joined 20-April 12
  • LocationGenoa, IL
  • Your Association Name :FVB, EAOA

Posted 04 August 2012 - 06:47 PM

I think I mentioned in a post somewhere else here. At the MLB level, just peg the runner, makes it clear he interferes with a quality throw if he is that inside the running lane.

As it was, not a quality throw.

#6 johnnyg08

johnnyg08
  • Moderators
  • 4,685 posts
  • Joined 13-February 11


Posted 04 August 2012 - 06:50 PM

That's where he will lost the protest. Did the Angels lose the game?

Let's consider this...should the PU take a different position on a play like this b/c of the intervening play, PU has no angle to call runner's lane interference even if there had been interference.

For learning purposes, could he have taken the play 3BLX, then adjusted to watch the play on the batter/runner down at first base?
I'm not where I need to be, but not where I used to be.

#7 treydawgmt

treydawgmt
  • Premium Members
  • 243 posts
  • Joined 20-April 12
  • LocationGenoa, IL
  • Your Association Name :FVB, EAOA

Posted 04 August 2012 - 06:51 PM

Yes, the Angles lost on a 10th inning walk off by Alex Rios. My Lieutenant made sure to rub it in this morning...

#8 JaxRolo

JaxRolo

    Dream Crusher

  • Premium Members
  • 9,803 posts
  • Joined 24-January 10
  • LocationJacksonville, Fl
  • Your Association Name :River City Umpires and Ump Nation


Posted 04 August 2012 - 07:07 PM

When I see this again it was not a quality throw. In order to have runner's lane interference, the throw has to be a quality throw.


This was my first thought when I saw the video.

I used to be a really good Baseball Player until my eyes started going bad. So I became an Umpire!

 

River City Umpires Association - Webmaster
Umps 4 Hire - Webmaster

Ump Nation Umpire

Roy Hobbs World Series
FHSAA Baseball Umpire
Babe Ruth Baseball and Softball Certified


#9 cuban

cuban
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 118 posts
  • Joined 11-December 10

Posted 04 August 2012 - 08:31 PM

What's up with Paul's necklaces?

#10 JaxRolo

JaxRolo

    Dream Crusher

  • Premium Members
  • 9,803 posts
  • Joined 24-January 10
  • LocationJacksonville, Fl
  • Your Association Name :River City Umpires and Ump Nation


Posted 04 August 2012 - 08:34 PM

What's up with Paul's necklaces?


Yeah and the white tshirt when the other guys have black.

I used to be a really good Baseball Player until my eyes started going bad. So I became an Umpire!

 

River City Umpires Association - Webmaster
Umps 4 Hire - Webmaster

Ump Nation Umpire

Roy Hobbs World Series
FHSAA Baseball Umpire
Babe Ruth Baseball and Softball Certified


#11 treydawgmt

treydawgmt
  • Premium Members
  • 243 posts
  • Joined 20-April 12
  • LocationGenoa, IL
  • Your Association Name :FVB, EAOA

Posted 04 August 2012 - 08:41 PM


What's up with Paul's necklaces?


Yeah and the white tshirt when the other guys have black.


That was my other comment in the other thread this is working in. I *HATE* those necklaces, and no one else has them on... Looks stupid, sorry.

#12 JHSump

JHSump
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 861 posts
  • Joined 30-June 11
  • LocationBlacksburg, Virginia


Posted 04 August 2012 - 09:19 PM

Don't you know? Those necklaces regulate the "energy flow" and "electricity" in your body! So, when you are making decisions about INTs or EJs, these necklaces give you that extra "something" you need! It's all in the "Aqua Titanium" technology! Pick one up at your next tournament! (I've seen tables where they are on sale.)

But why settle for titanium? Go for Aqua Gold! You can get it in a lotion --- so you don't need those silly looking necklaces!

And you can trust these products to work --- this is a special "aqua" technology, not a snake "oil" technology.


(Wink wink. Which reminds me: where can I find the list of possible emoticons and how to enter them?)

#13 Haid D' Salaami

Haid D' Salaami
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,334 posts
  • Joined 30-November 11


Posted 04 August 2012 - 10:23 PM

That's where he will lost the protest. Did the Angels lose the game?

Let's consider this...should the PU take a different position on a play like this b/c of the intervening play, PU has no angle to call runner's lane interference even if there had been interference.

For learning purposes, could he have taken the play 3BLX, then adjusted to watch the play on the batter/runner down at first base?


MLB and PBUC want us to take this play from 3blx where he was....

#14 hbk314

hbk314
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 179 posts
  • Joined 20-September 11

Posted 04 August 2012 - 11:22 PM

Kinda tough to argue the runner interfered with F3's ability to catch the throw when he caught the throw.

#15 johnnyg08

johnnyg08
  • Moderators
  • 4,685 posts
  • Joined 13-February 11


Posted 04 August 2012 - 11:33 PM

MLB and PBUC want us to take this play from 3blx where he was....


I'm sure they do, but how do you get an angle for runner lane interference?
I'm not where I need to be, but not where I used to be.

#16 UmpJM

UmpJM
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,666 posts
  • Joined 08-December 08


Posted 05 August 2012 - 01:14 AM

Under FED rules, this likely would have been an RLI violation.

Under OBR, protest denied.

No brainer.

JM
"Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all."

#17 Gil: Owner - UEFL

Gil: Owner - UEFL
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,380 posts
  • Joined 09-September 11


Posted 05 August 2012 - 02:04 AM

Scioscia is misinterpreting the rule, while Barrett, Nauert & DeMuth know what they're talking about, something that should easily be supported by the League. Simply put, the RLI call under OBR requires interference with "the fielder taking the throw at first base." Konerko might have hindered catcher Iannetta's attempt, but Iannetta isn't protected by the RLI rule the way Pujols (1B) is. The "drilling the runner in the back" approach is generally a great way to generate this call if the runner is indeed illegally positioned, for the ball hitting the runner almost always (and very obviously) interferes with the fielder taking the throw at first base. And as hbk314 mentioned, the kicker is that Pujols caught the throw.
- Gil
- - Owner of Close Call Sports & the MLB Umpire Ejection Fantasy League
- - Objectively tracking & analyzing umpire ejections and their corresponding calls, with great regard for the rules and spirit of the game, since 2006.

#18 noumpere

noumpere
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,594 posts
  • Joined 14-April 09


Posted 05 August 2012 - 06:39 AM

This rule is interpreted to say that if he is illegal the entire way to first base then he's not protected within a step of the base.


True but completely irrelevant to the discussion and the play,

#19 Haid D' Salaami

Haid D' Salaami
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,334 posts
  • Joined 30-November 11


Posted 05 August 2012 - 09:25 PM


MLB and PBUC want us to take this play from 3blx where he was....


I'm sure they do, but how do you get an angle for runner lane interference?


Bend your head and look.. the runner crossing is more important... I know.. but 99% of the time F2 is gonna take the throw on the infield side and the is the best look at a pulled foot for the force.

#20 Jocko

Jocko

    Resident Smart A$$

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,492 posts
  • Joined 12-May 12
  • LocationSomewhere between foul lines and fences
  • Your Association Name :GSUA, ASO


Posted 06 August 2012 - 02:17 AM



MLB and PBUC want us to take this play from 3blx where he was....


I'm sure they do, but how do you get an angle for runner lane interference?


Bend your head and look.. the runner crossing is more important... I know.. but 99% of the time F2 is gonna take the throw on the infield side and the is the best look at a pulled foot for the force.

What force?
2014 Game Count: 120
2014 Rainouts: 22
2014 DL misses : 13




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users