Jump to content



Register or Sign In to remove these ads
Photo
- - - - -

runner hit by ball


  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 Lefty

Lefty
  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
  • Joined 08-December 10

Posted 30 July 2012 - 01:18 AM

Had this situation come up today. I was the base umpire for the game. There were
runners on first and third. I was in the B position. The batter hits a very slow roller
down the third base line. The ball goes into foul territory and passes the third baseman.
The runner from third is behind the fielder closer to third base. Once the ball is past the
third baseman it takes a strange bounce and hits the runner who had moved into fair
territory to avoid being hit by the foul ball. My partner called the runner from third out
and a dead ball. He came to me for help and I told him if the runner was in foul territory
it would be a foul ball and if he was in fair territory he would be out. However, something
that i did not think about was that the ball had passed the fielder and hit the runner who
was standing right behind him. Now that I think about it maybe the ball should have been
left in play because the third baseman had a chance to field the ball and did not.

An opinions.

Lefty


Register or Sign In to remove these ads

#2 Jocko

Jocko

    Resident Smart A$$

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,503 posts
  • Joined 12-May 12
  • LocationSomewhere between foul lines and fences
  • Your Association Name :GSUA, ASO


Posted 30 July 2012 - 02:19 AM

If no other fielder had a play on the ball, it's live and he's not out.
2014 Game Count: 120
2014 Rainouts: 22
2014 DL misses : 13

#3 umpcoachfather

umpcoachfather
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 503 posts
  • Joined 20-April 12
  • LocationDirty Jersey


Posted 30 July 2012 - 06:12 AM

Trout is correct.

#4 Jocko

Jocko

    Resident Smart A$$

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,503 posts
  • Joined 12-May 12
  • LocationSomewhere between foul lines and fences
  • Your Association Name :GSUA, ASO


Posted 30 July 2012 - 06:52 AM

Trout is correct.

I hear that alot :D
2014 Game Count: 120
2014 Rainouts: 22
2014 DL misses : 13

#5 JaxRolo

JaxRolo

    Dream Crusher

  • Premium Members
  • 9,952 posts
  • Joined 24-January 10
  • LocationJacksonville, Fl
  • Your Association Name :River City Umpires and Ump Nation


Posted 30 July 2012 - 11:05 AM


Trout is correct.

I hear that alot :D


You are correct in your answer but I think you cheated! :wave:

I used to be a really good Baseball Player until my eyes started going bad. So I became an Umpire!

 

River City Umpires Association - Webmaster
Umps 4 Hire - Webmaster

Ump Nation Umpire

Roy Hobbs World Series
FHSAA Baseball Umpire
Babe Ruth Baseball and Softball Certified


#6 Jocko

Jocko

    Resident Smart A$$

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,503 posts
  • Joined 12-May 12
  • LocationSomewhere between foul lines and fences
  • Your Association Name :GSUA, ASO


Posted 30 July 2012 - 11:18 AM



Trout is correct.

I hear that alot :D


You are correct in your answer but I think you cheated! :wave:

I did. I called my buddy Rainman and asked him what the answer was
2014 Game Count: 120
2014 Rainouts: 22
2014 DL misses : 13

#7 MPLSMatt

MPLSMatt
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 378 posts
  • Joined 21-May 10

Posted 30 July 2012 - 03:30 PM

The real question, how do you rule if your partner calls it dead and comes to you, like in the OP? You know that it shouldn't be an out but now he's killed the play.

#8 Rich Ives

Rich Ives
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,059 posts
  • Joined 09-May 10


Posted 30 July 2012 - 04:17 PM

How close behind the fielder was the runner? 5 feet - play the bounce. 20 feet - that's an out.

The exemption is for a runner "immediately behind" the fielder. Reason: no time to avoid.

5.09(f ) 7.09(k )

I coach. I have to consider the situation from both sides - offense and defense.


#9 UmpTTS43

UmpTTS43
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 902 posts
  • Joined 05-January 09
  • LocationNebraska


Posted 30 July 2012 - 05:05 PM

OBR runner out dead ball. FED NCAA runner not out ball stays live

#10 Jocko

Jocko

    Resident Smart A$$

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,503 posts
  • Joined 12-May 12
  • LocationSomewhere between foul lines and fences
  • Your Association Name :GSUA, ASO


Posted 30 July 2012 - 05:06 PM

Can't unring the bell. Once it's dead, it's dead. You can get together on the out and get THAT right, but too late killing it.
2014 Game Count: 120
2014 Rainouts: 22
2014 DL misses : 13

#11 Dragon29

Dragon29
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 786 posts
  • Joined 09-January 09
  • LocationNorthern California

Posted 30 July 2012 - 06:02 PM

OBR runner out dead ball.


Kind of a snap judgment w/o seeing how close R3 & F5 may have been. I don't know that I subscribe strictly to Rich's 5'/20' comparison, but that's certainly the right idea.

Curious how you came to that conclusion - ?

Stuart Berg
C4UA


#12 Dragon29

Dragon29
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 786 posts
  • Joined 09-January 09
  • LocationNorthern California

Posted 30 July 2012 - 06:08 PM

The real question, how do you rule if your partner calls it dead and comes to you, like in the OP? You know that it shouldn't be an out but now he's killed the play.


Not a perfect solution but, if your partner does decide to oveturn his initial 'Out' call based upon your additional information, I would think you would return all runners to their TOP bases and put the BR back in the box w/the previous count.

I know there are no 'do-overs' in baseball, but in this case (where the problem was caused by an umpire's lack of rules knowledge) I think this is probably the way to go.

Oh - and your partner's gonna need a cold one to wash down that sh!t sandwich the DM just handed him.

Stuart Berg
C4UA


#13 24sdad

24sdad
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 383 posts
  • Joined 18-April 10
  • LocationSo Cal


Posted 30 July 2012 - 08:07 PM

Fixing it...Assuming when R3 was hit no other fielder had a play on the ball, I think I would be more inclined to treat it like a batted ball hitting an umpire before it passed an infielder. Leave R3 at third, advance R1 to second and BR to first. Batter did in fact hit a fair ball, past F5, that was incorrectly killed by PU.

Lefty - did your partner come to you on his own or was this after speaking to one of the (probably offensive) managers? From your OP, I am guessing you left it as an out...did anyone argue?
"You can't sit on a lead and run a few plays into the line and just kill the clock. You've got to throw the ball over the damn plate and give the other man his chance. That's why baseball is the greatest game of them all." Earl Weaver

#14 Matt

Matt
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,856 posts
  • Joined 17-September 08


Posted 30 July 2012 - 10:49 PM

Not a perfect solution but, if your partner does decide to oveturn his initial 'Out' call based upon your additional information, I would think you would return all runners to their TOP bases and put the BR back in the box w/the previous count.

I know there are no 'do-overs' in baseball, but in this case (where the problem was caused by an umpire's lack of rules knowledge) I think this is probably the way to go.


No. You can NEVER have a do-over in eating a call.

#15 Jocko

Jocko

    Resident Smart A$$

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,503 posts
  • Joined 12-May 12
  • LocationSomewhere between foul lines and fences
  • Your Association Name :GSUA, ASO


Posted 31 July 2012 - 06:33 AM

Fixing it...Assuming when R3 was hit no other fielder had a play on the ball, I think I would be more inclined to treat it like a batted ball hitting an umpire before it passed an infielder. Leave R3 at third, advance R1 to second and BR to first. Batter did in fact hit a fair ball, past F5, that was incorrectly killed by PU.


I think I agree. BR awarded a single, runners advance if forced
2014 Game Count: 120
2014 Rainouts: 22
2014 DL misses : 13

#16 Dragon29

Dragon29
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 786 posts
  • Joined 09-January 09
  • LocationNorthern California

Posted 31 July 2012 - 11:07 AM

OK - Retraction.

I like 24sdad's solution better than the one I posted.

Stuart Berg
C4UA


#17 Lefty

Lefty
  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
  • Joined 08-December 10

Posted 01 August 2012 - 01:54 AM

Sorry for the slow reply. The runner in this situation was right behind
the fielder, In fact he was so close I did not see the ball hit him. When
my partner came over to see me after he called the runner out. He told me
the ball had hit the runner, He wanted my opinion on the play. I seem to
remember yelling from both managers. One wanted an out and the
other a foul ball I think.

Lefty

#18 mstaylor

mstaylor

    Crew Chief

  • Inactive
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,115 posts
  • Joined 27-August 08
  • LocationSalisbury,MD


Posted 03 August 2012 - 01:10 PM

How close behind the fielder was the runner? 5 feet - play the bounce. 20 feet - that's an out.

The exemption is for a runner "immediately behind" the fielder. Reason: no time to avoid.

5.09(f ) 7.09(k )

I have never heard of a distance exception. It is that way because the fielder has made their attempt so there is no play to interfere with. If ability to avoid was a consideration then the second fielder having a shot wouldn't be there. Simply if the runner deeper than the fielder and behind him, not twenty feet away, and another fielder doesn't have a play then it is a live ball. Same rule cites as Rich.
Posted Image

#19 Rich Ives

Rich Ives
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,059 posts
  • Joined 09-May 10


Posted 03 August 2012 - 02:05 PM


How close behind the fielder was the runner? 5 feet - play the bounce. 20 feet - that's an out.

The exemption is for a runner "immediately behind" the fielder. Reason: no time to avoid.

5.09(f ) 7.09(k )

I have never heard of a distance exception. It is that way because the fielder has made their attempt so there is no play to interfere with. If ability to avoid was a consideration then the second fielder having a shot wouldn't be there. Simply if the runner deeper than the fielder and behind him, not twenty feet away, and another fielder doesn't have a play then it is a live ball. Same rule cites as Rich.


Explain "immediatly back". It's in both rules.

20' may not be the real distance but the basic concept is that if the runner should have a reasonable expectation that a fielder may make a play then he's exempt. Once the ball is some distance past the fielder he no longer has that excuse as he now has time to avoid the ball.

I coach. I have to consider the situation from both sides - offense and defense.


#20 mstaylor

mstaylor

    Crew Chief

  • Inactive
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,115 posts
  • Joined 27-August 08
  • LocationSalisbury,MD


Posted 03 August 2012 - 11:09 PM

Directly behind means inline or close, no distance required. If he is deeper than the F5 and F6 but the ball is between them, he is out because he wasn't behind them.
Posted Image




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users