Jump to content



Register or Sign In to remove these ads
Photo
- - - - -

Base award

base award

  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 johnnyg08

johnnyg08
  • Moderators
  • 4,656 posts
  • Joined 13-February 11


Posted 18 July 2012 - 08:44 AM

An umpire asked me this question last night. I think I over thought the answer but wanted to come here to make sure.

R1, pitcher throws over to F3 legally from the rubber and throws the ball away, R1 takes off for 2b and then 3b, as the ball rolls along the fence down the 1BL into shallow right field foul territory and as R1 is standing on 3b, the ball rolls through a hole in the bottom of the fence. There is no additional momentum from the original wild throw from F1

Do we bring R1 back to 2b since this is a one base award TOP?

Thanks
I'm not where I need to be, but not where I used to be.


Register or Sign In to remove these ads

#2 th3

th3
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,156 posts
  • Joined 10-June 09
  • LocationNJ


Posted 18 July 2012 - 08:45 AM

yes

#3 ump_24

ump_24
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,216 posts
  • Joined 18-December 09


Posted 18 July 2012 - 08:45 AM

Yes.

You often have this problem at fields with a tarp down the RF line.

#4 Haid D' Salaami

Haid D' Salaami
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,322 posts
  • Joined 30-November 11


Posted 18 July 2012 - 09:01 AM

yep, and of course it will bring a discussion...LOL but it is easy to sell.

#5 MPLSMatt

MPLSMatt
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 376 posts
  • Joined 21-May 10

Posted 18 July 2012 - 10:26 AM

Yep, and get ready for a pissed off coach. Even better, wait until the other F1 throws the ball out of play after stepping off and you give that runner 3rd base. :-)

#6 umpire_scott

umpire_scott
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,140 posts
  • Joined 25-June 12
  • Your Association Name :Missouri High School Athletic Association

Posted 18 July 2012 - 11:04 AM

Yep, and get ready for a pissed off coach. Even better, wait until the other F1 throws the ball out of play after stepping off and you give that runner 3rd base. :-)


True. I haven't met a coach yet, that understood that difference.

2014 Game Count:

 

Junior College - 2

High School - 9

Tournament - 56

 

Total - 67


#7 Jocko

Jocko

    Resident Smart A$$

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,481 posts
  • Joined 12-May 12
  • LocationSomewhere between foul lines and fences
  • Your Association Name :GSUA, ASO


Posted 18 July 2012 - 11:05 AM

Time of throw. And yes, send him back
2014 Game Count: 120
2014 Rainouts: 22
2014 DL misses : 13

#8 mstaylor

mstaylor

    Crew Chief

  • Inactive
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,115 posts
  • Joined 27-August 08
  • LocationSalisbury,MD


Posted 18 July 2012 - 07:08 PM

We had a A ball manager protest that exact thing one night.
Posted Image





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: base award

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users