Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

batter's responsibility, when r3 stealing home


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 pcon258

pcon258
  • Inactive
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 22-June 12
  • Your Association Name :ASA

Posted 30 June 2012 - 07:06 PM

I know that when stealing any other base (2, 3), the batter is best off just staying in the batter's box and the catcher can just push them out of the way. but if there's a right handed batter and the runner on third is coming home, does he have an obligation to move? Most times it would only hurt his teammate, so itd be fine, but what if he unintentionally stops the catcher from making a tag? Should the batter have moved out of the way?

#2 Jocko

Jocko

    Resident Smart A$$

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,354 posts
  • Joined 12-May 12
  • LocationSomewhere between foul lines and fences
  • Your Association Name :GSUA, ASO


Posted 30 June 2012 - 08:58 PM

Each sitch has its own nuances. Timing has alot to do with it. The RHB doesn't always have time to move, and we can't expect him to vanish. He should try to not be part of the play. Fed rule 7-5-d "failing to make a reasonable effort to vacate a congested area when there is a throw to HP and there is time for the batter to move away." In the OP, it's a pitch, or a throw?....... if you DO rule BI - "Penalty: when there are 2 outs, the batter is out. If less than 2 outs......... If the runner is tagged out the out stands, ball remains live, and INT is ignored. Otherwise, the ball is dead and the runner called out."
2014 Game Count: 112
2014 Rainouts: 22
2014 DL misses : 13

#3 Rich Ives

Rich Ives
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,801 posts
  • Joined 09-May 10


Posted 30 June 2012 - 09:46 PM

I know that when stealing any other base (2, 3), the batter is best off just staying in the batter's box and the catcher can just push them out of the way. but if there's a right handed batter and the runner on third is coming home, does he have an obligation to move? Most times it would only hurt his teammate, so itd be fine, but what if he unintentionally stops the catcher from making a tag? Should the batter have moved out of the way?


If it's a pitch the batter can just stand there because he has a right to attempt to hit the pitch - like on a squeeze for example - or lay off if he chooses. He has ZERO oblightion to make the catcher's job easier.

If the pitcher legally disengages it becomes a throw and then he needs to not interfere - given he has time to not interfere.

I coach. I have to consider the situation from both sides - offense and defense.


#4 Jocko

Jocko

    Resident Smart A$$

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,354 posts
  • Joined 12-May 12
  • LocationSomewhere between foul lines and fences
  • Your Association Name :GSUA, ASO


Posted 30 June 2012 - 09:49 PM

Did F2 catch the ball? Did F1 pitch or disengage? It matters.
2014 Game Count: 112
2014 Rainouts: 22
2014 DL misses : 13

#5 pcon258

pcon258
  • Inactive
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 22-June 12
  • Your Association Name :ASA

Posted 30 June 2012 - 11:25 PM

well the scenario that i was thinking was a wild pitch that goes over f2's head and f1 needs to come and cover at the plate. if there's a short backstop, theres not really anywhere the batter can go without potentially being in the way. do we just need to judge whether he made an effort to get out of the way?

#6 Rich Ives

Rich Ives
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,801 posts
  • Joined 09-May 10


Posted 01 July 2012 - 08:48 AM

That's a whole different thing. Advancing on a WP/PB is not thought of as stealing so we were not envisioning this.

On a WP/PB the batter will need to make a reasonable effort to avoid interfering. There's always a place he could go - just consider if he had time.

I coach. I have to consider the situation from both sides - offense and defense.


#7 mstaylor

mstaylor

    Crew Chief

  • Inactive
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,115 posts
  • Joined 27-August 08
  • LocationSalisbury,MD


Posted 01 July 2012 - 01:08 PM

Just judge that he tried to clear or not. Sometimes the ball does weird things off the backstop and he can't be responsible for that. If he just stands there in the box then he is very likely getting banged.
Posted Image

#8 umpire_scott

umpire_scott
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,137 posts
  • Joined 25-June 12
  • Your Association Name :Missouri High School Athletic Association

Posted 11 July 2012 - 12:10 AM

I had a situation where the runner was stealing third on a WP. Batter backed out after the pitch which was inside and nearly hit him. Catcher scurried back and threw to third with a very quick look. Throw hit batter right in the helmet. DC wanted interference. I had nothing as the batter did nothing out of the ordinary in backing out of the box after the WP. Catchers quick throw without looking is what caused the throw to hit the batter. Hope I called it right.

2014 Game Count:

 

Junior College - 2

High School - 9

Tournament - 56

 

Total - 67


#9 mstaylor

mstaylor

    Crew Chief

  • Inactive
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,115 posts
  • Joined 27-August 08
  • LocationSalisbury,MD


Posted 11 July 2012 - 12:14 AM

Sounds right.
Posted Image

#10 Jocko

Jocko

    Resident Smart A$$

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,354 posts
  • Joined 12-May 12
  • LocationSomewhere between foul lines and fences
  • Your Association Name :GSUA, ASO


Posted 11 July 2012 - 02:55 AM

Good no call
2014 Game Count: 112
2014 Rainouts: 22
2014 DL misses : 13

#11 JaxRolo

JaxRolo

    UmpNation Umpire

  • Premium Members
  • 9,084 posts
  • Joined 24-January 10
  • LocationJacksonville, Fl
  • Your Association Name :River City Umpires and UmpNation


Posted 11 July 2012 - 07:45 AM

I had a situation where the runner was stealing third on a WP. Batter backed out after the pitch which was inside and nearly hit him. Catcher scurried back and threw to third with a very quick look. Throw hit batter right in the helmet. DC wanted interference. I had nothing as the batter did nothing out of the ordinary in backing out of the box after the WP. Catchers quick throw without looking is what caused the throw to hit the batter. Hope I called it right.


Yep

I used to be a really good Baseball Player until my eyes started going bad. So I became an Umpire!

2014  Game Count:

           Regular Season HS: 40

           HS Scrimmages:       5

           Perfect Game:          0

           Other Games:          45

 

2013 Game Count: 283 :nod:

River City Umpires Association - Webmaster
Umps 4 Hire - Webmaster

Ump Nation Umpire
FHSAA Baseball Umpire
Babe Ruth Baseball and Softball Certified





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users