Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Should have Ejected coach


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 dl1340

dl1340
  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 68 posts
  • Joined 05-October 10

Posted 22 May 2012 - 01:14 PM

Had a 11-12u game last friday night. I have the plate. R3 gets in a rundown. I come down line to get in position, BU coming over to third, Play ends up near third base, runner clearly goes out of baseline to avoid tag. BU calls him safe, tells coach runner has 3 feet on either side of baseline. Runner was about 5-6 off baseline. Coach goes apes@@@t. BU gets in discussion with him. BU made call, didn't ask for help. Coach didn't ask him to ask for help. Should I have went down and had discussion with BU and tell him what I saw. He made call and didn't ask what I saw, so I didn't want to over step him. This is where coach should have been dumped. In between innings, BU is walking accross field. Head coach get a clipboard and tells BU, clipboard is a foot blue. He then proceeds to start measuring out three feet with clipboard. BU tells him that is enough. BU walks over, I tell him he should have dumped him as soon as he put the clipboard on the ground. Should I have done anything different

#2 umpcoachfather

umpcoachfather
  • Inactive
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 364 posts
  • Joined 20-April 12
  • LocationDirty Jersey

Posted 22 May 2012 - 01:19 PM

done hes gone when he measures. could have conferred.

#3 cyclonehokiece

cyclonehokiece
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 886 posts
  • Joined 23-May 11
  • LocationBaltimore County, MD
  • Your Association Name :HCUA


Posted 22 May 2012 - 01:22 PM

Nope, his call, he lives with it, he initiates the conference seeking help. Should of been dumped when he says the clipboard is one foot, as he is arguing the past.

On edit: I have :a100posts: + :a100posts: =200 posts
RIP, MST

#4 James Walker

James Walker
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 443 posts
  • Joined 02-May 12
  • LocationWillis, Texas
  • Your Association Name :Dixie, Nations and USSSA


Posted 22 May 2012 - 01:25 PM

Should've shown him the parking lot. Other than that, you did great. He didn't ask for help, you didn't give it.
You can only please 50% of the people 100% of the time.

2014 Games:
Nations: 14
Dixie: 10
Pony: 1
2014 Totals : 25
2014 Ejections: 1

RIPMST

#5 SanDiegoSteve

SanDiegoSteve
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 440 posts
  • Joined 18-June 08
  • LocationLakeside, CA
  • Your Association Name :S.D. Elite Umpires 2009 to present ---San Diego Blues 2006 --- San Diego County Baseball Umpires Association 1986 - 2006

Posted 22 May 2012 - 03:06 PM

Had a 11-12u game last friday night. I have the plate. R3 gets in a rundown. I come down line to get in position, BU coming over to third, Play ends up near third base, runner clearly goes out of baseline to avoid tag. BU calls him safe, tells coach runner has 3 feet on either side of baseline. Runner was about 5-6 off baseline. Coach goes apes@@@t. BU gets in discussion with him. BU made call, didn't ask for help. Coach didn't ask him to ask for help. Should I have went down and had discussion with BU and tell him what I saw. He made call and didn't ask what I saw, so I didn't want to over step him. This is where coach should have been dumped. In between innings, BU is walking accross field. Head coach get a clipboard and tells BU, clipboard is a foot blue. He then proceeds to start measuring out three feet with clipboard. BU tells him that is enough. BU walks over, I tell him he should have dumped him as soon as he put the clipboard on the ground. Should I have done anything different

I'm unclear on this: Did the runner actually go 5 to 6 feet away from the path he was running on to avoid the tag? He is allowed 3 feet (one full yard) from his position when the tag is applied, so how did he get 5 or 6 feet from the tag without running away from the fielder? I am having trouble picturing this. If he was truly 5 or 6 feet from the point the tag was attempted, wouldn't it have been obvious that he was too far from the tag?

#6 Jocko

Jocko

    Resident Smart A$$

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,537 posts
  • Joined 12-May 12
  • LocationSomewhere between foul lines and fences
  • Your Association Name :GSUA, ASO


Posted 22 May 2012 - 04:07 PM

Only suggestion I have is you should have punted his a$$ to the parking lot with the clipboard in hand. Don't wait for your partner next time on the EJ.
2014 Game Count: 46
2014 Rainouts: 17
2014 DL misses : 13

#7 carolinablue

carolinablue
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,481 posts
  • Joined 10-August 08
  • LocationWinston-Salem, NC


Posted 22 May 2012 - 07:34 PM

Ask him if you can see the clipboard for a second, as if your interested. Then, once you have it, calmly take out your pen and write your gone on it and hand it back to him.

 Whether you think you can, or you think you can't-you're right. ~Henry Ford


#8 Welpe

Welpe
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,098 posts
  • Joined 28-February 12
  • LocationHouston, TX
  • Your Association Name :GHOA, TASO


Posted 22 May 2012 - 09:23 PM

Ask him if you can see the clipboard for a second, as if your interested. Then, once you have it, calmly take out your pen and write your gone on it and hand it back to him.


I like it but I recommend "you're" :P
"That's the true harbinger of spring, not crocuses or swallows returning to Capistrano, but the sound of a bat on a ball."
- Bill Veeck

--------------
Luke 10:27

#9 carolinablue

carolinablue
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,481 posts
  • Joined 10-August 08
  • LocationWinston-Salem, NC


Posted 22 May 2012 - 09:50 PM

Your're :smachhead:

 Whether you think you can, or you think you can't-you're right. ~Henry Ford


#10 dl1340

dl1340
  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 68 posts
  • Joined 05-October 10

Posted 23 May 2012 - 10:19 AM

SanDiegoSteve, the runner did go way out of the baseline. My partner, BU made the call and told coach he had 3 feet out of the baseline. The play was on his end of the base on the rundown, he made the call. The coaches jumped on him. He didn't ask for help, they didn't ask him to come to me for my thoughts on the play. I had him out of the baseline but didn't want to overstep the BU since he made the call Coach addressed the BU with the clipboard stituation as stated above, I was just asking others thought if I should have stepped up and overuled BU or EJ coach for trying to show him up

#11 renegadewolf

renegadewolf
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 276 posts
  • Joined 02-May 12
  • LocationKitchener, Ontario
  • Your Association Name :Cambridge, Guelph Minor Basball, Royal City, Golden Horseshoe Baseball Leagues

Posted 26 May 2012 - 07:26 AM

In my little world (and it really is a sadly small one *sigh*), ANY attempt by anyone to demonstrate is an automatic trip to the parking lot. I have become a lot more patient the last year or two, but that is a non negotiable. Both umpires have the same authority to eject a coach or player, if your partner lacks the sack or the just cause to do so, then dump him yourself if you think that is an ejectable offense.

#12 mstaylor

mstaylor

    Crew Chief

  • Inactive
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,115 posts
  • Joined 27-August 08
  • LocationSalisbury,MD


Posted 26 May 2012 - 12:16 PM

Last year we had a young guy working with a guy that had just come back from Evans. The Evans grad was on the bases, the PU rung a batter up, then looked down at his indicator. The batter drew a line on the PU but he didn't see it, the BU dumped him.
Posted Image




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users