Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Umpire collides with runner


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 jjskitours

jjskitours
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 234 posts
  • Joined 01-August 11

Posted 16 May 2012 - 07:41 AM

If an umpire runs into runner and knocks him over, I think (while you may look really dumb) you have nothing and play on.
Anyone have something different for this type of situation?

#2 Mike Prince

Mike Prince
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,132 posts
  • Joined 04-November 09
  • LocationMooresville (Lake Norman), NC


Posted 16 May 2012 - 07:42 AM

Your interpretation is correct. I don't know of any rule set that has anything to cover this.

#3 poppyfor3

poppyfor3
  • Inactive
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 147 posts
  • Joined 11-July 08

Posted 16 May 2012 - 12:16 PM

Runner is out for being in the umpire's path and ejected for excessive embarrassment to umpire. I don't have a rule cite.

#4 johnnyg08

johnnyg08
  • Moderators
  • 4,645 posts
  • Joined 13-February 11


Posted 16 May 2012 - 12:57 PM

If an umpire runs into runner and knocks him over, I think (while you may look really dumb) you have nothing and play on.
Anyone have something different for this type of situation?


Yep, it's unfortunate, but there's no rule to support anything other than keep playing and see what happens. I've seen umpires try to make up rules and place runners...but that is bad umpiring.
I'm not where I need to be, but not where I used to be.

#5 scrounge

scrounge
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,376 posts
  • Joined 20-April 11
  • LocationOhio


Posted 16 May 2012 - 01:22 PM


If an umpire runs into runner and knocks him over, I think (while you may look really dumb) you have nothing and play on.
Anyone have something different for this type of situation?


Yep, it's unfortunate, but there's no rule to support anything other than keep playing and see what happens. I've seen umpires try to make up rules and place runners...but that is bad umpiring.


Then again, if it's truly the umpire's fault, there's at least a reasonable argument that this is a situation not covered in the rules and subject to a 'best judgment' ruling

#6 Mike Prince

Mike Prince
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,132 posts
  • Joined 04-November 09
  • LocationMooresville (Lake Norman), NC


Posted 16 May 2012 - 01:49 PM



If an umpire runs into runner and knocks him over, I think (while you may look really dumb) you have nothing and play on.
Anyone have something different for this type of situation?


Yep, it's unfortunate, but there's no rule to support anything other than keep playing and see what happens. I've seen umpires try to make up rules and place runners...but that is bad umpiring.


Then again, if it's truly the umpire's fault, there's at least a reasonable argument that this is a situation not covered in the rules and subject to a 'best judgment' ruling


I don't think the argument is very reasonable.

#7 Matt

Matt
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,532 posts
  • Joined 17-September 08


Posted 16 May 2012 - 04:08 PM



If an umpire runs into runner and knocks him over, I think (while you may look really dumb) you have nothing and play on.
Anyone have something different for this type of situation?


Yep, it's unfortunate, but there's no rule to support anything other than keep playing and see what happens. I've seen umpires try to make up rules and place runners...but that is bad umpiring.


Then again, if it's truly the umpire's fault, there's at least a reasonable argument that this is a situation not covered in the rules and subject to a 'best judgment' ruling


No, there's not.

#8 mstaylor

mstaylor

    Crew Chief

  • Inactive
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,115 posts
  • Joined 27-August 08
  • LocationSalisbury,MD


Posted 16 May 2012 - 09:21 PM

While it's embarassing, it's nothing except a mad coach.
Posted Image

#9 scrounge

scrounge
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,376 posts
  • Joined 20-April 11
  • LocationOhio


Posted 16 May 2012 - 09:22 PM




If an umpire runs into runner and knocks him over, I think (while you may look really dumb) you have nothing and play on.
Anyone have something different for this type of situation?


Yep, it's unfortunate, but there's no rule to support anything other than keep playing and see what happens. I've seen umpires try to make up rules and place runners...but that is bad umpiring.


Then again, if it's truly the umpire's fault, there's at least a reasonable argument that this is a situation not covered in the rules and subject to a 'best judgment' ruling


No, there's not.


Why not? If I mess up and am late pivoting and run into a kid from 1st to 2nd, how do I justify letting him get tagged out? Now I'm not giving him 2nd either, but seems like the best thing is put him back safely to first. Again, only if it's truly and unavoidably my mistake. If it's just a fielder or runner running into me when I'm where I'm supposed to be, like Prince Fielder the other day (I think it was him), then tough luck. But I 100% cause it, I gotta fix it as best I can. There's nothing in the rules to help me, so that's my best judgment.

#10 mstaylor

mstaylor

    Crew Chief

  • Inactive
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,115 posts
  • Joined 27-August 08
  • LocationSalisbury,MD


Posted 16 May 2012 - 10:44 PM

Unfortunately there is no fix in the rules. It doesn't happen often but it does happen and all you can do is take your whipping from the coach and send him on his way.
Posted Image

#11 noumpere

noumpere
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,383 posts
  • Joined 14-April 09


Posted 21 May 2012 - 11:03 AM

Then again, if it's truly the umpire's fault, there's at least a reasonable argument that this is a situation not covered in the rules and subject to a 'best judgment' ruling


Umpire interference is defined as two things and two things only in 4.21 and the play here is not one of the two things. Play on.

#12 scrounge

scrounge
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,376 posts
  • Joined 20-April 11
  • LocationOhio


Posted 21 May 2012 - 11:14 AM


Then again, if it's truly the umpire's fault, there's at least a reasonable argument that this is a situation not covered in the rules and subject to a 'best judgment' ruling


Umpire interference is defined as two things and two things only in 4.21 and the play here is not one of the two things. Play on.


Well, that's kinda the point, isn't it? Again, just playing devils advocate....but an argument could be made that this is a situation that isn't in the rules. I doubt I'd call it that way myself unless it was egregiously unfair to the runner, a VERY LOW likelihood. But as a thought experiment, I can see a case.

#13 Welpe

Welpe
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,098 posts
  • Joined 28-February 12
  • LocationHouston, TX
  • Your Association Name :GHOA, TASO


Posted 21 May 2012 - 12:39 PM

Well, that's kinda the point, isn't it? Again, just playing devils advocate....but an argument could be made that this is a situation that isn't in the rules.


Umpire interference is in the rules but this is not one of the two specifically enumerated instances of umpire interference.
"That's the true harbinger of spring, not crocuses or swallows returning to Capistrano, but the sound of a bat on a ball."
- Bill Veeck

--------------
Luke 10:27

#14 scrounge

scrounge
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,376 posts
  • Joined 20-April 11
  • LocationOhio


Posted 21 May 2012 - 12:49 PM


Well, that's kinda the point, isn't it? Again, just playing devils advocate....but an argument could be made that this is a situation that isn't in the rules.


Umpire interference is in the rules but this is not one of the two specifically enumerated instances of umpire interference.


Ah, indeed. By defining the two instances of interference, it does make sense that all other types are simply to be ignored. That does make sense.

Best outcome? Don't screw up and run a kid over and put yourself in that position.

#15 sdix00

sdix00
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,873 posts
  • Joined 11-November 10
  • LocationMoreno Valley, CA


Posted 21 May 2012 - 01:02 PM

Fix the umpire, not the rule.

Sigh

_____________
umpire+shows+up+puig+-+gifforum.gif


#16 NoCal Blue

NoCal Blue
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 115 posts
  • Joined 09-August 11
  • LocationNorthern California

Posted 07 June 2012 - 12:20 PM

Illegal contact...15 yard penalty repeat first down!! :smachhead:

#17 Majordave

Majordave

    Crew Chief

  • Moderators
  • 965 posts
  • Joined 14-February 08
  • LocationLansing/Leavenworth, Kansas
  • Your Association Name :CBUA, KCCUA, GPBA, MUA, Ban Johnson, KCMSB


Posted 08 June 2012 - 09:02 AM

Had this once. I was plate, very senior member of my high school association as partner on the bases. He was NOT very quick, nor agile (anymore). He got hung up between Positions A and B on an overthrow play and was "TRUCKED" by the batter-runner who was 6'10" and near 300 lbs. Both of them sprawling. B-R made it back, by crawling to first. I killed it and no one argued with me. Partner had road rash on his arms, hands and one of his cheeks. Bleeding everywhere. I think everyone felt sorry for my partner who just wasn't the umpire he used to be. Sad, but true.......

#18 mstaylor

mstaylor

    Crew Chief

  • Inactive
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,115 posts
  • Joined 27-August 08
  • LocationSalisbury,MD


Posted 08 June 2012 - 12:05 PM

On the same pivot into B, anybody ever collided with the F3? You try to time it so he isn't in the way but sometimes it happens. Anyway, you collide with him so he is now not in place to be the cutoff man. Are you fixing that too? Stuff happens, umpires and players sometimes contact each other. It's nothing.
Posted Image

#19 Richvee

Richvee
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,527 posts
  • Joined 30-October 11
  • LocationSussex County, NJ
  • Your Association Name :NJSBUA NJSAB


Posted 10 June 2012 - 08:41 PM

6'10", 300??? WOW :wow:

"People ask me what I do in winter when there's no baseball. I'll tell you what I do... I stare out the window and wait for spring."

(Rogers Hornsby)

Rich Verost
NJSIAA member


#20 kylejt

kylejt
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,530 posts
  • Joined 30-January 09


Posted 12 June 2012 - 11:36 AM

You can try to "fix" situations like this. But a smart manager will protest, and win against any sort of "fix".

The good thing is, there aren't that many smart managers out there, who would know this. So fixing it would probably work 99% of the time.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users