#1 jmpnjmy

jmpnjmy
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 158 posts
  • Joined 18-August 11
  • LocationVirginia

Posted 08 May 2012 - 06:01 PM

I am relatively new to this and was working a game this past Sunday.I thought I made this call right but now not sure because I haven't been able to find a reference in the FED rule book. Sit: Ri and R2, F1 goes into stretch with the ball, while straddling the rubber. Then, while still straddling the rubber comes into a set position. I balked him advanced the runners one base. After discussion with the DEF coach about wether it was a balk or not my partner ended up overruling me. This of course ticked me off to no end but that's a different story. Can anyone help me out? Is it a balk, and why?
There is a time to laugh and a time not to laugh, and this is not one of them. - Inspector Jacques Clouseau

Register or Sign In to remove these ads

#2 sdix00

sdix00
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,878 posts
  • Joined 11-November 10
  • LocationMoreno Valley, CA

Posted 08 May 2012 - 06:55 PM

BALK. 6-2-5

"Good call Blue!!"

shut_up_baby_futurama.gif

#3 jmpnjmy

jmpnjmy
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 158 posts
  • Joined 18-August 11
  • LocationVirginia

Posted 08 May 2012 - 08:38 PM

Thank you sir. I appreciate the help
There is a time to laugh and a time not to laugh, and this is not one of them. - Inspector Jacques Clouseau

#4 24sdad

24sdad
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 383 posts
  • Joined 18-April 10
  • LocationSo Cal

Posted 08 May 2012 - 08:39 PM

Here is what Stephen posted for you:

ART. 5 . . . It is also a balk if a runner or runners are on base and the pitcher, while he is not touching the pitcher’s plate, makes any movement naturally associated with his pitch, or he places his feet on or astride the pitcher’s plate, or positions himself within approximately five feet of the pitcher’s plate without having the ball.

Your partner is an idiot.