Jump to content



Register or Sign In to remove these ads
Photo
- - - - -

It is optional for the base umpire to carry an indicator if the field has a scoreboard


  • Please log in to reply
56 replies to this topic

#1 sdix00

sdix00
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,878 posts
  • Joined 11-November 10
  • LocationMoreno Valley, CA


Posted 09 February 2012 - 10:45 AM

FED



120. It is optional for the base umpire to carry an indicator if the field has a scoreboard.

a. True b. False



Appreciate the opinions, however, I am looking for the correct answer for a FED test.

Can't find anything in the book.

Thanks!

Sigh

_____________
umpire+shows+up+puig+-+gifforum.gif



Register or Sign In to remove these ads

#2 Pops

Pops
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 385 posts
  • Joined 30-March 10
  • LocationIllinois, SW of Chicago

Posted 09 February 2012 - 10:49 AM

FED



120. It is optional for the base umpire to carry an indicator if the field has a scoreboard.

a. True b. False



Appreciate the opinions, however, I am looking for the correct answer for a FED test.

Can't find anything in the book.

Thanks!

Since it is not a requirement for the BU to carry an indicator, I would say TRUE regardless of the scoreboard issue.

#3 mstaylor

mstaylor

    Crew Chief

  • Inactive
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,115 posts
  • Joined 27-August 08
  • LocationSalisbury,MD


Posted 09 February 2012 - 12:45 PM

The FED manual only mentions the PU having an indicator but there is no option with regard to scoreboard.
Posted Image

#4 Umpire in Chief

Umpire in Chief

    Owner/Administrator

  • Administrators
  • 7,142 posts
  • Joined 02-January 08
  • LocationMoyock, NC
  • Your Association Name :EVOA, CIAA

Posted 09 February 2012 - 01:03 PM

WTF??? Really???

I don't have a book but I'd say true because I believe it would always be optional regardless of the scoreboard situation.

I've got to look and see when Virginia's & North Carolina's testing windows are....

I've never made a 100 but last year I got a 99 and with stupid questions like that they are going to get you.

Warren


#5 BT_Blue

BT_Blue
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,626 posts
  • Joined 11-January 09
  • LocationSalmon Creek, WA
  • Your Association Name :NCUA, EBUA, EFOA, PBUA


Posted 09 February 2012 - 03:49 PM

I havent carried one on the bases in several years. I would say that it IS optional for the base umpire to carry one... plate, not so much.

Plus, how often does a HS have an accurate scoreboard or if it is accurate, there are lights missing/out that make it look bad.
Quit or get better!

Arik
EBUA, EFOA, NCUA, PBUA

#6 rth54

rth54
  • Inactive
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 397 posts
  • Joined 29-November 09
  • LocationVentura County, California

Posted 09 February 2012 - 08:30 PM

If you are in Calif. ..... CIF-SS ... the answer is false.... It is not optional.

#7 Matt

Matt
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,811 posts
  • Joined 17-September 08


Posted 09 February 2012 - 08:34 PM

I hope that eventually, FED has this question:

"Paper is better used for wiping your ass than for an NFHS rules test."

#8 cuban

cuban
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 118 posts
  • Joined 11-December 10

Posted 09 February 2012 - 09:26 PM

I know I'm going to catch hell for this (I can't believe I'm admitting it to you guys). I don't use a indictor when working the stick. I bring one with me but it stays in my pocket the whole time. I know it's sounds kind of crazy but I loss the count more often when I try to use one. I probably haven't used a indictor in four or five seasons and I can only think of one time that it got me in trouble. I'm not saying that I haven't lost the count a time or two but normally the Gods have the kid ground out for me so nothing ever comes of it. Anyhow, everybody can act appalled now, I'm just curious as to anybody else like me? Kev, what do you think?

#9 Umpire in Chief

Umpire in Chief

    Owner/Administrator

  • Administrators
  • 7,142 posts
  • Joined 02-January 08
  • LocationMoyock, NC
  • Your Association Name :EVOA, CIAA

Posted 09 February 2012 - 09:30 PM

There's nothing wrong with not using one, I know several really good guys who don't.

Warren


#10 cuban

cuban
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 118 posts
  • Joined 11-December 10

Posted 09 February 2012 - 09:51 PM

Yeah, I know some really good umpires that don't use one either. Those are the guys that told me it was OK. Seven or Eight years ago I would have never even considered it.

#11 rth54

rth54
  • Inactive
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 397 posts
  • Joined 29-November 09
  • LocationVentura County, California

Posted 09 February 2012 - 10:37 PM

We don't have to use one.... But... We are required to carry one ....

For purposes of the test... The answer is false...it is not optional.
What one does in practice... Well that's another matter.....lol

#12 sdix00

sdix00
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,878 posts
  • Joined 11-November 10
  • LocationMoreno Valley, CA


Posted 09 February 2012 - 11:07 PM

If you are in Calif. ..... CIF-SS ... the answer is false.... It is not optional.


citation?

Sigh

_____________
umpire+shows+up+puig+-+gifforum.gif


#13 rth54

rth54
  • Inactive
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 397 posts
  • Joined 29-November 09
  • LocationVentura County, California

Posted 09 February 2012 - 11:22 PM

This is precisely what we were told by our instructional chair at the study guide review session.
I do not have a citation.
I can tell you that I got the answer correct when I did the study guide online.

#14 BT_Blue

BT_Blue
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,626 posts
  • Joined 11-January 09
  • LocationSalmon Creek, WA
  • Your Association Name :NCUA, EBUA, EFOA, PBUA


Posted 10 February 2012 - 01:43 AM

I know I'm going to catch hell for this (I can't believe I'm admitting it to you guys). I don't use a indictor when working the stick. I bring one with me but it stays in my pocket the whole time. I know it's sounds kind of crazy but I loss the count more often when I try to use one. I probably haven't used a indictor in four or five seasons and I can only think of one time that it got me in trouble. I'm not saying that I haven't lost the count a time or two but normally the Gods have the kid ground out for me so nothing ever comes of it. Anyhow, everybody can act appalled now, I'm just curious as to anybody else like me? Kev, what do you think?


We have a fine umpire up this way (has worked extended spring training when he lived in AZ) who does the same thing. He has one just to show coaches and such that he DOES in fact carry one. But he doesnt use it... as far as I know.
Quit or get better!

Arik
EBUA, EFOA, NCUA, PBUA

#15 JaxRolo

JaxRolo

    Dream Crusher

  • Premium Members
  • 9,845 posts
  • Joined 24-January 10
  • LocationJacksonville, Fl
  • Your Association Name :River City Umpires and Ump Nation


Posted 10 February 2012 - 08:13 AM

We don't have to use one.... But... We are required to carry one ....

For purposes of the test... The answer is false...it is not optional.
What one does in practice... Well that's another matter.....lol


Where did you see this?

I used to be a really good Baseball Player until my eyes started going bad. So I became an Umpire!

 

River City Umpires Association - Webmaster
Umps 4 Hire - Webmaster

Ump Nation Umpire

Roy Hobbs World Series
FHSAA Baseball Umpire
Babe Ruth Baseball and Softball Certified


#16 Pops

Pops
  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 385 posts
  • Joined 30-March 10
  • LocationIllinois, SW of Chicago

Posted 10 February 2012 - 09:39 AM

I have read many posts about BUs not carrying indicators. Quite frankly, I don't care if my partner is not carrying one. But I had a situation last year where I was PU and lost the count after a series of events (including taking a foul ball off the mask). The coach wanted the count, and I was unsure so I went to my partner who was clueless. He didn't feel it was his job to know the count. He definitely didn't have my back that day. So if you're not going to carry an indicator, at least keep your head in the game.

#17 rth54

rth54
  • Inactive
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 397 posts
  • Joined 29-November 09
  • LocationVentura County, California

Posted 10 February 2012 - 09:59 AM

Our instructional chair told us this emphatically...he is not a big fan of an indicator on the bases but, for purposes of compliance ( and the exam) told us that we are required to carry one.

#18 JaxRolo

JaxRolo

    Dream Crusher

  • Premium Members
  • 9,845 posts
  • Joined 24-January 10
  • LocationJacksonville, Fl
  • Your Association Name :River City Umpires and Ump Nation


Posted 10 February 2012 - 10:20 AM

Our instructional chair told us this emphatically...he is not a big fan of an indicator on the bases but, for purposes of compliance ( and the exam) told us that we are required to carry one.


Do you have a Rule Citation?

Maybe it is just a California thing.

No way will I answer False if I get this question. Unless I see the rule which no one has found yet.

I used to be a really good Baseball Player until my eyes started going bad. So I became an Umpire!

 

River City Umpires Association - Webmaster
Umps 4 Hire - Webmaster

Ump Nation Umpire

Roy Hobbs World Series
FHSAA Baseball Umpire
Babe Ruth Baseball and Softball Certified


#19 mstaylor

mstaylor

    Crew Chief

  • Inactive
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,115 posts
  • Joined 27-August 08
  • LocationSalisbury,MD


Posted 10 February 2012 - 02:56 PM


Our instructional chair told us this emphatically...he is not a big fan of an indicator on the bases but, for purposes of compliance ( and the exam) told us that we are required to carry one.


Do you have a Rule Citation?

Maybe it is just a California thing.

No way will I answer False if I get this question. Unless I see the rule which no one has found yet.

It's in the FED manual. The way the books are online I can't copy and paste, but it is there.
Posted Image

#20 LMSANS

LMSANS

    Crew Chief

  • Moderators
  • 1,902 posts
  • Joined 15-January 08
  • LocationBrick, NJ
  • Your Association Name :Shore Umpires Association


Posted 10 February 2012 - 03:18 PM



Our instructional chair told us this emphatically...he is not a big fan of an indicator on the bases but, for purposes of compliance ( and the exam) told us that we are required to carry one.


Do you have a Rule Citation?

Maybe it is just a California thing.

No way will I answer False if I get this question. Unless I see the rule which no one has found yet.

It's in the FED manual. The way the books are online I can't copy and paste, but it is there.


Mike,
I did a seacrh of the word indicator and the only place it came up was under PU, like someone previosly said.

Maybe if I search for clicker? :smachhead:

Larry
Shore Umpires; NJ

ECIUA





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users