Jump to content

Remove these ads by becoming a Premium Member

All Activity

This stream auto-updates     

  1. Past hour
  2. How do you decide when it's appropriate, and when it's not?
  3. Thatsnotyou

    Twist on Hidden Ball Trick Wins Game

    Meh, I’ve seen better
  4. Today
  5. beerguy55

    Twist on Hidden Ball Trick Wins Game

    Believe it or not, they probably didn't spend much more than 15 minutes practicing a play like this all season long - that's all you need. And it may have been last practiced three days or three months ago. You put two or three (maximum) plays like this in your back pocket, give them each a code word ("thunder!"), and use them once (at most) in a season. It's a "carrot" for practice - team puts in a good practice you spend some time working on goofy stuff. This particular play is low risk high reward. If the pitcher is the only one who remembers it...well, then it's just a fake throw.
  6. beerguy55

    Obstruction Awarding of bases

    The base to which the runner should advance is a judgment call. Whether or not the runner was tagged out is a judgment call. The obstruction itself is a judgment call. The last sentence of the rule is redundant and unnecessary.
  7. Rich Ives

    New to baseball, need help

    You run until it's called foul. (Some day you'll be at a windy game and one will get blown fair.)
  8. beerguy55

    New to baseball, need help

    Because it may go fair. There are cases where you absolutely know with 100% certainty that it's foul, and those you typically wouldn't run (but don't get into any bad habits)...anything less than 100% certainty, run. It's a good habit to run everything out because (almost) anything can happen.
  9. Lou B

    Obstruction Awarding of bases

    How far he is protected is up to the umpire. So, F6 bumps into runner while he is on his way to third. Runner rounds third and tries to score and (a) is out on a bang-hang play at the plate or (b) is out by 15-20 feet. In (a) it's likely the Runner would have scored if not obstructed - safe. In (b) it's likely the Runner would have been out if not obstructed - out. In no case can the runner put out at the plate be sent back to third, he is either Safe or Out.
  10. grayhawk

    Dump the asst. and restrict HC?

    This is false. See my post above for the reason.
  11. grayhawk

    Dump the asst. and restrict HC?

    The OP did not state that the assistant coach left his position to argue, only that he screamed at the base umpire and then got ejected. If he argued without leaving the coaches box, then the head coach does not have to be restricted or ejected. With the exception of an assistant vacating the coaches box or the dugout to argue, assistants should be treated as individuals when it comes to warnings/restrictions/ejections. For instance, if an assistant is arguing balls and strikes from the dugout, and you decide to give him a verbal warning, a written warning and restriction, or ejection - there is no penalty for the head coach. If he steps out of the dugout to argue, NOW there is a prescribed penalty for the head coach as well (in the case when you restrict or eject the assistant).
  12. ArchAngel72

    New to baseball, need help

    As a player you are told to run no matter if you think it maybe fair or foul. He's doing what a good ball player should and running out the play.
  13. Guest

    New to baseball, need help

    I am new to baseball, Could you tell me why the batter ran in the following video if the ball was gonna be in the foul territory? https://youtu.be/pfxS2c8Mtw0
  14. johnpatrick

    Obstruction Awarding of bases

    It's the umpires' job to fix it as though the obstruction never happened. When the runner tries for home he either protects him to home or calls him safe/out on the play. Sending him back to 3B is not an option and would be a protestable misapplication of the rules.
  15. ArchAngel72

    Better Mechanics for solo umpiring

    I might change it to " Yeah and he's the worst guy I have ever had the opportunity to work with"
  16. Ok based on what you said just there I would assume he slid head 1st He's Out right there run does Not score
  17. Guest

    Obstruction Awarding of bases

    The following rule in Little League says: "7.06 Obstruction (b) 1: When the ball is not dead on obstruction and an obstructed runner advances beyond the base which, in the umpire’s judgment, the runner would have been awarded because of being obstructed, the runner does so at his/ her own risk and may be tagged out. This is a judgment call. " Scenario: Runner rounds 2nd base and is obstructed by SS. The runner makes it to 3rd base and decides to try for home. He is put out. The umpire puts him on 3rd due to the obstruction. The question Is that the laying aside of the out would cause a protestable event? As it may/may not be a misapplication of 7.06 "the runner does so at his/her own risk and may be tagged out". However, my point is that the end of the sentence says "This is a judgement call" which lends me to believe that the umpire should have awarded him home instead of placing him on 3rd, if that was the base he would have reached if not obstructed by the SS. I say that he should have been awarded 1 base past the last base attained, in this case 3rd, and that he put all his chickens in the same basket which reaching for home. Thanks,
  18. bevanation

    +POS Zero G mask silver

    Had in my bag briefly as a backup. Never used in a game. Never seen a pitch. Any dirt/marks on the pads or mask is just from being in my gear bag. Basically brand new. When I first got it I swapped straps around on a bunch of masks so this one now has an all star strap on it. Overall condition is 9/10 and like I said, never used in a game and never seen a pitch. $60 shipped.
  19. I dont know if he stumbled or slid intentionally. About 5 minutes after the play the mom and kid said he was tripping then just slid head first as opposed to actually tripping which he thought would eventually happen. it was a stubmle turned slide instead. its a 12yo. One of the top players in league. Plays for a top team in town too... where sliding head first is legal. Though ive never seen him or anyone else do this intentionally. In the moment he said he didnt know you couldnt go head first. After he said he tripped. Who knows. It looked like a nice slide to me... but i wasnt watching his every move because i was watching runner to home, catcher chasing ball and then throwing... and i looked over and he was sliding into first. So not sure if feet were tripped up or not.
  20. I'm hung up on this one. The BR stumbled and fell forward into 1st base and its considered a slide? whats the age group? if this is 10-12 maybe if this is 7-10 no way would I consider that a slide. Of course I did not see it, so its hard for me to understand. 7.08- Any runner is out when- 7.08 - 4. Little league (Major) and below only: the runner slides head first while advancing. I never took this as a kid stumbling bumbling falling down. I took this as a purposeful slide.
  21. yawetag

    Dump the asst. and restrict HC?

    Only a Sith deals in absolutes.
  22. The batter being thrown out at 1B is not a force and is sloppy rule citing but everyone knows that the run does not score because the runner advanced to home base during a play in which the third out was made "(1) by the batter-runner before touching first base." and not "(by any runner being forced out; or (3) by a preceding runner who is declared out because that runner failed to touch one of the bases (appeal play)". The quotes are from the LL rulebook 4.09(a) EXCEPTIONS.
  23. If the batter makes the third out and never reaches first safely no runs can ever score - doesn't matter how long it takes or how many runners cross home plate before getting the batter out. This also includes a very high fly ball that is caught for the third out well after the batter rounds first base. The play at first base is never a force play - it just looks like one.
  24. this is what another page says Example: Runner on third, two outs. Catcher drops the third strike, while he is picking it up and throwing to first, the runner from third crosses home plate. As long as the catcher throws out the runner at first, the run doesn't count. The force play at first is the same as if a ground ball was hit to another infielder. The run doesn't count.
  25. hmmm. So he it or before getting there... so no run. Got it. What if the runner scored, then the batter was out at first after the runner scored. Loose ball, runner from 3rd gets home... then catcher throws batter out at first intime. does runner score?
  1. Load more activity
×